We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Favourite”
Review of The Monk's Kettle

The Monk's Kettle
Ranked #1,162 of 10,303 Restaurants in Toronto
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Neighborhood: Sunnylea
Reviewed May 5, 2017

We absolutely LOVE this place! The Monk's Kettle has done some revamping of their menu (while keeping my favourite - the Monk Burger) and has changed all of their beers to Ontario breweries. The staff is super friendly and helpful, especially if you're talking about trying new brews. Every item we've tried on the menu (which is probably all of it) is phenomenal. My husband and I pop in for the occasional pint or dinner (just us or with family and friends). Everyone we bring love it too!

Date of visit: April 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank SLawther
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (61)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

14 - 18 of 61 reviews

Reviewed May 4, 2017 via mobile

Decor is simple and inviting in this low key pub restaurant that is quiet and intimate. The best soups in GTA consistently. Pair this with a burger and one of their dozens of Ontario craft beers and you are blessed!

Date of visit: May 2017
Thank suzanne20152015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2017

This restaurant regularly switches up its beer list. And they KNOW beer. One of their staff members is to beer what sommeliers are to wine. And the food is delicious comfort food. Try their lamb burger - it doesn't disappoint!

Date of visit: January 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Julie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2017 via mobile

I have been here twice in the last two months (both times at the suggestion of friends who had heard good things but never been). Here are the three reasons I really like it:
1. The beer selection is excellent!
2. The food is excellent. While all menu items seem like they could set you up for winter hibernation, the soups are always light and well-balanced, the food is great but never too much and the pricing is very good for the amount and flavour you get!
3. For a small space, it's cosy, you can hear really well and the seats are comfortable (whether at the booth or table).

I crave the charcuterie board!

Date of visit: February 2017
Thank zarielcreative
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2017 via mobile

Contrary to the last reviewer,who has only written one review, this is a truly hidden gem. We recently moved to the area and are HUGE craft beer enthusiasts. Great selection of rotating taps and the food is outstanding!!

Service every single visit, 5 deep now, has been some of the best I've ever had!!

Keep up the great work guys!! This place is pure gold!!

Date of visit: February 2017
Thank 2_Travelers_Toronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Monk's Kettle also viewed

 

Been to The Monk's Kettle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing