We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing!!!”
Review of SoHo Metropolitan

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
SoHo Metropolitan
Ranked #10 of 136 Hotels in Toronto
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Amazing!!!”
Reviewed October 14, 2013

We stayed here for 1 night because we're attending a wedding in Toronto. What a beautiful hotel! The staff is friendly, the hotel very classy and the room was fantastic! So luxurious!, comfortable king size bed, big flat screen tv but my favorite was the amazing bathroom!!! All marble, big soaker tub, with a separate shower, heated floors, big fluffy towels. When we returned from our night out, we entered our room and were greater by the clock radio playing soft classical music, a bottle of water on each side of the bed, a card with the weather for the next day and more fresh towels!! It was such a nice surprise we felt very pampered!
The hotel is quiet, we slept peacefully!!
We would recommend The Soho to anyone looking for a beautiful hotel in Toronto! Plus it's walking distance to many good restaurants and the Rogers centre!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vera D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

717 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    480
    172
    32
    13
    20
See reviews for
47
325
36
204
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2013

Pros: good location, near to trendy king west and some nice restaurants (Weslodge/Patria) Also near enough to downtown.
The concierge was helpful and cheerful, and did an excellent job booking a dinner for a group of 12. The maids were pleasant and did a good job cleaning.
Cons: first room had a musty smell and a wet patch of carpet - either from resolving water damage or from a new leak - no one seemed to know why. The bottom line was that no other room was immediately available so my wife and I spent one night in the musty room (trip down memory lane - something like the old basement apartment smell of my uni days). The next day we were swapped to the ash-tray themed room for our remaining two nights.
There was no follow up regarding the room change, and there was no apology made to us for having to spend the initial night in the musty environment. The rooms themselves are OK, although not overly impressive in any particular way.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Terland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tamworth, staffs
Level 6 Contributor
43 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2013

We arrived at the SOHO Metropolitan, Downtown Toronto on the final leg of our holiday.

Arriving at the SOHO Metropolitan the first thing you notice is that the hotels exterior has a modern look and feel to it.

The same can be said when you enter the hotels impressive lobby. When you go through the revolving doors there's a lounge area to the left and a large dining area to the right.

The reception desk is directly in the middle of the lobby with a concierge desk just to the left.

Check in was very quick and the staff were professional, polite and friendly throughout, within 5 minutes we were handed our room key and heading towards the elevator to our room.

When you enter the suites they are reasonably large in size with a comfortable king size bed, a desk and brand new LCD TV which had just been installed that day. The Freeview channels however were limited.

There are bedside cabinets either side of the bed with a cordless telephone, 2 lamps and a docking station alarm clock.

Just off the hallway entrance is an alcove with complimentary tea/coffee making facilities and a mini bar. Complimentary bottles of water are left each evening which I thought was a nice touch.

Now, the bathroom..... This is where most if not all your money goes towards and it has to be seen to be believed, the bathroom is beautifully tiled from floor to ceiling with heated floor tiles, a double walk in shower with two shower heads and a deep bath which is just luxury. There are also free complimentary Molton Brown toiletries in both the shower and in the his and hers basin area as well. Class!

The hotels facilities include a fitness centre, a medium sized swimming pool and a Jacuzzi, there is however no pool attendant, so if you have children you can't leave them unsupervised.

The hotel bar is modern and busy in the evening, we didn’t have a drink in there so unsure how much drinks cost. The same can be said for the dining area; although the menu did look varied and reasonably priced.

On the whole the SOHO Metropolitan is a spotlessly clean and modern boutique hotel. The staff were helpful and knowledgeable of both the hotel and the surrounding area. The hotel however is situated in the centre of the financial district of downtown Toronto and is a good 20 minute walk to Yonge and Dundas St (where it all happens) and a 15 minute walk to the harbour. The Rodgers Stadium and the CN Tower however is only a few minutes walk from the hotel so conveniently situated if you are planning on visiting these attractions.

On the whole, you can’t go wrong by staying at the SOHO Metropolitan.

Tip. There is an amazing pizzeria just over the road from the hotel called the Pizza Rustica which does amazing pizzas at a very reasonable price. There is also a few bars nearby but they all closed early (around 11pm).

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank surfyboy1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, MB
Level 6 Contributor
172 reviews
125 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2013

I have stayed at this hotel before - and will again - in part because of a recent experience there.

We met our son at the Senses bar for a drink before dinner (us) and a concert (him). We told the server that we were in a bit of a rush and asked if she could tell the kitchen that; my husband was starving and wanted to have a bite of something with his wine and my son needed to eat before the concert.

Thirty minutes later - we were finished our drinks and no sign of the food (a cheese plate and flat bread). I told the server that we would have to cancel the order as we had to leave. She was apologetic and went to talk to the manager. At that same moment the food came out but we really didn't have time to stay and eat. The manager offered to pack up the food for us and suggested we take it anyway as she was going to throw it away. She was appropriately apologetic and took it off our bill. I had no problem paying for the drinks. Off we went - my son ate the flatbread as we walked and he was looking for someone in need to give the rest of the food to. When we got back to our room after our dinner, there was an envelope under the door with a note from the manager and gift cards to use for breakfast or a subsequent visit to the bar.

Alexandera is the manager's name - you did this right!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travellingnurse50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here for two days while in town on business. I was really surprised by the size and great lighting of the king sized suite. There was so much room for clothing and baggage, and all in a little anteroom off from the bathroom.
What I liked: heated floors in bathroom, excellent lighting everywhere, switches for everything beside the bed (including one to open the drapes), really comfortable bed with high quality linens and long pillows, comfy armchair for watching tv, relaxed homey decor with one giant painting that was really nice.

I guess I liked everything. But as a tea drinker the keurig machine made everything taste like flavoured coffee.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank rainyday3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2013

We have enjoyed our multiple stays at the Soho Met in Toronto for a lovely urban getaway. The large windows and comfortable furnishings are enhanced by the amazing bathrooms with separate rain shower and soaker tub and floor heating. The Molton Brown toiletries are heavenly!
The seperate luggage and dressing area makes the room less cluttered looking for travellers.
The deluxe bedding and comfy pillows make the beds splendid for sleeping in and the warm giant bathrobe and slippers are just a plus. Each room has climate control and windows that open. Although the views were not great, we thoroughly enjoyed the amenities.
The staff at Soho Met made our experiences there superb and are responsible for our return visits! The manager, the front desk, room service, housekeeping and concierges were all helpful and welcoming.We were upgraded to a suite!
As a lesbian couple we felt welcome and valued by the staff and management at the Soho Met.
The Senses restaurant had good coffee and sweet potato fries but room service here is a true extravagance!
We would not hesitate to recommend this luxury hotel to anyone looking to enjoy a real treat!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank viajeradelmar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toronto
Level 6 Contributor
38 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2013

We had a function downtown and decided to treat ourselves by staying over after. The room was perfect, the bathroom and dressing room the main feature. Turndown service at night and remote controlled blinds, huge tv made for a perfect stay. Our only complaint was we didn't have enough time in the room to enjoy it all.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank wanni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Toronto hotels
Downtown
The Omni King Edward Hotel
Downtown West
Delta Hotels by Marriott Toronto
Downtown West
Trump International Hotel & Tower Toronto
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown West
Le Germain Hotel Toronto Mercer
Downtown West
Fairmont Royal York
Fairmont Royal York
#20 of 136 in Toronto
3,125 reviews
Downtown West
Residence Inn Toronto Downtown/Entertainment District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SoHo Metropolitan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SoHo Metropolitan

Property: SoHo Metropolitan
Address: 318 Wellington St W, Toronto, Ontario M5V 3T4, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Toronto > Downtown West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in Toronto
#9 Luxury Hotel in Toronto
#16 Business Hotel in Toronto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — SoHo Metropolitan 4*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The SoHo Metropolitan Hotel is simply Toronto's finest, whether you call it a luxury, boutique or design hotel. At once supremely indulgent and artfully subdued, the hotel affectionately dubbed "SoHo Met" is a vibrant scene unto itself. From inspired culinary creations and rejuvenating spa treatments to advanced in-room technologies and innovative business services, a limitless range of sophisticated pleasures awaits you. Whether you are staying for just a weekend or weeks on end, you will quickly realize that one does more than stay at the SoHo Met ... one lives it. The moment you set foot upon the marble floors of the SoHo Metropolitan Hotel in Toronto, you enter a world of exquisite delights and unparalleled convenience, where the hotel's commitment to service and personal attention exceed all expectations. The three story, loft-style penthouse suite and 92 oversized, luxurious guestrooms and suites represent the very epitome of SoHo Metropolitan style. European natural down duvets and triple Italian bed linens grace the luxurious king-size beds. When it's time to say good night, use the smart technology to adjust lighting, motorized draperies and do-not-disturb light. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Preferred Hotels, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your SoHo Metropolitan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Soho Metropolitan Toronto
Soho Metropolitan Hotel Toronto

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing