We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Getaway Hotel - Highly Recommended”
Review of SoHo Metropolitan

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
SoHo Metropolitan
Ranked #8 of 138 Hotels in Toronto
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 1, 2007

This hotel was great from start to finish! We wanted a 2 day getaway in Toronto (to see a show and go to a spa) and this hotel didn't disappoint. I signed up for the iPrefer program for free online. This led to us being upgraded to a Luxury room upon check-in. The room was very big and had all the amenities you could ask for. We liked the "walk in closet" concept and the bathroom was HUGE. (complete with soaker tub and heated floor...very cool!)

The consierge was very helpful (Chris was his name) and gave us several good restaurant recommendations in the area. The Senses Bakery was very good (a little pricey but delicious food) and the Senses Bar was a great place to end the evening. (again, a bit pricey but the service was great!)

The location of the hotel was good. All major sites were within walking distance (Eaton Center=10 minutes, Theatre District=5 minutes, etc). The only slight inconvenience was that the closest subway stop was a few blocks away. Not usually a big deal but in the middle of winter in Toronto it's nice to stay indoors in the PATH system as much as possible). We needed a cab to get to our show and Chris the consierge got us the complimentary hotel limo...very nice touch!

Overall the location of the hotel, combined with the excellent service and posh surroundings made this a great place to stay. We got the internet rate which was only $50 a night more than staying at the Marriott or Sheraton (and the room was twice as big as something you would get at those places). We would not hesitate to stay here again for our next trip to Toronto!

  • Stayed: December 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
6  Thank Franchise35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (862)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

756 - 762 of 862 reviews

Reviewed December 18, 2006

Upon arrival, we were upgraded to a luxury room...great, right?
Just a higher floor, but small room. Your typical average minimalist wannabee W, minus the nice fluffy down pillows & cool furnishings.

Concierge service was nonexistent. Our 1st experience with her(the tall brunette,) the bell boy had to come over to give us directions. The 2nd experience, she was helping a guest on the phone...okay that is legitimate, so we waited till she was finished. Soon after, she not only failed to aknowledge that we were right infront of her, but she picked up another call, this time it was a her friend. As she started to tell the friend that she wasn't doing anything much, we got fed up & went over to the front desk for help. Maybe concierge service means something different in Canada.

Another annoyance, if you rent a car as we did for business, you can self park, but have to validate the ticket every day, otherwise you are denied exit from the property...they have to come up with a better system.

Now for the plus...the bathroom was beautiful, big & the heated floors were great. Cute hotel, but not for the price. Next time, the Cospomolitan as was originally recommended by client.

  • Stayed: November 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
6  Thank TravelNutsie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 13, 2006

We chose to stay at the Soho Met during our vacation to Toronto - my husband does not do high rise hotels and the Met was the perfect find. It did not disappoint!!

Admittedly more pricey than most of the rest, but in terms of luxury and location, you cannot beat it.

Our room was on the 3rd floor, and having previously seen a review about noise from outside, we can honestly say that there was very little noise that could be heard, and the bed was far too comfortable to worry about it anyway!! The view of the CN tower just rounded it all off nicely.

The staff were attentive, nothing too much trouble, and we would definitely go back.

Oh, and check out the bathrooms - to die for.

Didn't try the restaurant, as although highly recommended, it seemed a bit too stuffy, though we are sure it's great. The bar is very cool, though maybe a bit too sedate.

This hotel definitely has the wow factor - you will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed: December 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank TorMapleLeafs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 12, 2006

This is a fantastic hotel, the rooms are excellent, the staff friendly and helpful, the location great and the bathrooms amazing.

  • Stayed: November 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank 01Ams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 8, 2006

I can't say enough about the high quality of this hotel. My company's travel agency booked me here on a recent business trip. The rooms are huge, with luxurious bathroom and vast closet space. There is a comfortable couch facing the TV. The lighting in the rooms is excellent for work and reading. High-speed internet connection is free--perfect for the business traveler. An excellent healthy breakfast buffet is available in the cafe. Best of all, the staff is incredibly friendly and helpful. The concierge even followed me to the front door to wave good-bye and wish me a safe flight home!

  • Stayed: November 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank WillowG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2006

I booked this hotel based on reviews here, and we were very happy with our room. Stayed in a luxury room on the 4th floor and didn't notice any street noise. The front desk and concierge service was solid and friendly, no matter who was working. We didn't eat there as there was a Cora's across the street and we ate breakfast there. Try Jump down the street for dinner. It was a bit expensive but a very good choice, in a good location, and there always seemed to be taxis waiting outside. There was a drugstore nearby for necessities and water. The marble bathroom had a heated floor and we loved it. We will stay here again.

  • Stayed: November 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank Champagneandcupcakes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2006

My wife and I were married on October 1st and we wanted to stay at a nice hotel after the reception was over. We wanted to splurge on a nice hotel room for one night, so after intense researching we booked a night at the Soho. Well, we couldn't have made a better choice. We arrived at 1am and were greeted by friendly front desk staff who treated us with courtesy. The front desk gentleman upgraded us to a suite and gave us a late checkout. He also insisted on parking our rental car himself. As for the hotel room itself, we were given seasonal fruit and a complimentary bottle of champagne. The room was spectacular; it was well decorated, it had a plasma tv, a safe, writing desk and smart furniture. The bedroom very comfortable which made for a great night's sleep after such a busy day. The bathroom was beautiful. It had a large bath tub or a glass enclosed shower. It was wel lit and was covered in marble. We found the heated floors to be very nice, too.
Is the SoHo expensive? Yes, but it is definitely worth it. The staff is friendly and professional and will always greet you with a smile. We definitely recommend the SoHo and we would go there again.

  • Stayed: September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Tamsay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Toronto hotels
Downtown West
Delta Hotels by Marriott Toronto
Downtown West
Fairmont Royal York
Fairmont Royal York
#23 of 138 in Toronto
3,870 reviews
Downtown
The Omni King Edward Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown West
The Adelaide Hotel, Toronto
Downtown West
Shangri-La Hotel Toronto
Downtown West
Hotel Le Germain Maple Leaf Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SoHo Metropolitan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SoHo Metropolitan

Address: 318 Wellington St W, Toronto, Ontario M5V 3T4, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Toronto > Downtown West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Toronto
#9 Romantic Hotel in Toronto
#16 Business Hotel in Toronto
Price Range: $244 - $423 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — SoHo Metropolitan 4*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The SoHo Metropolitan Hotel is simply Toronto's finest, whether you call it a luxury, boutique or design hotel. At once supremely indulgent and artfully subdued, the hotel affectionately dubbed "SoHo Met" is a vibrant scene unto itself. From inspired culinary creations and rejuvenating spa treatments to advanced in-room technologies and innovative business services, a limitless range of sophisticated pleasures awaits you. Whether you are staying for just a weekend or weeks on end, you will quickly realize that one does more than stay at the SoHo Met ... one lives it. The moment you set foot upon the marble floors of the SoHo Metropolitan Hotel in Toronto, you enter a world of exquisite delights and unparalleled convenience, where the hotel's commitment to service and personal attention exceed all expectations. The three story, loft-style penthouse suite and 92 oversized, luxurious guestrooms and suites represent the very epitome of SoHo Metropolitan style. European natural down duvets and triple Italian bed linens grace the luxurious king-size beds. When it's time to say good night, use the smart technology to adjust lighting, motorized draperies and do-not-disturb light. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Preferred Hotels, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your SoHo Metropolitan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Soho Metropolitan Toronto
Soho Metropolitan Hotel Toronto

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing