We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“chic, sensuous,luxurious and welcoming”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Le Germain Hotel Toronto Mercer
Ranked #10 of 138 Hotels in Toronto
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 4, 2013

We stayed for two glorious days when Toronto was glowing in October sunshine and warmth. We have stayed at Le Germain before and just love the attention to detail, and total indulgence of their guests. Nothing is too much trouble. Everyone smiles. The room was super and the bed was beautiful, comfy, and great linens. We were really busy on this trip but coming back to the hotel late at night was really like coming home.
Breakfast is on the mezzanine floor - each morning someone would greet us and serve our coffee whilst we helped ourselves to an array of goodies.
We will return and return!!!!

Room Tip: Love the quietness of the rooms at the rear of the hotel...King Deluxe we chose and it was perfect...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank P F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (936)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

508 - 514 of 936 reviews

Reviewed October 2, 2013

I found Hotel Le Germain right here, on Trip Advisor; it was rated the #8 best-reviewed Toronto hotel, I believe. Got several pieces of good advice from previous reviewers, esp. to ask for a north-facing room as high as possible. The view still isn't great, since the hotel is only 11 stories -- in the middle of tons of skyscrapers. But being on the north side and up does cut out all construction noise -- and there's construction EVERYWHERE in booming downtown Toronto, so be prepared.

We opted for a Standard room, with just a shower. We paid about $325 a night and felt it was an excellent value, given the great location, the fine room decor/amenities, the free breakfasts and the superb staff. Can't say enough about the staff -- always friendly and attentive. Two examples: when we first got in (early), the desk said our room would be ready in 20 minutes. I noticed the concierge wasn't with anyone, so we went over -- which was the best decision of our entire stay. Nancy couldn't have been more helpful; I had notes with me I had made (it was our first time in Toronto), and she honestly evaluated my choices, then added several great ones. And she made lots of restaurant recommendations. She spent nearly half an hour with us.

Second staff example: my wife and both thought the bed pillows were too squishy/soft, so I called the desk, and they sent up a very firm one -- but they only had one. When I made it clear we needed two, Scott, a manager called to find out just how firm a pillow I'd like -- then they sent someone out, on a Sunday afternoon, and bought not one but two extra-firm ones!

Now about those pocket/sliding doors in the bathroom: several previous reviewers really had problems with not having a true door. Sure enough, our room had two pocket doors: an outer one that did close entirely and an inner one to the john-only room, which had an inch opening even when closed as much as possible. The solution: only one person in the bath "suite" at a time. Close the outer door and you'll have complete privacy.

The room furnishings were hip and comfortable, a rare combo, and the AC/heating was the quietest I've ever had in a hotel -- a huge plus. In fact, the whole room was super quiet; we never heard one sound from another room in any direction.

No question Le Germain exceeded our expectations -- in fact, this is the first time I've ever written a hotel review; that's how impressed we were. Thanks, Le Germain staff!

Room Tip: See above; we were very happy with Room 707.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Perry M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2013

This is the second time I have stayed at this hotel and it did not disappoint. It manages to be chic and homey at the same time. I stayed here on business and found it to be comfortable yet functional. The beds are very comfortable and the music system is a nice touch. The included continental breakfast was very good as well. It is in a terrific location for Toronto.

Room Tip: They are all good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Naveron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DinoGurusamy, Director Of Operations at Le Germain Hotel Toronto Mercer, responded to this reviewResponded September 30, 2013

Dear Naveron,

Thank you for taking the time to review us, we strive to provide a stylish and comfortable environment and I am glad to hear that you found it Chic and Homey. We are indeed located in the heart of the city close to theaters, restaurants and the business district. We look forward to welcoming you back

Regards

Dino Gurusamy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2013

The rooms are very large with excellent beds and spacious baths. Amenities are high quality. In room coffee is good and convenient. Our rate included breakfast, an enhance continental buffet, we greatly enjoyed. The staff was extremely helpful and courteous. My only complaint is that the in room TV was extremely difficult to operate. It had a several second lag in response to button pushes and led you through a set of obscure menus to get to the regular channels.

Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Dean-ATL-USA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2013

Everything was superb! staff where friendly, great Wifi, fast service. The hotel is also close to everything.
Toronto is such a wonderful city and its nice to splurge a little when you're there. And it was totally worth it !

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mary T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2013

Great rooms, great service. Breakfast is included as is wifi and coffee in the reception. Makes things easy.
The location means that most of the centre of town is walkable.
We also hired a suite for an all day meeting. Really well equipped with terrace, kitchen, etc.
Looking forward to visiting the sister hotel in Calgary next week.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank visitor50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2013 via mobile

We took a package that included a lunch at the hotel restaurant. The lady at the front desk for the check in was super helpful. She took the time to explain everything and to answer every questions we had.

The concierge was really helpful and super nice!

The room was amazing! Beautiful I loved the bath and it was a really romantic room!

I love my stay I'll definatly god back again!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Faltime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Toronto hotels
Downtown West
Hotel Le Germain Maple Leaf Square
Downtown West
Delta Hotels by Marriott Toronto
Downtown
The Omni King Edward Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown West
Fairmont Royal York
Fairmont Royal York
#22 of 138 in Toronto
3,770 reviews
Downtown West
Shangri-La Hotel Toronto
Downtown West
The Adelaide Hotel, Toronto
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Germain Hotel Toronto Mercer? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Germain Hotel Toronto Mercer

Address: 30 Mercer St, Toronto, Ontario M5V 1H3, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Toronto > Downtown West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Luxury Hotel in Toronto
#10 Romantic Hotel in Toronto
#13 Business Hotel in Toronto
Price Range: $242 - $397 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Le Germain Hotel Toronto Mercer 4*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An authentic experience Groupe Germain's philosophy is founded on elegance combined with authenticity. At Hotel Le Germain Toronto, no detail is overlooked to ensure your comfort and meet your needs. Under our roof, you'll find a home away from home. A local artistic flavour You'll enjoy the photographs of Toronto-based artist James Lahey. Tulips in full bloom brighten every room, while pictures of wispy clouds adorn the interior of the elevators. A welcome like no other Hotel Le Germain Toronto shares the same goal as all Le Germain Boutique-hotels: to create a comfortable and inviting atmosphere where the attentive and personalized service is accommodating yet never intrusive. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Le Germain Hotel Toronto Mercer reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Le Germain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing