We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Le Germain Toronto

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Le Germain Toronto
Ranked #10 of 132 Hotels in Toronto
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
40 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
“Great hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2010

Le Germain is a wonderful hotel - chic, hip and very urban. Others have said it all before me.
The three things I didn't like:
1) The doormen's uniform is such that it's difficult to tell if they're taxidrivers waiting for a fare or people who work for the hotel. The brown leather jackets are nice, but tough to tell at first glance that they're staff.
2) The window blinds are venetian style, so don't shut out light entirely. That's okay in the winter, but I guess the room wouldn't stay dark long into the morning in the summer.
3) The windows are far from noiseproof. I could hear conversation from a nearby bar and cars driving past. Fortunately, the hotel is on a relatively quiet street, so not a huge problem, but one you would think they'd have addressed in initial design.

Overall, a great hotel. I'm only pointing out a few flaws because all the other reviews were so great!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank krayZpaving
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

865 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    583
    200
    57
    13
    12
See reviews for
84
350
44
280
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (162)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
toronto
Level Contributor
30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2010

stay November 2003
Years have passed since our wedding night but i thought I would write a review about Le Germain. We were married in Toronto and were going to honeymoon in Hawaii months later. But we decided to stay at a hotel on our wedding night. We choose Le Germain Toronto after staying at Le Germain in Montreal. I knew they wouldn't disappoint us.
We stayed in a regular room because we still were on a budget from all of our wedding costs and the staff took great care of us. Maybe because we showed up in wedding dress and suit that gave it all away but everyone seemed to give us great service and attention.
The hotel was fairly new and did not have their restaurant running at the time but we ordered in some food and they promptly brought it up to our room without any questions. Usually they don't allow deliveries to the room. But was glad they made the exception.
The bed was amazing and comfortable, beautiful white crisp bedsheets, furniture modern and sleek. The bathroom was very modern with a glass wall separating the two rooms. I know other boutique hotels do this now but at the time this was the first hotel Toronto had seen this!! It was very hip at the time. The only downfall to the room was that it was overlooking the alley mess. I think they have now frosted the glasses 7 years later but i do remember thinking that it was a bit ugly to see.
In the morning a lovely continental breakfast with great lattes and papers were included in the stay.
We had a lovely stay here and would recommend to anyone looking for a quiet and romantic getaway in Toronto.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank traveltdot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vancouver, canada
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2010

Le Germain is the epitome of urban chic. Cool jazz from the Bose stereo greeted me as I walked in the door of my room, decked out in dark wood and white linens. A picture window, with shutters for privacy, connects the room to the ensuite, where a stainless steel sink floats in a glass countertop. I’m also a fan of the Aveda products and the lighted makeup mirror, and the earplugs to drown out the downtown Toronto traffic are a thoughtful touch. A great choice in a very central downtown location.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SheWrites_ca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
24 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2010

My wife and I stayed here for 5 nights in late September. We were very pleased with the hotel. The room was spacious, clean and modern. The hotel staff was friendly and accomodating. The restaurant was comfortable with good food and service. Some additional pointers: the location is on the west side of Toronto, meaning that it is in the entertainment district. The area is okay but not as nice as spots on the east side of town. A few additonal facts about Toronto generally: friendly and helpful locals. Taxes and cab fare are high here and good restaurants can be quite expensive. The hotel rate was not cheap but worth the price. I look forward to staying here again on my next visit into town.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KerryWho?
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
69 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2010

My husband and I stayed here as part of a contest win, one night only. Rooms were very modern, spacious, clean. Continental breakfast offered many choices. Did not use concierge. Valet parking was convenient.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jodmeister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toronto
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2010

Very much enjoyed the modern design and appeal for our quick get-away. Great location and great value.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mols0n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level Contributor
46 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2010

Unfortunately hotels in Toronto are costly. So although this hotel had a great ambiance and wonderful rooms, we ended up spending close to $300 for one night's stay (we live close to the city and stayed here for a concert) despite the fact that this was a prepaid, non-refundable deal - valet parking and breakfast in the morning alone accounted for 1/4 of the bill. Service was ok, breakfast and room service food not worth the price. I will stay here again but eat out instead.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank garp1233
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Toronto hotels
Downtown West
Hotel Le Germain Maple Leaf Square
Downtown West
Delta Hotels by Marriott Toronto
Downtown
The Omni King Edward Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown West
Shangri-La Hotel Toronto
Downtown West
The Ritz-Carlton, Toronto
Downtown West
Trump International Hotel & Tower Toronto
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Le Germain Toronto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Le Germain Toronto

Property: Hotel Le Germain Toronto
Address: 30 Mercer St, Toronto, Ontario M5V 1H3, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Toronto > Downtown West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in Toronto
#10 Romantic Hotel in Toronto
#11 Family Hotel in Toronto
#13 Business Hotel in Toronto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Le Germain Toronto 4*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An authentic experience Groupe Germain's philosophy is founded on elegance combined with authenticity. At Hotel Le Germain Toronto, no detail is overlooked to ensure your comfort and meet your needs. Under our roof, you'll find a home away from home. A local artistic flavour You'll enjoy the photographs of Toronto-based artist James Lahey. Tulips in full bloom brighten every room, while pictures of wispy clouds adorn the interior of the elevators. A welcome like no other Hotel Le Germain Toronto shares the same goal as all Le Germain Boutique-hotels: to create a comfortable and inviting atmosphere where the attentive and personalized service is accommodating yet never intrusive. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Le Germain Toronto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Le Germain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing