We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location, perfect room”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Le Germain Hotel Toronto Mercer
Ranked #8 of 136 Hotels in Toronto
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 1, 2009

I've in the Hotel for four days. Great hotel. Very nice and attractive design of all furniture and decoration. The room was small, but great. Strange they didn't change the towels everyday and they didn't give us new shampoo, but the place it's very good. A place to go.
My next time in Toronto I will repeat.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PepeGoteras
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (943)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

781 - 787 of 943 reviews

Reviewed June 29, 2009

We stayed at Le Germain for our 10th wedding anniversary. Upon check in we were very pleased with our room. While not overly spacious, it was just enough for us and the bathroom was fantastic -- oversized with a separate water closet for the toilet. The walk in shower with rain-shower head was to die for. The king sized bed was lovely.

Our room faced South and thus we had a rude awakening around 1.00am on the Saturday morning. The pounding bass and street noise from the popular club across the street was absolutely intolerable. It was only in the morning when we discovered the discretely placed ear plugs in the bed stand...the disruption lasted for almost 2 hours.

But thankfully we were able to sleep in and enjoy the serene dining area and vast complimentary breakfast offered by the Germain. Well attended staff kept beverages flowing and the food was excellent.

All in all an enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank travelcda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2009

My husband and I stay here on our wedding anniversary every year... need I say more :) The room, the atmosphere, the staff are all fantastic.

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Juli Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2009

When I arrive in my room at the Germain, I immediately let out a huge ahhhh! The bed is fantastic, the food at Victor is unsurpassed (tonight I had Tuna Confit) and they always have great jazz playing upon arrive in the room. It is a welcome retreat after travelling. Impecable service from all the staff. Complete and ultimate care!

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank norlana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2009

Beautiful location, hotel and experience. Lovely room and lobby with extremely friendly and helpful staff. No complaints at all with the exception of a turndown service which was missed.

Unlike some previous entries we found the room to be perfectly quiet.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SocratesCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2009

We stayed one night at the Le Germain and found the staff helpful and pleasant. The hotel has a contemporary look, i.e. the seating in the lobby was more design than comfort. Our room had a glass wall for the washroom/shower which allowed much needed light; the toiletries were Aveda and the king size bed cosy with a thick douvet. A substantial "continental" breakfast was a very nice addition (boiled eggs, yogurt, cereal, toast, fresh fruit, caps & espresso.) Being our first time in Toronto, we did not know the lay of the land. This hotel is perfect to be near the theatre district, it is actually located just across the street from Second City and down the block from Wayne Gretzky's restaurant. Also, within a few blocks is a grocery store, a drug store and two ok Italian restaurants. For seeing museums & shopping at the Eaton Centre, a hotel along Bloor Ave. would have been a better choice for us. I would recommend this hotel, but for $C255/night we spent too much additional money taking taxis to where we really wanted to be which was to the museums.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank go2trees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2008

My wife and I stayed at Le Germain for a week in November this year. We were primarily there for a business trip, but also held a birthday party for my wife Le Germain's Apartment Suite.

The Apartment Suite was the perfect place to hold a small party (12 people) and we loved that Le Germain didn't give us any trouble when we brought in our own food and liquor for our get-together. The staff was very helpful in getting things set up and making sure we had enough dishes in the kitchen, etc. We had a fabulous night and would definitely book there again for that kind of event.

For the rest of our stay, we had a standard room with a king bed. The room itself was very spacious and beautifully decorated - it felt very luxurious. It was also very quiet. There were plenty of closets and drawers, even in the bathroom, which is great when you're staying for a week. The staff was very solicitous and friendly and brought anything we needed quickly.

The room set-up wasn't very convenient for more than one person working or dining - there was a small desk, a desk chair and a big armchair. They were happy to bring us an extra chair, but it was still crowded - funny, given the size of the room. Also, the TV didn't pull out or swivel, so if you wanted to watch TV and eat dinner, you had to eat on the bed. Not that important and not the kind of thing you would care about during a short stay - but for a longer stay, it was a little inconvenient.

Speaking of the bed - I'm not usually fussy about mattresses, but I personally found our bed the most uncomfortable hotel bed I've ever slept in. Too hard for me and it took nearly a week after our stay for the kink to disappear from my neck.

We were both working in the room at times and found both the wireless internet and the actual internet port very unstable. Our room was at the end of the hall, far from the elevators. If you're there for business, I would suggest staying closer to the middle, to make sure you have a good internet connection.

Breakfast was included and was always a lovely continental spread. Coffee was divine and the breakfast staff were really lovely.

Overall, I enjoyed our stay - I would definitely stay there again for a shorter time or a special occasion. And it's a great location - close to transit, restaurants, movie theatre, live theatre, etc.

  • Stayed: November 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank rorokimtor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Toronto hotels
Downtown West
Hotel Le Germain Maple Leaf Square
Downtown West
Delta Hotels Toronto
Delta Hotels Toronto
#7 of 136 in Toronto
2,194 reviews
Downtown
The Omni King Edward Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown West
Shangri-La Hotel Toronto
Downtown West
Fairmont Royal York
Fairmont Royal York
#22 of 136 in Toronto
3,968 reviews
Downtown West
SoHo Metropolitan
SoHo Metropolitan
#6 of 136 in Toronto
875 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Germain Hotel Toronto Mercer? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Germain Hotel Toronto Mercer

Address: 30 Mercer St, Toronto, Ontario M5V 1H3, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Toronto > Downtown West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Toronto
#10 Romantic Hotel in Toronto
#13 Business Hotel in Toronto
Price Range: $265 - $485 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Le Germain Hotel Toronto Mercer 4*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An authentic experience Groupe Germain's philosophy is founded on elegance combined with authenticity. At Hotel Le Germain Toronto, no detail is overlooked to ensure your comfort and meet your needs. Under our roof, you'll find a home away from home. A local artistic flavour You'll enjoy the photographs of Toronto-based artist James Lahey. Tulips in full bloom brighten every room, while pictures of wispy clouds adorn the interior of the elevators. A welcome like no other Hotel Le Germain Toronto shares the same goal as all Le Germain Boutique-hotels: to create a comfortable and inviting atmosphere where the attentive and personalized service is accommodating yet never intrusive. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Le Germain Hotel Toronto Mercer reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Le Germain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing