We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Boutique Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of SoHo Metropolitan

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
SoHo Metropolitan
Ranked #26 of 137 Hotels in Toronto
Certificate of Excellence
Edmonton
Level Contributor
61 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Fantastic Boutique Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2014

I've stayed in hotels all around the world and this is truly a great boutique hotel. The staff are friendly, well trained and intuitive. The rooms are beautiful, well maintained and kept clean. It is certainly worth spending the additional money to stay here when you consider what is available in the immediate area. I would certainly return and stay here if given the opportunity.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Imbatman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

567 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    368
    144
    25
    13
    17
See reviews for
36
268
25
153
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2014 via mobile

Unfortunately, that didn't happen. There is construction going on in the building and at 9am the drilling started. And it kept going for an hour!
$280 and I'm awakened by construction?!!!?
I told the front desk. Demetrie I think his name was. He said. "We have an agreement that they don't start until after 7am." If I knew this going in, I definitely would have spent my $$$ at a different hotel ...

Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Kylesmum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2014

Great place for a weekend getaway. The hotel is in a great location, walking distance to restaurants, movie theatres, etc. The room and bathroom were very clean and well decorated with modern furniture and amenities. There is a gym and an outdoor patio area as well as two restaurants on the ground floor. The property is really well maintained and staff very quick to assist.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravellingAT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
50 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2014

We recently had three nights at the Soho Metropolitan and cannot fault the hotel.
the location was great - a block away from the Rogers Centre for the Blue Jays games, and close to streetcar, trains and the famed Eaton Centre.

It was a great base for us to explore downtown, and from the moment our taxi pulled up outside the hotel the staff couldn't do enough for us. First class customer service all the way.

The room was great. Oversized bedroom with King bed and electronic blinds, but it was the bathroom that won me over. Huge bath, separate shower, Molton Brown toiletries and HEATED FLOORS!

We stayed in seven hotels on our holiday and this was by far the best. I'd highly recommend this on all fronts.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cakeybees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camas, Washington
Level Contributor
262 reviews
113 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 927 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2014

Was looking forward to staying at this property based on the good reviews here. I also liked the price point so booked a three night stay. The building appears to be mostly condos or residences as only the first four floors are the hotel. My room looked directly onto a parking lot. The room had low ceilings and the shower is a tight squeeze for anyone over 6ft tall. The gym is small and you have to "reserve" the cardio equipment. If you want to have a meeting, the lobby is tiny and after 4 pm your only other option is a loud bar as the coffee shop closes. There were a host of minor issues like getting a wake up call we didn't request and the heating and cooling equipment didn't work properly. On the last night, we couldn't get the temp below 78. When we mentioned this at check out, the clerk comped a $13.99 movie. Hardly adequate and almost insulting. Housekeeping was high quality and the toiletries nice but I wished we had stayed elsewhere. If you are the least bit health conscious, avoid the "Luckee" restaurant, which I have reviewed separately.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MonkeyGreen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield
Level Contributor
29 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2014

An excellent hotel centrally situated for all Toronto has to offer. The staff were superb - welcoming, efficient and attentive. The rooms are large, modern and spotless. We were so glad we chose this hotel over the large chain hotels. We would certainly stay here again and would definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SheffieldM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
70 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2014

my husband and I spent one night at this hotel recently. We usually stay at another hotel close by but decided to try Soho Metropolitan. We were not disappointed! as it is on a busy street in Toronto we opted for the valet parking - pricey but worth it. we were quickly checked in and were pleasantly surprised by the spaciousness, layout and design of our room. the dressing area and bathrooms were lovely with beautiful built in cabinets. the room was immaculately clean and tidy - very noticeable. the toiletries were also great - high quality which is what you would expect at a hotel of this caliber. the bedroom had a great layout and different from the usual bed against the side wall. we really liked the atmosphere and aesthetics of the entire hotel. Breakfast was very nice and the restaurant was sunny and inviting. service was very professional and welcoming. definitely warrants a return visit - or two!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CWiebe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Toronto hotels
Downtown West
Hotel Le Germain Toronto
Hotel Le Germain Toronto
#10 of 137 in Toronto
4.5 of 5 stars 783 reviews
Downtown West
Hotel Le Germain Maple Leaf Square
Downtown West
Residence Inn Toronto Downtown/Entertainment District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown West
Thompson Toronto - A Thompson Hotel
Downtown West
InterContinental Toronto Centre
Downtown West
Hyatt Regency Toronto
Hyatt Regency Toronto
#31 of 137 in Toronto
4.0 of 5 stars 1,729 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SoHo Metropolitan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SoHo Metropolitan

Property: SoHo Metropolitan
Address: 318 Wellington St W, Toronto, Ontario M5V 3T4, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Toronto > Downtown West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in Toronto
#16 Business Hotel in Toronto
#18 Luxury Hotel in Toronto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — SoHo Metropolitan 4*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The SoHo Metropolitan Hotel is simply Toronto's finest, whether you call it a luxury, boutique or design hotel. At once supremely indulgent and artfully subdued, the hotel affectionately dubbed "SoHo Met" is a vibrant scene unto itself. From inspired culinary creations and rejuvenating spa treatments to advanced in-room technologies and innovative business services, a limitless range of sophisticated pleasures awaits you. Whether you are staying for just a weekend or weeks on end, you will quickly realize that one does more than stay at the SoHo Met ... one lives it. The moment you set foot upon the marble floors of the SoHo Metropolitan Hotel in Toronto, you enter a world of exquisite delights and unparalleled convenience, where the hotel's commitment to service and personal attention exceed all expectations. The three story, loft-style penthouse suite and 92 oversized, luxurious guestrooms and suites represent the very epitome of SoHo Metropolitan style. European natural down duvets and triple Italian bed linens grace the luxurious king-size beds. When it's time to say good night, use the smart technology to adjust lighting, motorized draperies and do-not-disturb light. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon, Odigeo, Cheap Tickets and Jetsetter so you can book your SoHo Metropolitan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Soho Metropolitan Toronto
Soho Metropolitan Hotel Toronto

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing