We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First time hosteller”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hostelling International Toronto
Ranked #2 of 104 Specialty Lodging in Toronto
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 15, 2013

This place is awesome and everyone is really friendly. The staff was super helpful and the facilities were perfect for someone like me, who doesn't spend a whole lot of time in the place they are staying. I always knew that there was someone to hang out with and the events, whether you attend them are not, are a great way of the staff showing that they really care about the community within the hostel.

Room Tip: Make sure that you let the hostel know if you are uncomfortable on a top bunk. Beds are not first co...
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cheyenne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (426)
There are newer reviews for Hostelling International Toronto
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

206 - 212 of 426 reviews

Reviewed March 5, 2013

Night of Feb. 28-Mar. 1: I've stayed at many hostels besides some high end hotels.

The HI-Toronto Hostel is a very clean, well maintained hostel in an older building.

The hostel is slowly renovating all aspects of its facilities. When I stayed there (Feb.-Mar. 2013) the elevator had been completely removed and the hostel was awaiting the a new elevator. This necessitated climbing stairs. For a 70 year old guy like me I puffed a lot less than many of the younger hostelers! Of course I do exercise a lot (9656 km./6000 mi. bicycling per year) and swim during the winter.

It was very enjoyable seeing encouraging statements on the stair risers going up to my 4th floor 4 bed room. For example, "The CN Tower has xxxxx stairs, walking up these stairs to the 9 floor y times equals climbing the CN Tower!"

The front desk staff was very pleasant, friendly, and helpful. Their directions to the Ontario Cycling Forum conference site on Queens Quay were perfect. I walked the two miles rather than take the bus, trolley, or subway. It's really wonderful walking in a large vibrant city like Toronto.

The Hostel's location is approximately one block outside the very heart of Toronto's business/financial district but not in funky area. Office buildings and residential apartment buildings surround the Hostel and from your window, if you face the patio, you can see the office workers in their cubicles. Some even wave back!

When I came back to the hostel at night (midnight) a middle aged man who looked like an office worker going home late after work did a double take at the hostelers in the front window and then looked up at the sign above the door, he smiled! Obviously he had stayed at a hostel sometime in his lifetime.

The 2-4 bathrooms on each floor have immaculately clean showers, toilets, and sinks. There is only one shower and one toilet per bathroom but each bathroom has at least 1 or 3 sinks.

The housekeeping staff is very helpful and graciously gave me a very large bath towel.

In this hostel you do have to make your own bed and strip the bedding at the end of your stay. You deposit the used bedding in a hallway "used bedding" barrel.

The lockers in the room are very small, my book bag (I travel light, usually on a touring folding bicycle) did not fit in the locker. There are much larger lockers (Big enough for a "Pullman suitcase + more.) near the kitchen and Cafe. As with all hostels you must bring your own lock.

The food in the Cave Cafe was superb. I had a chicken taco. Wheat taco shell (25 cm./10 in.) was perfectly heated on a griddle. It had just a touch of very very light brown crispiness and was filled but not overstuffed. The chicken filling was seasoned perfectly and of course the chicken was real chicken not processed chicken square pieces. Obviously the veggies, rice and beans in the chicken filling were not mushy but firm and very tasty. The salad accompanying the burrito had lots of fresh spinach, romaine lettuce, tomato, and pepper. The salad dressing was perfect and tasted home made.

This hostel has some guests who are recent arrivals to Canada and stay for a 2 or 3 weeks while looking for jobs and housing. Everyone, as with most hostels, was friendly.

Hostelling is not for everyone. The main problem for many people, my age and much younger, is sharing a room with 1 to 9 strangers. I have no difficulty sharing a room and have always found everyone respects each others privacy and space.

Room Tip: Room facing the patio is nice with lots of light; A front room faces Church St. & the Anglican...
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Harvey B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2013

The hostel is a really fun place! The planned activities are really cool. Even if you don't participate in them, its nice to see that HI wants you to enjoy your stay. It has a great atmosphere with the colors, bar downstairs, and people from all around the world. It was my first time in a hostel, and I was very impressed by the cleanliness and overall experience. It is a decent location. Everything is within walking distance, but popular nightlife places are a bit too far away to walk to at night.

Room Tip: I stayed in a 10 person room and had no problems. Its the best value.
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Isabel W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2013

HI Toronto is a great place to meet people and to have a good moment. They organize daily activities, common rooms are colorful and awesome, bedrooms are generally nice. Well placed in Toronto, near 2 subway stations and a few buses.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JFRakster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2013

I have never stayed in a hostel before, so I didn't know what to expect. I'm 40ish, so of course I was the oldest person in the building that I could see. I was just in town one night for a sports event, and just needed a place to lay my head for a few hours before heading home. Given the same type of circumstance I would stay again. Very friendly staff, and even the patrons were friendly to an old man,

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DDT411
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2013

It was -25 ish outside, but the AC in the room kept blowing cold air about every 10 mins.
And the key card did not work when I tried to open the room door. Same thing happened to one of my roommates, so there might be sth wrong with the system.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Saya B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2013

I so enjoyed the place, Toronto is amazing, the HI hostel is really lovely for backpackers and the staff are awesome. The hostel offers lots of attractions and adventures, The front desk girls are so sweet and actually I remember I met one front desk girl, Elisabeth, she was always there for me, and I hope she is still there for you ;-)
I'm so grateful and I will definitely visit again
Liad, Israel.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Liad_Shark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Toronto hotels
Downtown
The Omni King Edward Hotel
Downtown
Holiday Inn Express Toronto Downtown
Downtown
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Toronto Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown West
The Adelaide Hotel, Toronto
Downtown
Novotel Toronto Centre
Novotel Toronto Centre
#46 of 137 in Toronto
2,164 reviews
Downtown
Cambridge Suites Toronto
Cambridge Suites Toronto
#34 of 137 in Toronto
1,819 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostelling International Toronto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostelling International Toronto

Address: 76 Church St, Toronto, Ontario M5C 2G1, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Toronto > Downtown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 104 Specialty Lodging in Toronto
Price Range: $28 - $146 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Hostelling International Toronto 1.5*
Number of rooms: 154
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of downtown Toronto, HI-Toronto is steps away from local attractions like the Hockey Hall of Fame, CN Tower, Air Canada Centre, Rogers Centre and Distillery District, and just minutes away from major shopping districts like the Eaton Centre and Queen West. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hostelling International Toronto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostelling International Toronto Hotel Toronto

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing