We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Affordable Luxury......”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Saint Lawrence Residences & Suites
Ranked #67 of 97 Specialty Lodging in Toronto
London, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Affordable Luxury......”
Reviewed September 30, 2012

This hotel used to be a residence, so might not be quite what you are expecting. The rooms are small, but well equipped. We had two single beds, a microwave, kettle, free tea, coffee, powder creamer and sugar, cups and glasses, and a small fridge, also a tv. There is a communal kitchen, books to read, a computer to share and couches along the halls to use. The bathrooms are communal and communal showers. The place was old, but clean. It did have a lingering smell of cooking. The down side was you could not control the temperature in your room and someone was talking on the phone in the hall and it was very loud in our room. The did have a sign up saying to be quiet after 11 pm and it did seem that everyone went to bed by then. No parking, but there is some across the street. The Manager was very helpful and nice. When you look at the web site, the rooms look exactly like they are in the picture. Just be prepared this is not your "regular" type of hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
1 Thank Stephanie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SaintLawrenceResiden, General Manager at Saint Lawrence Residences & Suites, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
Thank you for an honest review. It is rarely we get reviews from people who enjoyed staying with us. We get more than our share of bad review from a few disgruntled guest. Most it is their way of teaching us a lesson. We like the customers, the guests, and we do everything in power to make them satisfied. But when someone tries to cheat us, it just goes against the grain, and we end up with un-welcome review. In the end a big THANKYOU, for being fair.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    6
    4
    2
    46
See reviews for
6
10
16
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    1.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    1.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    1.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Enschede, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2012

After I could not get an affordable hotel downtown Toronto, I booked a place here. For the price i payed, compared to the other places in town it was a good place to stay. The owner was quite helpfull as well.

Room Tip: If you do not like anything fancy, but you want a good place to sleep you can stay over here. There...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Frederik W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SaintLawrenceResiden, Manager at Saint Lawrence Residences & Suites, responded to this review, September 20, 2012
Thank you for your objective remarks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
1 review
Reviewed August 15, 2012

The room was basic and clean. The best knife the kitchen had to offer was a butter knife, so if you wanted to prepare something fresh, you would be out of luck. The owner lives 50 miles away and maintain office hours when it suits him. You can call if there's a problem, but if it's not there, he'll tell you it's your problem.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank TorontoWanderlust82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SaintLawrenceResiden, Manager at Saint Lawrence Residences & Suites, responded to this review, September 20, 2012
Thank you, that is what we are , an affordable luxury, basic and functional. Talking about knife, you forgot to tell, you were provided with a brand new set of knife and fork. Talk about service. Is it fair to demand, ask us to return to property on a Sunday ( our off day ), simply to retrieve you $10 charger, that you left behind, after check out. That trip, for a $10 charger, would have cost $20 in gas and 2 hour of travel time. That charger could have easily been mailed to you. You also forgot to mention, that we did end up traveling 50 miles each way and provided you access to the room, so you could retrieve your beloved charger. You seem to have selective memory, only the negative ones. Next time, check the room, that you are not leaving anything behind. This time it worked out fine for you, next time you may have to travel back thousand mile.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2012

This 'hotel' was terrible. There was no hot water in the morning and despite calling them and letting them know, there was still no hot water 8 hours later. Our tv didn't work even after they worked on it.
Generally the place was shabby and the mattresses were well worn despite the website's claim of being new. This place wasn't worth half the price.

Room Tip: A tip to choose a good room: stay away from here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Elizabeth H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SaintLawrenceResiden, Manager at Saint Lawrence Residences & Suites, responded to this review, August 2, 2012
We understand your comments. Though far fetched, but there was some truth to them. About hot water. What in the world makes you think, anyone will deny you the hot water. We have electrical hot water heating system, the most reliable. Like anything electrical/ mechanical without warning the fuse blew up. May be it is hard for you to understand, as you may never have had breakdown with heater, furnace, car, frig or anything that works. But in the world all the service departments simply work, as the things can break down. We had the heaters, 3 of them working within 4 hours, not a bad record. Same goes for TV, the signal was good within 3 hours of your complaint, a cable company will take at least 24 hours. Now, we understand, you had to just throw in the mattress story. We wish you a perfect life
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Toronto hotels

ontario
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2012

My boyfriend and I had been travelling in south america and returned to canada to activate our working holiday visas (we're Irish), the weekend our flight arrived into toronto happened to be an incredibly busy weekend, gay pride, canada day and some other kinda international day (im sorry for not knowing the name). All accomodation was booked up except for this place and we thought we were really lucky but realised after we were wrong. we booked 3 nights at at $ 224 (alot i know but it was a busy weekend and we were desperate). We then phoned the manager and asked for another 3 nights as we were searching for a more permanemt residence, The Manager/Owner told us that this was fine and we would be charged the same rate from when we booked in ..('exact words'). a week later as we had extended our stay further, as we looked for apartments we realised that he had carged our credit card $200 more than the first rate. We rang him immediately and he told us that july was a higher rate than june ... which was completely contrary to what he had said when we first wanted to extend our stay. We were gutted as were on a pretty tight budget and this guy had totally decieved us.
We ended up being charged for $90 plus 21% tax a night instead of $55 even though 'hostel bookers.com' had quoted cheaper for those dates and we were helpless as he had our credit card details. Please do not stay at this place with this guy... and please please do not trust him with your credit card details because you will not know the true charges until its too late.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Rhona84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SaintLawrenceResiden, Manager at Saint Lawrence Residences & Suites, responded to this review, August 2, 2012
We forgive you, for your attitude. Everybody knows, one of the things the businesses have to do, in the slow time, is to lower the prices. Look around, there are sales everywhere for one reason or the other. We are no different. You booked for 3 nights, the first two nights were extemely low priced, due to sale. As a matter of fact we never sold that low. The 3rd night was closer to market rate; our regular rate for the same room vary $60 a night to $100 a night, depending on season and demand. When your husband/ boyfriend called to renew for another 3 nights, he was told, we will renew at the same rate as the last night of your 3 night booking. He was happy, and to further make sure that everything was up and up; we dropped off the new folio, showing the charges for the first three nights, and for the renewal. Nothing was hidden. After that you renewed for another 3 nights at the same rate. It wasn't until the day of your departure, you questioned the rates. We don't understand, what is there so hard to understand, a business is not obliged to take a loss all the time. You booked the last night with full knowledge of the rate, with a booking site. We told your husband/ boyfriend that we will charge the same rate, as last night. We gave you a written record of rates. You are furious on us for no reason, it took you a long time to get a permanent accommodation. What makes you say, we abused your credit card, in anyway. If you can prove an abuse, we guaranty you, we will refund you 10 times the amount.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 26, 2012

I've read some of the reviews below and have to say that people have been really unfair regarding this hostel.

The proprietor was an easy going, straight forward guy - not rude at all - actually very funny and easy to get along with. It’s rare to see people in the services work that hard to please guests – so we appreciated this having come from backpacking around Europe.

As backpackers we were looking for value. We had the flexibility of cooking in if we needed a break from eating at restaurants which we really enjoyed. It was great to meet other guests at the hostel in the common area. Really relaxed vibe. Clean, simple, cheap. That's what we needed.

We were so close to all the major sites in the city - couldn't have asked for a better place.
St. Lawrence Market was literally down the street - it is an awesome farmers market - highly recommend!

Overall - we would definitely come back to this hostel next time we're passing through Toronto and will recommend it to friends.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Andrea C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SaintLawrenceResiden, Manager at Saint Lawrence Residences & Suites, responded to this review, December 5, 2012
Appreciate, your honest comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Toronto hotels
Downtown
Holiday Inn Express Toronto Downtown
Downtown
Pantages Hotel Toronto Centre
Downtown
Cambridge Suites Toronto
Cambridge Suites Toronto
#37 of 132 in Toronto
1,748 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
bE SixFifty Hotel
bE SixFifty Hotel
#86 of 132 in Toronto
98 reviews
Downtown
Hostelling International Toronto
Downtown
The Ivy at Verity
The Ivy at Verity
#50 of 132 in Toronto
129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Saint Lawrence Residences & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Saint Lawrence Residences & Suites

Property: Saint Lawrence Residences & Suites
Address: 135 Jarvis St, Toronto, Ontario M5C 2H6, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Toronto > Downtown
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #67 of 97 Specialty Lodging in Toronto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Saint Lawrence Residences & Suites 1.5*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of downtown, St. Lawrence Residences & suites is designed to handle all accommodations-leisure travels, business travels, extended stay or student housing. Our rooms are moderately priced and includes amenities such as: -air-conditioner - Color TV -Free wifi -Microwave -fridge -double cook-top -pots, pans & dishes. -Linens and towels provided Dining table or love seat or both depends on room configuration. Guests are welcome to use common kitchen and bathroom. Laundry facilities are within the premises. Phone in the lobby is free for local calls, Free Wi-Fi available all over the property. The dishes, pot and pans are yours to use at no extra charge all we expect is clean dishes, and pots & pans, for the next person. We offer accommodations geared to budget minded travelers. The Linen is provided Free for a limited time and includes bed sheets, pillow cover, blanket or comforter, and a bath towel, Limited secure parking available at property for $35 a night. Neighbourhood unsecured surface parking at reduced rates may be searched A 13% HST & 8% sundry charge is added to room charges etc. Our front desk hours are 2:30 PM to 6:30 PM, Monday to Saturday. Sundays closed. Please contact us 48 hours prior to arrival, by email. Check out time is 11:00 AM House keeping service if required No pets allowed No smoking in the building ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets and Priceline so you can book your Saint Lawrence Residences & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Saint Lawrence Residences And Suites
Saint Lawrence Residences Hotel Toronto

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing