We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Le Germain Hotel Toronto Mercer
Ranked #11 of 137 Hotels in Toronto
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 22, 2013

This hotel was excellent. Check in was relatively easy, and check out was great. They accommodated me on all fronts. The room and bathroom were large, clean, and the bed was comfortable. The price for the room was very reasonable, and the hotel was centrally located (right next to air canada center, and the train station.

The hotel is on top of a large grocery store with prepared food, a liquor store and a Starbucks, so it is very easy to go down the elevator and get any of there things.

Will definitely stay again-

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Katrina C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (918)
There are newer reviews for Le Germain Hotel Toronto Mercer
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

567 - 573 of 918 reviews

Reviewed April 21, 2013

I recently had the pleasure to spend two nights here with my two daughters. The room had a modern look, very classy, very comfortable. The bathroom was large with so much storage. The bathrooms could use more light. The beds were very comfortable. We loved the espresso machine in the lobby, you could get a latte, espresso, hot chocolate any time of the night or day. Apples were also readily available. We enjoyed the buffet breakfast each morning. Offerings included many different types of granola, oatmeal, yogurt, fresh fruit, pastries, juices, hard boiled eggs, and more! All staff members were courteous and helpful. The construction in the area did not bother us at all. We found the location very convenient as well. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank grandmakate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2013

I stayed here recently for a couple of nights while in town for a concert and business. It well deserves its stellar rating for comfort, convenience and great service. The breakfast selection is varied, fresh and delicious ... and I also liked (although I didn't partake on this occasion) that you could get something like an artisanal cheese plate for a late night snack on the room service menu. Definitely better than the usual offerings from room service after-hours at other establishments.

The staff were extremely welcoming and helpful, the room was well appointed and had a super-comfortable bed and there were beautiful Molten Brown products in the bathroom. I would highly recommend this hotel whether for business or pleasure.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nimpkish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

We stayed here for 5 nights and chose it for its great location in downtown Toronto. It was a short walk to the CN Tower and lots of other attractions, a subway station (St Andrew) and lots of restaurants. The hotel itself was elegantly designed and luxurious, which could seen in the lobby, which was complete with log fire, free internet access and free coffee and tea etc.
Our room on the 9th floor was perfect! It was big, with high ceilings and was stylishly designed. It was kept spotlessly clean for our whole stay. It was well equipped and the bathroom was lovely, with a huge shower with excellent water pressure. Lots of Molton Brown products were provided too. It had a glass wall between the shower and bedroom, with a blind that could be lowered, which some may find problematic, but not for us.
The bed was very comfortable and the room was extremely quiet for the entire stay. Breakfast was included and was a continental style buffet, which was tasty and filling. All staff members we encountered were friendly and helpful.
The only possible negative I can foresee in the coming months is the construction work going on on both sides of the hotel. There was a huge hole to the right of the hotel (digging foundations?) and we were woken one morning by what seemed to be the whole hotel shaking from digging going on next door. However, with the hotel itself, I cannot find any fault and would definitely recommend it as a luxurious base to see Toronto.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cosmicgirl1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

From the moment you walk in the front door you can tell this is a different kind of hotel. To the right is a partitioned 'living room' with a library of books, comfy chairs and couches and a coffee/tea bar. To the left is a sweet spot fo cocktails and snack, or even dinner. There is a breakfast spot in the hotel, it might be included, but I didn't make it there.
The rooms are veru cool and comfortable. The hotel is right in the theatre disctrict and there are some happening restos and clubs all within walking distance. The place is elevated in its design and room layout. Definitely a place I would take my wife to spend a romantic weekend away.

Room Tip: Rooms on the front of the hotel might be a bit noisier.
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Skislave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2013

I have been staying at le germain for about 7 years now and as a repeating customer you think they would treat you well and they have added extra charges on to my credit card accusing me of smoking when i did not and would only reverse half of the charge and told me numerous different stories and kept forwarding me to different managers and over $175 that they wouldn't reverse they have lost a customer that spent thousands of dollars there every year. The fact that they can charge your card at will and not reverse it was very upsetting and recommend to never stay there!!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank HeithD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DinoGurusamy, Director Of Operations at Le Germain Hotel Toronto Mercer, responded to this reviewResponded April 8, 2013

Dear HeithD,

We value our guests and do our utmost to provide a high level of service and I am sorry that you feel this way. As you know our hotel is a smoke free environment and whenever traces of smoking are found, guest are informed of the charge to deep clean the room. I apologize if there was any miscommunication regarding the deep cleaning charge posted when you were checking out. If you have any questions or would like to discuss this further please do not hesitate to call me at 416 883 3421 as you are a valued guest and hope you will reconsider staying with us again.

Best

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2013

Had a great experience at the hotel - the rooms were very sizeable and well appointed, and the bathroom was exceptionally large.

Staff were all lovely, and were eager to help both at check-in and with anything else that was needed, including car service to the airport.

We had dinner at the restaurant one night, and the food was fantastic - a seasonal "Taste of Toronto" menu offered small tapas portions, which were all impressive.

Free (and easy to use) wi-fi and complimentary breakfast were welcome additions.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank caycay_can
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Toronto hotels
Downtown West
Hotel Le Germain Maple Leaf Square
Downtown West
SoHo Metropolitan
SoHo Metropolitan
#9 of 137 in Toronto
779 reviews
Downtown West
Delta Hotels by Marriott Toronto
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
The Omni King Edward Hotel
Downtown West
The Ritz-Carlton, Toronto
Downtown West
The Adelaide Hotel, Toronto
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Germain Hotel Toronto Mercer? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Germain Hotel Toronto Mercer

Address: 30 Mercer Street, Toronto, Ontario M5V 1H3, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Toronto > Downtown West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Luxury Hotel in Toronto
#10 Romantic Hotel in Toronto
#11 Family Hotel in Toronto
#13 Business Hotel in Toronto
Price Range: $267 - $626 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Le Germain Hotel Toronto Mercer 4*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An authentic experience Groupe Germain's philosophy is founded on elegance combined with authenticity. At Hotel Le Germain Toronto, no detail is overlooked to ensure your comfort and meet your needs. Under our roof, you'll find a home away from home. A local artistic flavour You'll enjoy the photographs of Toronto-based artist James Lahey. Tulips in full bloom brighten every room, while pictures of wispy clouds adorn the interior of the elevators. A welcome like no other Hotel Le Germain Toronto shares the same goal as all Le Germain Boutique-hotels: to create a comfortable and inviting atmosphere where the attentive and personalized service is accommodating yet never intrusive. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Hotwire, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Le Germain Hotel Toronto Mercer reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Le Germain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing