We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hilarious! If in need of a good laugh, this is THE place” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Second City Toronto

Second City Toronto
Book In Advance
Book Now
Ranked #2 of 266 Nightlife in Toronto
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Second City is renown as the world's premier comedy theatre, with critically-acclaimed live improv and sketch comedy shows on stage every night. Enjoy a night of laughs and up-to-the-minute satire from the legendary comedy troupe that inspired Saturday Night Live, SCTV, and Whose Line Is It Anyway! The Second City's list of alumni include entertainment legends such as Martin Short, Eugene Levy, Gilda Radner, John Candy, Andrea Martin, Mike Myers, Colin Mochrie, and many more. Tickets are only $14 - $32, making The Second City the best entertainment value in Toronto. Located in the heart of Toronto's Entertainment District, The Second City's intimate cabaret theatre offers table service of a affordable bar and food menu, as well as pre-show dinner packages.
Emerald Isle, North Carolina
Level Contributor
92 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Hilarious! If in need of a good laugh, this is THE place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2013

Solo traveler, here on business. Wanted to see second city for quite some time, went to see the MEMEing of Life. Hilarious! It was a hand over your mouth, OMG, WOW OMFG kinda night. Great crowd, everyone got into it and it was a very friendly evening with lots of drinks being sent to all sorts of tables. The crew was funny, sharp, staff attentive to a fault, and it was the best thing I have done in the Toronto area and will be back soon. Co-located next door to Mr. 99's place. if you have to ask on the 99....well.....

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank DHPaine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheSecondCityToronto, Public Relations Manager at Second City Toronto, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Thanks very much! We look forward to your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

672 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    408
    186
    39
    24
    15
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
MISSISSAUGA
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great Show!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2013

This was our second time seeing a Second City show in Toronto; it was AMAZING! We saw "The Memeing of Life". They are all talented actors and actresses, with the ability to interact with and involve the audience in different ways. We have already recommended this show to family and friends and will be buying tickets to another show soon! We recommend showing up early (an hour before the show) to ensure you get great seats on the ground floor!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Lauren K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheSecondCityToronto, Public Relations Manager at Second City Toronto, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Thanks for spreading the word, Lauren! We're glad you enjoyed yourself. In addition to our "mainstage" show, we have additional hilarious shows that we present each Monday and Tuesday nights, as well as family matinees (for kids) during the summer and school holidays. Come to see you here again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
33 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“New Year's Eve fun”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2013

We had a great evening out at Second City on New Year's Eve. It was a fun atmosphere and the sketch show was very good. The performers are real pros and their timing and characterizations are very good. You can order snacks and drinks to have during the show. Beware that the set up is cabaret style, which means the seating is cozy - or tight, depending on how you look at it. We didn't even notice the close quarters once the lights went down. And there are lots of great places to eat either before or after the show.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Woodstock59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fredonia, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 attraction reviews
“Like a LIVE SNL”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2013

My wife and I went to Second City for a great night of laughs with this improv group. They kept us very entertained for the 2 hours we spent, great price for the event. Good food. Really enjoyed our stay! Will be back again!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jake W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheSecondCityToronto, Public Relations Manager at Second City Toronto, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Thanks for sharing your comments! Indeed, we have a long history with SNL, with several Second City alumni hired to be part of the original SNL cast (Gilda Radner, Dan Aykroyd, Bill Murray); many more of our alumni joining SNL since then (e.g. Martin Short, Mike Myers, Chris Farley, Tim Meadows, Tina Fey, to name just a few); plus three members of the current SNL cast. Nonetheless, there are some things that make Second City shows unique from what you'll see on television.. and, of course, we aren't censored!. Thanks again for posting. We look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
45 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Nice comedy club down town”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2013

very good location down town. The show was funny I will give it 8.5 out of 10. It is a nice place to go for some fun with friends.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank AHMED81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheSecondCityToronto, Public Relations Manager at Second City Toronto, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Thanks, Ahmed. What could we have done better to make it a 10 out of 10?! Glad you enjoyed yourself, and hope you and your friends will come back again for another show.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Second City Toronto also viewed

 

Been to Second City Toronto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing