We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Italian restaurant”
Review of Bestellen

Bestellen
Ranked #1,065 of 8,516 Restaurants in Toronto
Price range: $31 - $50
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: Downtown
Cross street: Dovercourt
Transit: Just east at College and Dovercourt
Toronto
Level Contributor
88 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Great Italian restaurant”
Reviewed April 18, 2013

Superbly done Italian home-cooking. Intimate atmosphere. Good service. We go back often. Comfort in the food and in the place itself.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank rick525
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    43
    26
    8
    9
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
165 reviews
97 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Bring 7 of your closest friends and ....”
Reviewed March 25, 2013

add a suckling pig !!

We recently did the roasted suckling pig menu and it was fantastic. You need 8 people, but they take care of everything else (except wine). The food is excellent and plentiful from appetizer through to the dessert with the pig being the star. As the pig is the star, they bring it out "as is" for photo opportunities before they carve it up. For 8 people there is more than enough food to go round and left overs to take home. The sides of cauliflower, potatoes, beets are very complementary.
We had a great time and the food exceeded our expectations and we thought the price for the experience was fair ... next we may go back for the duck !!

The one thing that you need to watch is the wine price which can be, but doesn't have to be, expensive. Don't drink by the glass and do a bit of research first as there is good selection at lower price points.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank soapdodger73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
44 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem”
Reviewed March 14, 2013

Tucked away on the western verges of the College Street dining strip is Bestellen.
I have eaten here a number of times and the food is excellent! Virtually everything is prepared in house right down to the ketchup. The bread and roles as well as all of the pastries and deserts. Now lets get to the meat. All aged on site. All the sausages are cured and then prepared on site.
Great wine list and in my view the best Sunday brunch. it has to be the best value for money.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank CanadianMoose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Best food ever”
Reviewed February 25, 2013 via mobile

We have been to Bestellen several times and have found the food to be excellent. For the price you get top quality food and the service is outstanding. Today we had the scones to die for, the pancakes where devoured by the grand kids, according to my son the buger is the best he has ever eaten and as a final treat the donuts where finger licking good. One the the best restaurant in Toronto. Keep it up Bestellen, your one of the best.

Helpful?
Thank Tony M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toronto
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“untrustworthy”
Reviewed February 17, 2013

I recently dined at bestellen with a few work colleagues. We spend a good amount of money. The next day i noticed on the bill we were overcharged multiple corkage charges. We called the restaurant to suggest a refund. The restaurant said they would call back... nothing.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
7 Thank billycomics
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bestellen also viewed

Toronto, Ontario
Toronto, Ontario
 

Been to Bestellen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing