We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“This Place Never Disappoints!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Second City Toronto

Second City Toronto
Book In Advance
Book Now
Ranked #2 of 266 Nightlife in Toronto
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Second City is renown as the world's premier comedy theatre, with critically-acclaimed live improv and sketch comedy shows on stage every night. Enjoy a night of laughs and up-to-the-minute satire from the legendary comedy troupe that inspired Saturday Night Live, SCTV, and Whose Line Is It Anyway! The Second City's list of alumni include entertainment legends such as Martin Short, Eugene Levy, Gilda Radner, John Candy, Andrea Martin, Mike Myers, Colin Mochrie, and many more. Tickets are only $14 - $32, making The Second City the best entertainment value in Toronto. Located in the heart of Toronto's Entertainment District, The Second City's intimate cabaret theatre offers table service of a affordable bar and food menu, as well as pre-show dinner packages.
Oakville, Canada
Level Contributor
705 reviews
333 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 302 helpful votes
“This Place Never Disappoints!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2014

Was here recently and their form of comedy has been around for years. Last time I was to this place was in 1980 at a different place plus John Candy was on the stage. No wonder SNL has a good recruiting ground for their comedy type people as Second City is certainly the proving ground to learn this trade. Shows always reflect what is going on in the community and their talent pool never disappoints. No wonder SCTV was a hit back in the 1970's as they have great writers who make their performers look good here!

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank b0b55russell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

673 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    409
    186
    39
    24
    15
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Cosy comedy club”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2014

We caught a show on a Friday evening and it was great. Don't be surprised to share a table with your fellow audience but that adds to the ambience. Table service throughout from very friendly waiters. Would recommend for an alternative night out.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank RaeD_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
33 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great evening out!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2014

My husband and I had a fantastic time at the "Best of" show they put on on a Saturday evening. We read up online and purchased tickets about a month before the show and made sure we arrived about 45 minutes before the show start time to make sure we got decent seats.

The show was outstanding! We were both in stitches pretty much the entire performance. A pretty young cast, I doubt any of the performers were over 30, but they appealed to all generations with varying cultural references and audience involvement.

The highlight of the night was definitely when my husband got pulled into a pretty lengthy sketch! I got caught by the guards trying to take a photo as they're very strict about photos and videos of the performance, but I'll have the memory forever of them trying to coax him into signing a Michael Buble song on stage in the crowded theater.

The show is fast-paced and keeps you on your toes! They really pack the place full so expect to be sharing tables with other groups/people you don't know. We didn't mind as our table mates shared their appetizers with us. The drinks were sub par in our opinion from other bars we had visited in Toronto...we recommend drinking elsewhere before if you can.

We will definitely be back for another show on our next visit!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Caitlin F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Novelty OH
Level Contributor
39 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“What a Hoot!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2014

This comedy group is irreverant and super fun! The talent was impressive even when we were lacking the relevant background to Toronto. The service was efficient and friendly, the cast creative and talented.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank 57maro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GTA
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Lots of fun and laughs!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2014

This place does different sketch comedy shows based on so how funny it is varies can depend on the material being presented. I have been here on a few occasions however and always thoroughly enjoyed myself. I also like the atmosphere here a lot more than up at that "Yuk Yuks" comedy club.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Weezilla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Second City Toronto also viewed

 

Been to Second City Toronto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing