We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A warm welcome and a lovely environment”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
A Seaton Dream B & B
Ranked #13 of 115 Toronto B&B and Inns
Hertford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“A warm welcome and a lovely environment”
Reviewed October 29, 2012

A warm welcome makes this delightful place a gem: we couldn't have asked for nicer! It is in a delightful, quiet, tree-lined road in walkable distance from the down-town area and is well served for transport links. So what better for a centre to explore the city?

And the breakfast: something different day by day, beautifully presented and served with a smile. Plenty to keep us going until lunch - and usually a late, light lunch at that. The house is well kept: spotlessly clean, nicely furnished. And a lovely location.

But really what sets this place apart is the quality of the welcome: warm and friendly, ready to spend the time of day, interested and interesting. We felt more like preferred family than passing customers.

Would we stop there again? You bet! Thanks Jamie & Alan.

Room Tip: Well there are only three rooms and they are described on the website to help you chose. The stairw...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JustImbiber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    104
    13
    3
    2
    0
See reviews for
14
79
11
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2012

My wife and I stayed at A Seaton Dream for two nights recently and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Jamie and Allen were gracious hosts and very responsive to our needs and requests. The room (West Wing) was very comfortable and the breakfasts were creative and delicious. The street was quiet and there were restaurants and public transportation within easy walking distance. We would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: West Wing room is the largest. It is on the street which is quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 50226Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baldwin City, Kansas
Level Contributor
58 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2012

We were trying to be budget conscious by going to a well reviewed bed and breakfast and the Seaton Dream is nice especially if you have a car - however, being from the U.S. we confirmed using a credit card and since this is Canada we also got hit by the 13 % tax on top of our hotel rate $159/ night so our final total was completed unexpected. It's not clear if this tax is voluntary as from other sites we've seen that mentioned, but we paid it, and because we originally used a credit card to reserve the room we also got stuck with conversion fees, so overall this put us at least $80 over budget. Not that much but it was unfortunately unexpected. If you are from U.S. keep this in mind. We now see that other B &B's make a point to mention that their rates are inclusive of the Canada taxes but this is NOT the case at the Seaton Dream.
As to the actual review, Jamie is a great cook and the breakfasts were delicious. Sitting out on the porch in the neighborhood was alot of fun. There is a pub down the street that has good food for lunch or dinner. The Seaton's location was okay though you really needed a car to get around in Toronto and even to get across the city took over an hour.
Things to see & do: don't miss Casa Loma, St. Lawrence Market, Chinatown.
In September is the annual Toronto film festival and celebrities come to town. Ben Affleck, Kristen Stewart, etc.

I do agree with the other reviewer that because of the warm temperatures the week we were in Toronto, our room (West Wing) was hot & suffocating and so we recommended that the room needs a ceiling fan or something in there to help with air movement. The bathroom is nice but it's a LONG stretch to get INTO the tub as the tub is HUGE. There are also about 15 tiny steps to go up to the 2nd floor and with luggage it's a whopper. But the West wing is spacious and the bay windows face the street and has a nice view.

The back porch is really nice to hang out and all in all we had a good time and if there could be a fan in the room, we'd be back, Canada taxes, conversion fees and all!!!

Room Tip: Next time I think the basement room is the best choice or the room with the balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kurtrs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roma
Level Contributor
67 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2012

Raisin homemade pancakes orange flavored, with oak syrup, fresh juicy mini-strawberry, slices of almond and vanilla powder sugar, 2 leaves of fresh mint... What could you experience better than this awakening? Great hospitality, spaces well cleaned, rooms with private bathroom with both tube and shower. If back in Toronto, again in a seaton dream, no doubt.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PerMangiartiTutta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2012 via mobile

A beautiful B&B with fantastic hosts. We stayed in the West Wing. The room was beautiful. The breakfasts were delicious. Also the B&B is in walking distance of all the sites, restaurants and shopping areas. Would definitely stay here again

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mskikiyogini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
45 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2012

We chose this B & B based on the good reviews and beautiful photos. Upon arrival we were greeted by Jamie who showed us to our room, and asked about any dietary preferences to which my husband said he does not eat eggs. The first morning was an omelette - it was put down and Jamie was off before we had time to even realise what it was. We made several polite suggestions that he did not like eggs, to which Jamie did not appear to get. My husband again explained he did not eat eggs when his plate was taken away. We figured everyone has those days, as the next morning we had pancakes so assumed the message was received. But for our third and final morning - another omelette (we had given up and were just interested in getting on with our day). We couldn't have been any more clearer without being rude, and thankfully my husbands was just a dietary preference and not an allergy. The food itself was nice - if you don't like eggs, I'd probably wear a sign on your head though.

Although we found the hosts cordial and the accommodation nice, it was not a true B & B experience and did not match up to others we stayed at in Canada. The house had more the feel of a share house, not the welcoming atmosphere of a B & B. The hosts did make an effort with travel books and brochures, but could do more to interact with guests, especially at breakfast and to advise them of local attractions. We had very little conversation with the hosts, other than checking in and a few sentences with Jamie at breakfast as he put the plate down and hurried away. We have probably been very spoilt with other places we have stayed, and enjoy staying in B & B s for the interaction and knowledge you get from staying with locals. If we just wanted a nice room and breakfast, we'd stay in a hotel.

On a positive, the room was nicely decorated and had a good street view and a jet tub (we stayed in the west wing). The outdoor courtyard was very pretty, and worth having a look at it. The room however, had no air-conditioning, and no window to open so the room was stuffy. Also, the in room safe did not work. The house is also well located to down town and has plenty of restaurants nearby. We wouldn't stay again, and our stay was rather average - but this may just be a matter of personal taste.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TheAusCouple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aseatondream, Owner at A Seaton Dream B & B, responded to this review, September 9, 2012
We are so sorry to hear that this guest did not have the amazing time that 99% of our guests experience at A Seaton Dream B&B. We try so hard to make our guests happy and to accommodate their every need and ensure our guests are happy.

As you read through the other reviews posted on this site we hope you will see the number of comments made about the extreme care paid to individual dietary restrictions and also to the great conversations that guests have had around the table with us. It is something we take pride in.

We do have to be clear on one point however and that is that the room IS air conditioned, In fact even on the hottest of days we can't recall a complaint about the temperature in this room. I suspect what the guest intended to say was that there are not individual controls in each Bed and Breakfast room. This would in fact be true but as far as we know there are no individual room controls in any B&B in Toronto. At the end of the day a B&B is a house and features such as individual air conditioning controls usually only exist in hotels.

We do our best to try and "read" our guests and accommodate our service to what we they think they would prefer. While many guests love conversation around the table, we sometimes have guests who clearly would like their experience to be more private. The only thing we can think of regarding a lack of "host conversation" in the morning is that we may have misread the guest and thought they preferred privacy when in fact they did not.

We have gone back and checked their reservation request and the field where they are asked if there were any special needs in terms of dietary restrictions was left blank. Nonetheless we always double check with our guests upon arrival just to make sure so we are uncertain where things went wrong and are extremely sorry if there was an error made on our side.

We are a bit perplexed with regard to the guest saying we attempted to serve them omelettes on both the first and third day however. If you read through the many trip advisor reviews posted you will see that we never serve a guest the same breakfast twice (unless they like it so much they specifically request it a second time). Serving omelettes two days a part just doesn't seem like it is even possible given our menu planning system.

Nonetheless, we do take the review seriously and will learn what we are able from it and do our best to make sure each and every guest has a relaxing and wonderful experience at A Seaton Dream B&B.

Jamie and Alan, Owner
A Seaton Dream B&B
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oregon
Level Contributor
29 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2012

Jamie and Alan are the most gracious hosts. Jamie's breakfast was delicious and filling. The renovated room in the basement (Retreat room) was super comfortable and spacious. The bathroom was spotless. I wish we had stayed more than just 1 night. The B&B is within walking distance to the downtown area and St. Lawrence Market. Thank you Jamie and Alan for our wonderful stay in Toronto.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VoyageurOregon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Toronto hotels
Downtown
The Saint James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
Downtown
Chelsea Hotel, Toronto
Chelsea Hotel, Toronto
#60 of 136 in Toronto
6,086 reviews
Downtown
Holiday Inn Toronto Downtown Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Toronto Downtown
Downtown
Grand Hotel Toronto
Grand Hotel Toronto
#22 of 136 in Toronto
1,909 reviews
Downtown
Toronto Garden Inn
Toronto Garden Inn
#7 of 115 in Toronto
241 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to A Seaton Dream B & B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about A Seaton Dream B & B

Property: A Seaton Dream B & B
Address: 243 Seaton St | Toronto, Ontario, Toronto, Ontario M5A 2T5, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Toronto > Downtown
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 115 B&Bs / Inns in Toronto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — A Seaton Dream B & B 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Private bathrooms for all! Experience casual elegance in downtown Toronto. We have carefully planned the decor of our bed and breakfast, which was completely renovated in 2007, to ensure you instantly feel relaxed and comfortable. Whether you are enjoying the garden patio, rejuvenating yourself in the sauna, drifting off to sleep on our new mattresses, or savoring a delicious hot breakfast, we look forward to making you feel at home every minute of your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Cancelon so you can book your A Seaton Dream B & B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing