We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Would not recommend it at all”
Review of Homewood Inn

Homewood Inn
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Toronto
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Homewood Inn
Ranked #74 of 114 Toronto B&B and Inns
Erlangen, Germany
Level Contributor
32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Would not recommend it at all”
Reviewed June 6, 2011

We had 2 rooms for 2 nights. Rooms are not nice at all, really really old and do not really seem clean. The bathroom was at pretty bad condition as well. When breakfast was made in the morning (breakfast was not bad but not supergood either) you could already smell it in the room, beginning 7am, actually you could smell fried egg in the whole house.
Owners/staff not rude but not pleasant either.

Good things about it: pretty cheap and not too far from the centre. That's it!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nueckl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    15
    1
    6
    5
See reviews for
2
8
14
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nova Scotia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed November 22, 2009

I am from Nova Scotia and I've stayed in Toronto at some different hotels in the past while on vacation. I've stayed at the Homewood Inn 3 times in the past couple of years. I've stayed by myself, with my girlfriend, and also another time with my Dad. The staff is so friendly and were able to accomodate any different needs travelling with these different companions. The accomodations are excellent, the location is perfect and best of all the prices are great. You will not get a better deal on an accomodation and location like this in Toronto, not to mention they are great hosts and breakfast is included. This is always my first choice of accomodations when visting Toronto. The accomodation, location, price, and service are second to none in Toronto!

  • Stayed August 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dwyer2480
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saskatoon
1 review
Reviewed August 12, 2009

Hadn't visited Toronto for over 20 years, lived there once upon a time. Used to view Toronto as cold and unfriendly. Pleasantly, completely changed my mind with this great global city. Best way to reintroduce myself to Toronto was through this hotel. Very warm and considerate owners--took their time out of busy day to give you a real sense of welcome. I have been many B&B's in Britain and Europe and was surprised that the best is in my own country. Price extremely reasonable for downtown Toronto, close to all the facilities. Breakfast was large and the best I have had in about 40 B&Bs. Caters to an international clientele which makes it interesting. Buildings and rooms are cozy late Victorian.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SaskatoonFernando11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
1 review
Reviewed August 9, 2009

We have been staying at the Homewood Inn on our visits to Toronto for many years now and have always found it to be clean and friendly. This is NOT an expensive, fancy, pretentious luxury accommodation fit for snobs, but actually a very comfortable alternative and a real good value for the price. There is a great variety of rooms and fully self-contained suite-and room combinations available in three large older houses centrally located on a quiet street. The atmosphere is relaxed, the rooms homey, and the staff very pleasant and helpful. Like us, many Guests are 'regulars' and tend to be easy-going and friendly.

  • Liked — Choice -we chose a large and self-contained suite
  • Disliked — microwave oven too small
  • Stayed June 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank huntnpeek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
niagara falls
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2009

I have stayed at the Homewood Inn many times and have enjoyed my stay. THe security of the room is very good. I really enjoyed the peace and quiet. The bed was comfortable and the price reasonable. The breakfasts were so quaint. The staff was so friendly and even the other guests were nice to talk to . I will be staying there again in a couple of months and am looking forward to it.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank largar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saskatoon
1 review
Reviewed June 5, 2009

I have stayed at the Homewood many times and have never been disappointed. The location is ideal for those who want to be downtown. The rooms are comfortable and clean. The shared kitchen and bathrooms are well-maintained. Breakfasts are generous and served in a bright dining room. For me, I just park the car and walk or ride the transit anywhere I want to go. Taxi service is also prompt within 5 minutes, for those in a hurry. Coming back to the Homewood in the evening one can relax in the quiet rooms. I recommend the Homewood Inn to my friends and relatives who are planning to visit Toronto.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank anatman29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland
2 reviews
Reviewed May 27, 2009

I recently visited the lovely city of Toronto and stayed at a Bed and Breakfast called The Homewood Inn. The building was one of three that are very warm in charm, is clean, serves a wonderful breakfast, and has great ownership and staff. It is within walking distance of the center of town and all attractions. The Inn is owned and operated by Dolores and Eadie. Dolores is a very kind, friendly person that has operated this Inn since 1990. Eadie is her daughter and is so incredibly friendly and helpful that you can't help but love her. She will go out of her way to provide you with information about the area, sites, and make sure you are comfortable with your accomidations. The warmth that these ladies provide will leave all travellers with a happy experience and the desire to visit them and their Inn again.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FrederickLong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Toronto hotels
Downtown
The Saint James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
Downtown
Town Inn Suites
Town Inn Suites
#66 of 134 in Toronto
3.5 of 5 bubbles 689 reviews
Downtown
Grand Hotel Toronto
Grand Hotel Toronto
#22 of 134 in Toronto
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,886 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Toronto Garden Inn
Toronto Garden Inn
#8 of 114 in Toronto
4.5 of 5 bubbles 239 reviews
Downtown
Ada's Guesthouse
Ada's Guesthouse
#62 of 114 in Toronto
3.5 of 5 bubbles 44 reviews
Downtown
Taigh Ice
Taigh Ice
#63 of 114 in Toronto
3.0 of 5 bubbles 2 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Homewood Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Homewood Inn

Property: Homewood Inn
Address: 65 Homewood Ave, Toronto, Ontario M4Y 2K1, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Toronto > Downtown
Hotel Style:
Ranked #74 of 114 B&Bs / Inns in Toronto
Number of rooms: 8

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing