We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Great stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of SoHo Metropolitan

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
SoHo Metropolitan
Ranked #23 of 135 Hotels in Toronto
Certificate of Excellence
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
367 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
“Great stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

While the hotel is aside from the business district, it's an oasis. What a boutique hotel should be. I was upgraded to a suite as my room was not ready when I arrived mid-morning.
Very cozy decor, large bathroom with a shower, a tub. The heated floor was very much appreciated on a cold and windy day in Toronto.
Very comfortable bed with Frette linen.
Morning breakfast buffet is very good with omelette done a la minute, superior dim-sums and French pastries. The coffee could be stronger.
I'll be back.
The staff at the front desk oriental lady and gentleman) were fantastic.

Room Tip: there is only three floors but try getting a room in the back. Very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Guillaumeleconqueran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

591 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    384
    148
    29
    13
    17
See reviews for
37
279
28
158
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
29 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

I stayed at the Soho Metropolitain Toronto for 2 nights in November 2012.
In close proximity to the business district, the bar district and to Major sights, this boutique hotel is a perfect location for exploring Toronto during the Day or at night.

The accomodations are wonderful and spacious with comfortable beds and impeccable rooms. BUt, you will fall in love with the bathroom facilities....beautiful deep tubs, lots of closet space, glass encosed showers....fantastic!

The service staff were very professional and quite helpful and always had a smile.

The only issue that I had was that upon arrival at 3pm the room wasn't ready.

I would definitely stay in this hotel again and again!!!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rftomie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterloo, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

We have stayed at the Soho Metropolitan a number of times and have always thought it was a first-rate place. When we are in Toronto and want to be in the west end of the central business district it is our preferred destination. Our last visit did not disappoint, from the moment we arrived to our departure. The service was excellent, without being ingratiating, the dinner and breakfast were first-rate, and our room (premium) was roomy and well appointed. A little touch was that my wife wanted ice and when I opened the ice-bucket I discovered the maid in the course of her nightly rounds had put ice in the bucket. We would have no hesitation in returning.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Waterloowoolie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

Stayed here in June 2012 for a few days the hotel is superb, breakfast and the facilities are brilliant. Whilst we stayed here there was a Canadian music award ceremony going on and in our hotel staying was Ed Sheeran, Flo Rida and many others. Would recommend the hotel it was fantastic.

Room Tip: Ask for a front room, we were also asked if we wanted to upgrade as we were checking in, we upgraded...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Johnlegend73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

I LOVED THIS HOTEL. The front staff was super friendly. I stayed in a very clean and modern one bedroom suite. I was surprised the bathroom had the option of heated floors. Keep in mind, I'm a very simple guy; I didn't realize the drapes were electronic until I found a friendly note on the side table in the living room instructing how to open them! The bed and pillow was comfortable. The location provided easy access to the CN tower, shopping district, and street car system. I was here on a business trip, so I wasn't able to use most of their services such as the breakfast buffet, fitness room, and the pool, which I usually like to use. I had a busy schedule while I was in Toronto. I would definitely stay here again when I return. Two thumbs up! Thanks SOHO.

Room Tip: In the one bedroom suite, the drapes are electronic. There is a switch in the living area to open/c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jimmy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

first stay in toronto and this hotel lived up to the reviews. very clean, excellent bathroom, attentive staff all at an affordable price. not much more to ask for. I would definitely stay here again and would rec'd to friends and family. walk to CN Tower, Kho San Road, 2nd City Comedy.
Parking is easy. Just an overall pleasant experience that makes me want to return to Toronto.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tkbbwc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
40 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

We chose this hotel fairly randomly, mainly for its location. It turned out to be one of the best hotels we have ever stayed at. The rooms are large and well appointed, there is a decent sized fitness room and pool ( I usually had it to myself) and the bar has an expert cocktail team. Above all the staff are exceptional. They combine friendliness and efficiency in equal measure. The room service is outstanding. The breakfast is advertised at $22 , however, thus coffee shop will happily serve you your choice of filled muffin or granola with coffee for $9. The SoHo is very well placed for exploring Toronto. I would recommend it to anyone.

Room Tip: Overlooked Blue Jays; not the best view in the world! However, rooms with a view of the CN Tower are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lynne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Toronto hotels
Downtown West
Hotel Le Germain Toronto
Hotel Le Germain Toronto
#8 of 135 in Toronto
4.5 of 5 stars 808 reviews
Downtown West
Residence Inn Toronto Downtown/Entertainment District
Downtown West
Hotel Le Germain Maple Leaf Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown West
InterContinental Toronto Centre
Downtown West
Hyatt Regency Toronto
Hyatt Regency Toronto
#32 of 135 in Toronto
4.0 of 5 stars 1,879 reviews
Downtown West
Delta Hotels by Marriott Toronto
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SoHo Metropolitan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SoHo Metropolitan

Property: SoHo Metropolitan
Address: 318 Wellington St W, Toronto, Ontario M5V 3T4, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Toronto > Downtown West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in Toronto
#16 Business Hotel in Toronto
#17 Luxury Hotel in Toronto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — SoHo Metropolitan 4*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The SoHo Metropolitan Hotel is simply Toronto's finest, whether you call it a luxury, boutique or design hotel. At once supremely indulgent and artfully subdued, the hotel affectionately dubbed "SoHo Met" is a vibrant scene unto itself. From inspired culinary creations and rejuvenating spa treatments to advanced in-room technologies and innovative business services, a limitless range of sophisticated pleasures awaits you. Whether you are staying for just a weekend or weeks on end, you will quickly realize that one does more than stay at the SoHo Met ... one lives it. The moment you set foot upon the marble floors of the SoHo Metropolitan Hotel in Toronto, you enter a world of exquisite delights and unparalleled convenience, where the hotel's commitment to service and personal attention exceed all expectations. The three story, loft-style penthouse suite and 92 oversized, luxurious guestrooms and suites represent the very epitome of SoHo Metropolitan style. European natural down duvets and triple Italian bed linens grace the luxurious king-size beds. When it's time to say good night, use the smart technology to adjust lighting, motorized draperies and do-not-disturb light. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your SoHo Metropolitan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Soho Metropolitan Toronto
Soho Metropolitan Hotel Toronto

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing