We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sleekness Galore”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Le Germain Hotel Toronto Mercer
Ranked #9 of 138 Hotels in Toronto
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 5, 2012

From the lobby, to the spacious hall ways, to the rooms, it was just right and os so very sleek. I see other reviewers commenting on the bed linens and they are right. The hotel staff are helpful and give good tips on what to do and what to see. If you are on business, this place is for you. Good breakfast included in the price, including good croissants and lattes.

Room Tip: Ask for a room not overlooking the street. it will be more quiet for you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DCMomInChief
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (937)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

625 - 631 of 937 reviews

Reviewed November 5, 2012

Just utterly luxurious.
Shower is up there with the very best.
Beds super comfy
Free super fast easy internet
Nice free breakfast
central location
valet parking (expensive)
Only complaint would be it was rather noisy at night -somebody got blocked in and kept
beeping his horn for the longest time. Not the hotel's fault of course.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank johnehsmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2012

I planned a bachelorette/weekend getaway to Toronto for 4 girls and chose Le Germain mainly for the location and modernity of the hotel itself. We were able to walk everywhere we had to go. Despite four of sharing one bathroom and 2 small double beds, there was plenty of space for us to get ready, have drinks, play music and hang out before hitting the town. The included breakfast buffet had a good healthy variety of options, although the service was a bit slow and a touch 'pushy' when we tried getting our own coffee and tea. It wasn't clear this portion of the buffet wasn't self-serve like the rest of it. Hotel was quiet and clean and the little staff we came into contact with was friendly and amenable to a few special requests. Our room was nicely appointed but the sliding door seperating the toilet from the rest of washroom had come off the track before we checked in so if the toilet was in use, the whole bathroom was off limits.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SinOttawa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DinoGurusamy, Director of Operations at Le Germain Hotel Toronto Mercer, responded to this reviewResponded November 5, 2012

Dear SinOttawa,

I am glad that you choose to stay with us for your “girls night out” and that you enjoyed your stay. We are indeed located within walking distance to most major attractions and restaurants which makes us a perfect spot . I apologize for the maintenance issue in your room and please do not hesitate to contacts the front desk if you need anything as we are just a phone call away. We look forward to welcoming you back

Best

Dino Gurusamy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2012

I have stayed at the Germain once a year since it opened. The first time I was blown out of the water and bought the entire bed/linen set so that my bedroom could be as comfortable as my hotel room had been. Now, the sleek look and atmosphere are still there with increased prices, but the duvet mattress cover is gone, the service is intermittently lackadaisical (although the contact is always pleasant, the combination of courtesy with efficiency is gone), and the morning breakfast coffee is undrinkable (both plain and cappucino). When I commented that some things had changed somewhat to a staff member I was told the hotel was still fully booked, suggesting the quality/price was acceptable to some.... and that repeat customers were not so important??? Germain is no longer the only boutique hotel in town, and with the price range I will be exploring other options....
On the plus side: the room cleaning service and the pleasant, thoughtful maids are awesome.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Y0an
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DinoGurusamy, Director of Operations at Le Germain Hotel Toronto Mercer, responded to this reviewResponded November 5, 2012

Dear Y0an

Thank you for your feedback and please accept my apologies for the experience during your recent stay. I am curious about your comment regarding the bedding and coffee as we understand that our guests are very fond of the brands we have and that’s why we continue to use the same suppliers since the opening of the hotel such as frette( bedding) and Van Houtte ( coffee). We pride ourselves in providing the highest level of service to all our guest both first time and repeat and I am sorry that you felt otherwise, please contact me at 416 345 9500 so we can discuss further and address your concerns.

Looking forward to speaking to you

Dino Gurusamy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2012

Excellent location in the entertainment district of Toronto, close to theatres and restaurants. Great service at this hotel, modern styling, very comfortable beds and overall very happy with the Saturday evening stay. The fact that all the clubs in the area were requiring halloween costumes added some great entertainment to the street traffic!

Room Tip: We were on the north side which guaranteed no after hours noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Scott A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DinoGurusamy, Director of Operations at Le Germain Hotel Toronto Mercer, responded to this reviewResponded October 30, 2012

Dear Scott A,

Thank you for the feedback, we are indeed ideally located in the entertainment district close to theatres and restaurants. I’m glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. I will make sure to pass on your comments to all our staff and hope to welcome you back soon. In the meantime, have a happy Halloween!

Best

Dino Gurusamy
Director of Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2012

I've stayed in the Le Germaine in Toronto several times now and really enjoy it every time.
Very helpful staff, easy and quick breakfast buffett. A very comfortable hotel for business and leisure travel, right in the heart of Toronto. I wish they would offer a loyalty program.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alexandra L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2012

My boyfriend and I needed to find a last minute hotel downtown Toronto and couldn't have been happier with what was left. The location was amazing! It was honestly next to everything you would need on a Saturday night (clubs, bars, restaurants, theaters etc). When we got there check in was fast & easy and the front desk workers were very friendly and knew what they were doing. They have valet service so that was very convenient because we knew the car was in good hands and nothing would happen to it. The room was just amazing (we stayed on the 10th floor facing King St). We had a king size bed (I'm sure you can ask for doubles if you have more people), flat screen tv (with cable), a work table, snacks & drinks (for which you pay for). The bathroom was just over our expectations. It has a glass wall, so this mean if that whatever you are doing anyone who's in the room can see you!! The toilet was in a room with a door, so no one would see you doing that business - but the shower door was also glass. Over all the experience was amazing & we fell in love with this hotel. We'll definitely recommend this hotel to our friends.

Room Tip: Ask to be on the 10th floor facing King St! I've read some reviews that if you're facing Mer...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dilyara C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Toronto hotels
Downtown West
Hotel Le Germain Maple Leaf Square
Downtown West
Delta Hotels by Marriott Toronto
Downtown
The Omni King Edward Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown West
Fairmont Royal York
Fairmont Royal York
#22 of 138 in Toronto
3,777 reviews
Downtown West
Shangri-La Hotel Toronto
Shangri-La Hotel Toronto
#10 of 138 in Toronto
1,273 reviews
Downtown West
The Adelaide Hotel, Toronto
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Germain Hotel Toronto Mercer? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Germain Hotel Toronto Mercer

Address: 30 Mercer St, Toronto, Ontario M5V 1H3, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Toronto > Downtown West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in Toronto
#10 Romantic Hotel in Toronto
#13 Business Hotel in Toronto
Price Range: $243 - $391 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Le Germain Hotel Toronto Mercer 4*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An authentic experience Groupe Germain's philosophy is founded on elegance combined with authenticity. At Hotel Le Germain Toronto, no detail is overlooked to ensure your comfort and meet your needs. Under our roof, you'll find a home away from home. A local artistic flavour You'll enjoy the photographs of Toronto-based artist James Lahey. Tulips in full bloom brighten every room, while pictures of wispy clouds adorn the interior of the elevators. A welcome like no other Hotel Le Germain Toronto shares the same goal as all Le Germain Boutique-hotels: to create a comfortable and inviting atmosphere where the attentive and personalized service is accommodating yet never intrusive. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Le Germain Hotel Toronto Mercer reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Le Germain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing