We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Tall Ship Kajama Toronto Harbour Cruise” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tallship Cruises

Tallship Cruises
Book In Advance
$73.52*
and up
Toronto Obsession III Dinner Boat Cruise
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: This 165-foot three masted schooner offers non-guided tours of the Toronto harbor on Lake Ontario from the start of May to the end of September. Day and Evening Cruises Available.
Useful Information: Food available for purchase, Activities for young children, Activities for older children
Hamilton, Canada
Level Contributor
25 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Tall Ship Kajama Toronto Harbour Cruise”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2012

The weather and view of the Toronto skyline was very good, but that was the best of it. The ship is old(1930) and a little interesting to look at, but that goes away quickly. Unfortunately for us, there was no wind that day, so the crew basically wasted their time putting the sails up, but that was something to watch. However, at no time during the 60 min cruise did the crew talk about what we were seeing. i have been on cruises in several major cities in various countries, and they always have a commentator or similar. i found the lack of information to be the major downfall on this cruise and would not do it again. The food and drink prices were no deal either, but i guess that is nothing new at tourist attractions. Poor rating may be a bit harsh, but below expectations for sure.

Discount Dan

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank Discountdan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MrDWells, Manager at Tallship Cruises, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Dear Dan

Just wanted to touch base after discussing your cruise last year. I most certainly took your comments into consideration and have tried to make changes for the better. We do not offer a narrated tour on Kajama as we want to provide more of a sailing experience. Obviously if there is no wind available it is difficult to not use the motor. We do sail as much as we possibly can and we do our best to provide guests with a great sail. Sorry you didn't have a great experience we hope you will give us a chance this year to change that opinion.

Darren
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,672 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    815
    520
    217
    76
    44
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Look at the city from the different angle”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2012

We had a lot of fun sailing along the shore on the great sunny day! The crew did their best to please the passengers. Especially we enjoyed their song, when the guys were winding the ropes. Just one improvement may be done. At the beginning, when the passengers boarded the ship, the photographer took the pics of every group, holding the others. As a result we departed with a 25 min delay. The rest was OK. It is really worth trying.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank VIKTORRR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alert, Canada
Level Contributor
36 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Beautiful big ship sailing experience on a perfect sunny day”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2012

It was a family outing during last week of August on a perfect sunny day in Toronto. Very fun seeing the lake front landmarks and watching airplanes departing and arriving. Nice sailing experience on a big ship and for talking and eating. Well worth the price.

The food is surprisingly good on board and so reasonable in prices. Most definitely recommend getting some food. Also, there are three time slots in the day and I would recommend the first schedule since less people and just lunch time on board, perfect.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank molove2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“great afternoon!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2012

We live in Toronto and we were looking for something to do with my parents who were visiting from out of town. This cruise was exactly what we were looking for - it was a beautiful day (Sunday of Labour Day weekend), it was only 1.5 hours so didn't take up our whole day and the added bonus was we saw parts of the airshow going on at the Ex. It is a really nice boat, the staff are friendly, and the bar has an excellent range of beer. :) If you are looking for a nice way to spend the afternoon and be out on the water, this is it. If you want a 'tour' cruise where someone is constantly talking and pointing out the sights, this isn't for you. Vey enjoyable.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
6 Thank Lisa P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A nice mellow trip”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2012

People complaining about the engine power: It's supposed to be a two hour tour, so be thankful for that engine/wind power combo. I've had the wind die on my unpowered sailboat many times, and been adrift for hours before deciding to paddle to make some pitiful distance and combat boredom. Enjoy it for what it is!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank Ray Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tallship Cruises also viewed

 
Toronto, Ontario
 

Been to Tallship Cruises? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing