We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Love Kimchi” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Banh Mi Boys

Banh Mi Boys
Ranked #41 of 8,401 Restaurants in Toronto
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Fast Food, Asian, Vietnamese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Seating, Takeout
Neighborhood: Chinatown
Boston
Level Contributor
103 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Love Kimchi”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2013

based on reviews....made an effort to try this place. Worth the long walk. Very fresh food, good service and amazing sandwiches. Any chance they want to open a place in Boston??? :)

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank MoxieBoston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

249 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    141
    91
    12
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Ontario
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Delicious Vietnamese Sandwiches!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

This incredible sandwich shop (which has two locations, at Queen & Spadina and at Gerrard & Yonge) serves fresh, delicious Vietnamese fillings in baguettes (banh mi) as well as tacos and steamed buns (bao). So far, I have tried the Grilled Pork, Grilled Chicken and Lemongrass Tofu fillings for the banh mi's and all have been incredible! I have also tried the Jicima Papaya Slaw which is fantastic and very refreshing. Can't recommend this enough - and all sandwiches are under $6! WOW ... look 'em up and go - you won't be disappointed! (http://www.banhmiboys.com/)

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank BJMomToronto_Ontario
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toronto
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Flavour flavour!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

This place rocks! Cheap and cheerful with explosion of tastes. Gets pretty crowded with not much seating but the food is worth it. They have just opened a 2nd location on Yonge north of the Eaton Centre. Looking forward to double the pleasure!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ladyjoToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
122 reviews
113 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Is this the best sub in Toronto...absafreakinglootely!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2013 via mobile

How could you go wrong, fresh Vietnamese bun, tasty pork belly, and just enough heat from the sriracha beckons you for another bite. And don't forget the sweet potato fries-killer! Great value!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank GarTheFoodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Good...But Nothing Spectacular”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2013

Hello Fellow Foodies!

I went to "Banh Mi Boys" on a Saturday for lunch and the restaurant was buzzing! Got there around 11:30am and there was already a line-up of about 10-15 people. Apparently, there's line-ups out of the door on weekdays! I liked the simplicity of the menu. The choices were simple...sandwiches, bao, tacos and side dishes (fries). I ordered the pork sandwich with kimchi fries on the side. The prices were very reasonable. It was $4.99 for the sandwich and about $5 for the fries.

Waiting for the food was a real drag. With more than 10 people anxiously waiting for their orders, it took a long time to get my food. I waited about 15 minutes which does't sound like a long time but considering it's not a "sit-down" establishment it felt like forever.

The moment my name was called, I had an uncontrollable grin on my face just seeing the size of the sandwich and kimchi fries. The sandwich was a hefty size (about 8 inches) and the fries came in a massive take-out container. Easy could have shared the sandwich with someone else!

The moment I took a bite of my meal, my first thought was "this is pretty good" but nothing about the food blew my mind. Yes, the bread was soft, there was a good portion on meat in the sandwich and the sauce provided a nice zing, but it didn't make me go "WOW". Same went for the kimchi fries. They were good and different but I wasn't amazed.

Overall, I think "Banh Mi Boy" is worth a try. You will definitely get your money's worth with the large portion sizes and at a reasonable price. However, be prepared to wait in line before your growling gut gets filled.

Happy Eating!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank kevinf_30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Banh Mi Boys also viewed

 
 

Been to Banh Mi Boys? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing