We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable and eccentric. Not for everyone but I loved it.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Pimblett's Downtown Toronto B&B
Ranked #49 of 115 Toronto B&B and Inns
Rochester, NY
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Comfortable and eccentric. Not for everyone but I loved it.”
Reviewed November 13, 2011

This was my third stay at this casual B&B in a rambling brick Victorian in Cabbagetown. I keep coming back because I love the eccentric decor, the casual atmosphere, and the quiet off-the-beaten-path location. As other reviewers have noted, this place is not for everyone. Don't stay here if you expect turndown service, new linens every day, or cookie-cutter accommodations. Do stay here if you like random oddity and unique character, huge English breakfasts, animals (a dog and a cat are in residence), and a relaxed and casual atmosphere. It's like being a guest in your eccentric uncle's mansion. Geoffrey is an excellent host, and the breakfast is cooked to order. The streetcar is a short block away and the ride to downtown takes just minutes. My one complaint is that my bed was a little too firm, but I wouldn't stay anywhere else, considering the value and unique experience provided by Pimblett's.

Room Tip: The Agatha Christie room is at the center of the house and has very little street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bookish42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    42
    29
    3
    14
    10
See reviews for
4
44
22
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Arnold, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 26, 2011

My husband I stayed here in September 2011 for 4 days. The B&B was the worse B&B we have stayed in. It was dirty, very very cluttered and not your typical B&B. We asked for some coffee or tea in the afternoon and was told it is only served at breakfast. They offered nothing to us. The host was not the most helpful, but John the cook in the morning was very pleasant. Breakfast was so so, buffet style in a very small and cluttered kitchen. It felt more like a boarding room and not a B&B. Just not our type of B&B. The common room was so small and cluttered.

We had a private deck but the screen door was torn so we couldn't keep it opened because of bugs coming into the room, and the glass door was so hard to shut. With them knowing when would be arriving you would think the furniture would be clean but it was dirty. The bathroom was new but no place to put your toilettres. We had to use the floor. Would not recommend if you are looking for a clean, romantic place.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank adelelebo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 1, 2010

I travel a lot for work and decided to try something different so I stayed at Pimbletts for 4 days. If you want cozy friendly affordable place (that is a little bit zany) then this is the place for you. I stayed in the bulter's room, it was at the back of the house and nice and quiet. Be warned that it's not a [place for everyone. If you want a sterile hotel room with no character then it may not be the best place for you. Howevery, for me the price was great compared to the hotels downtown and and the breakfast was delicious.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank OttawaStu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 16, 2010

I felt like I was walking into a traditional English home, with so many lovely antiques and trinkets decorating the place! The house is absolutely gorgeous, with so many things to look at, and the top floor has it's own little patio that has a beautiful view of the city. The jacuzzi is huge and extremely relaxing also, and we had a very good sleep in the king- sized bed.

Geoffrey is wonderful and we had a lot of fun talking with him in the morning on a variety of a subjects. He makes you feel right at home and cooks a fabulous (huge) English breakfast. Try the Yorkshire tea!! I will be recommending this place to all my friends for sure.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TerraBerry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
Level Contributor
28 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2010

Having read the reviews of other travellers, I was quite prepared for Pimbletts to be an 'experience' - unfortunately it was an experience I would rather forget.
Cabbagetown had some lovely old houses, but the general area was rundown. The house itself was so cluttered and - while this may be fun to look at - it was not fun to live in, not having been dusted in months. The bedding in the room was clean and adequate but nothing matched.
The biggest problem was the creaking floors. Obviously this could not be avoided because of the age of the property. Unfortunately, we were unable to sleep at all on our last night. The people 'using' the room above were going up and down the stairs, in and out of the front door all night, pacing the floor and doing 'other things' that were clearly audible to us. We felt very intimidated and couldn't wait to leave at first light.
Although Mr. Pimblett and his cook were friendly, I certainly could not recommend this area or this establishment to anyone.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank brucecleo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarnia, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 4, 2010

We have been coming back to this B & B for the last 5 years largely because of the great location and the friendliness of the host Geoffrey and his helper John. The place also attracts people from all over the world so breakfasts are always very interesting and very hearty -- full Engish breakfast buffet every morning.
The decor is not for everyone as some might find it cluttered and even not clean. However, in hearing comments from other guests over the past few years, I have to report that most people describe it as "charming". I certainly have not seen anything like it anywhere else.
Guests also have the option of having breakfast in a sun room at the back of the house or in the garden surrounded by numerous plants. It is hard to realize at times that you are in walking distance of Yonge Street. The ambience is very peaceful and private.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fran155011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prescott, Canada
1 review
Reviewed September 30, 2010

We have stayed with Geoffery a number of times now and found him and his B&B very warm, hospitable and welcoming. While there is a variety of things almost everywhere, from books to teapots to art to antiques, it is all a part of the charm that keeps us going back. We enjoy the neighbourhood partly because the streets, other than Gerrard and Parliament, are nice and quiet and have some great old houses to look at. In addition, there is the House on Parliament, a little pub just around the corner that has incredible waiters and great food, and a yoga studio right across the street. It's within walking distance to downtown and is very close to public transit. We have always enjoyed the breakfasts at Pimblett's both for the quantity and the fact that everything tastes good. They'll even make you kippers if you tell them ahead of time. Sure beats a continental breakfast. We made some use of the free WiFi and had no problems.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dkraitberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Toronto hotels
Downtown
Toronto Garden Inn
Toronto Garden Inn
#7 of 115 in Toronto
241 reviews
Downtown
McGill Inn B&B
McGill Inn B&B
#16 of 115 in Toronto
145 reviews
West End
Bonnevue Manor Bed & Breakfast Place
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Downtown Home Inn
Downtown Home Inn
#6 of 115 in Toronto
353 reviews
Downtown
Comfy Guest House and Suite
Downtown
Victoria's Mansion Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pimblett's Downtown Toronto B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pimblett's Downtown Toronto B&B

Property: Pimblett's Downtown Toronto B&B
Address: 242 Gerrard St E, Toronto, Ontario M5A 2G2, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Toronto > Downtown
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #49 of 115 B&Bs / Inns in Toronto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Pimblett's Downtown Toronto B&B 2*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An Englishman's home where guest are welcome. Affordable downtown Toronto location. Parking available, fully cooked breakfast. Queen rooms, king beds, one room with a jacuzzi. Close to shops, restaurants, bars and all Toronto Downtown sites. Special tourist accommodation and business guests welcome. Wireless internet and internet desk provided. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Pimblett's Downtown Toronto B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pimblett`s Downtown Toronto Hotel Toronto
Pimblett`s Downtown Toronto Bed And Breakfast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing