We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really Nice Decor Food Average”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Gilaneh Restaurant

Gilaneh Restaurant
Ranked #3,215 of 8,443 Restaurants in Toronto
Cuisines: Middle Eastern, Persian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Validated Parking, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: North York
Mississauga, Canada
Level Contributor
231 reviews
193 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Really Nice Decor Food Average”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2013

this palce is really beautiful. very nice decor and very beautiful atmoshephere . went here for lunch on sunday and it was really busy. the service is very good the waitress was very sweet, but it took her some time to bring the water..not many workers on the floor.i really liked the yogurt appetizer with the bread. thats about it. the chicken breast with rice was good but average for this kind of place. i get exactly the same thing for much less at Persian take out joints on yonge street. this was a one time experince and i will leave at that.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lerochka S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    19
    17
    6
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
ontario
Level Contributor
90 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Nice room but food is mediocre”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2013

It is a nice room and it looks out into the trees of a ravine . But there is not much excitement in the kitchen. Offerings are predominantly grilled meats and/or stews, both of which come up short on flavour. Maybe bland is the style here, but I have Persian friends who tell me it should be different.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank nairene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
24 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Great place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2013 via mobile

Went with my family to celebrate an event and we liked the place
It has a unique charecter diffrent from most restaurants which is good
Starters and food was excellent
Service was excellent
It is more like a fine dining for prices and they deserve it
I liked the place and hope to be back soon

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank tim A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
63 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Wonderful Experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

For someone who has never tasted Persian or Iranian food this was a wonderful introduction. The barley soup is fantastic. And the atmosphere was relaxed and the manager helped us get a nice taste of the cuisine.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Angeline M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Terrible food, beautiful decor.”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013 via mobile

Stay away unless you like bland food, and hamburger shaped into kebabs. Salad was done with kraft dressing, and the waitress had zero knowledge of wine. You wouldnt think that such a nice visual restaurant would be lacking in every other aspect. My partner who has a weak stomach was ill from her dish, and the manager still made us pay for fifty percent of the meal and also gave us attitude. At this restaurant the customer is always wrong. Stay away!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Sinzen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gilaneh Restaurant also viewed

 
Toronto, Ontario
Toronto, Ontario
 
Toronto, Ontario
 

Been to Gilaneh Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing