We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gorgeous, Comfortable Rooms and Great Service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of SoHo Metropolitan

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
SoHo Metropolitan
Ranked #24 of 137 Hotels in Toronto
Certificate of Excellence
ny
Level Contributor
38 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Gorgeous, Comfortable Rooms and Great Service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

Stayed briefly here on a business trip overnight, but still enough time to appreciate that this is a superior spot. The rooms are large, like a studio apartment with separate dressing area, closets and bathroom set up. Very high end and attractive. Would like to spend more time in their washroom, just for the roominess and nice products (Molton Brown). Excellent pressure from oversized showerhead ..v luxurious. Front desk service also highly professional - setting up anything you need is a snap - such a pleasure not to have to answer a million questions to get something done! I'll be back for a longer stay.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nyme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

567 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    368
    144
    25
    13
    17
See reviews for
36
268
25
153
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
41 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

My boyfriend and I planned our trip to Toronto for the long weekend this past weekend. I am always looking a planning trips so chose Toronto for the cheap airfare and was looking for a reasonable accommodation. I found a great deal on an auction website I use so was able to book a room at the SoHo Met.
The building itself is very welcoming and modern looking. The staff are all extremely friendly and helpful! We arrived late Friday night and were informed they had upgraded our room and helped recommend some places that were still open down the street to grab a bite and some drinks. Keep in mind these are also Condo's so if you're looking for a grand lobby entrance head over to the Hyatt. Personally I like the smaller hotels as they tend to have a warmer feel.
Our room was very simple but had all the latest technologies. Flat screen tv, ipod dock, FREE wi-fi, heated floors in a huge bathroom, free breakfast, and 24 hr room service!
The location of the hotel is really great! We were a block away from King St which has a lot of bars and restaurants and seems to be somewhat of the main strip. Also the CN tower is a few blocks away and you have a great view of the tower at night.
The hotel has a bar which appeared to be a happening spot but I never went in to have a drink there is also a restaurant which we also didn't indulge in.
The parking is a little pricey underground but it was so cold we weren't about to deal with finding a parking spot. There is also a lot across the street but I am not sure what the price is or if you need to move after 24 hrs.
I would definitely stay at the SoHo again if I am ever in Toronto!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Leslie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013 via mobile

Spent Family Day in Toronto visiting our kids who both attend U of T. We stopped at the hotel's Sen5ses Cafe for dessert after lunch and shopping. This is usually a great way to explore a hotel before booking a future stay. What a disappointment! Each of our placemats was visibly dirty; stuck on food, crumbs and dried spills. The table was sticky and streaky. Our tea was served in a mug; no teapot!!! Just four mugs of warm water with a tea bag floating in them and the string hanging down the side.(Very American!) I had to ask for a dish to dispose our tea bags once the tea was "steeped"! There were no choices regarding cream, milk, lemon or honey. My son ordered a chocolate mousse dessert which I am sure came from M&M frozen foods. Although the prices were very good, I would have preferred an experience on par with the Four Seasons. With all the hype about this hotel, I assumed it would have been comparable. However, I would not risk wasting a night's stay here based on this brief exposure. Too bad....

Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank Lilly D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

Stayed for two nights at this hotel. Room was huge and amazing one of the nicest rooms i have ever stayed in - lovely molten brown toilteries too! Normally I do not really comment onhotel staff as they are normally all on the same kind of level but not at this hotel - they were fantastic - concierge could not be more helpful on several occassions and doorman and belldesk too - 6* service! Great location to explore Toronto. Cannot say enough good things about htis hotel.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank UkCarly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
Level Contributor
74 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

Stayed here as an impromptu 'stay-cation'. The rooms were nice and well appointed, but I think it's time for a little polishing. They seemed a bit worn for the price being paid. The huge strength of this hotel is the exceptional service offered from the staff. Huge plus!

Bed was comfortable. Lovely bathroom (enjoyed the seperate tub/shower). Ordered room service in the morning and it was good. The pancakes were just slightly warm and that was disappointing.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank netgeek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
King of Prussia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
56 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013 via mobile

My spouse and I stayed at this wonderful hotel when we were in Toronto to get married. The staff was beyond exceptional and the attention to our needs was met with efficiency and class. Rhonda, the concierge was fabulous and our baby (a dachshund named Flygirl) even had her own butler. The bed was the most comfortable we've ever encountered. I even contacted the hotel when we returned home to inquire about purchasing one for our home. I can not say enough about the Soho Met. Definitely the only place we will ever stay when in Toronto.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrea N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barrie, Canada
Level Contributor
51 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

Elegant and understated. Excellent service from the doorman to the front desk to the bellhop. Rooms small but nicely appointed. Recommend junior suites. If frequent guest, they will upgrade you. As a regular for business, once I was given a VIP suite. Very swish! Hemispheres restaurant excellent for continental cuisine. So is La Wah Heen Asian restaurant. Underground valet parking available. Located close to subway and shopping as well as University Ave. courthouse.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank J K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Toronto hotels
Downtown West
Hotel Le Germain Toronto
Hotel Le Germain Toronto
#10 of 137 in Toronto
4.5 of 5 stars 783 reviews
Downtown West
Hotel Le Germain Maple Leaf Square
Downtown West
Residence Inn Toronto Downtown/Entertainment District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown West
Thompson Toronto - A Thompson Hotel
Downtown West
InterContinental Toronto Centre
Downtown West
Hyatt Regency Toronto
Hyatt Regency Toronto
#31 of 137 in Toronto
4.0 of 5 stars 1,725 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SoHo Metropolitan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SoHo Metropolitan

Property: SoHo Metropolitan
Address: 318 Wellington Street West, Toronto, Ontario M5V3T4, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Toronto > Downtown West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in Toronto
#16 Business Hotel in Toronto
#17 Luxury Hotel in Toronto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — SoHo Metropolitan 4*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The SoHo Metropolitan Hotel is simply Toronto's finest, whether you call it a luxury, boutique or design hotel. At once supremely indulgent and artfully subdued, the hotel affectionately dubbed "SoHo Met" is a vibrant scene unto itself. From inspired culinary creations and rejuvenating spa treatments to advanced in-room technologies and innovative business services, a limitless range of sophisticated pleasures awaits you. Whether you are staying for just a weekend or weeks on end, you will quickly realize that one does more than stay at the SoHo Met ... one lives it. The moment you set foot upon the marble floors of the SoHo Metropolitan Hotel in Toronto, you enter a world of exquisite delights and unparalleled convenience, where the hotel's commitment to service and personal attention exceed all expectations. The three story, loft-style penthouse suite and 92 oversized, luxurious guestrooms and suites represent the very epitome of SoHo Metropolitan style. European natural down duvets and triple Italian bed linens grace the luxurious king-size beds. When it's time to say good night, use the smart technology to adjust lighting, motorized draperies and do-not-disturb light. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Odigeo, Travelocity, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and Jetsetter so you can book your SoHo Metropolitan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Soho Metropolitan Toronto
Soho Metropolitan Hotel Toronto

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing