We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great night at a fab hotel!”
Review of SoHo Metropolitan

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
SoHo Metropolitan
Ranked #9 of 137 Hotels in Toronto
Certificate of Excellence
Derby, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great night at a fab hotel!”
Reviewed October 18, 2012

1 of the best hotels I have stayed at! Location was great, walking distance from all the main attractions. Great breakfast place across the road – bonus! We were a little late to check in but the room was very spacious and luxurious. Service was perfect, staff was attentive, polite and extremely accommodating. We had a great night’s sleep – wish we had stayed for longer.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HapyD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

748 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    508
    175
    32
    13
    20
See reviews for
56
339
38
208
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Anchorage, Alaska
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2012

This was the worst hotel I have ever stayed at! When we got there, there was a guest already complaining and the manager was extremely rude to her. It took about 40 minutes for us to check in. Then he gave us a room that had not been cleaned yet! The beds were too low and not comfortable at all.
I will never stay at this hotel again!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank alex t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2012

We only had one night at the SoHo Metrolpolitan but loved our spacious room, enormous bathroom with heated floor, very friendly & helpful staff (very efficient check in) and a great bar for drinks after the theatre. This is a small hotel very well located for The Princess Royal and some great restaurants - great food at La Fenice. Will stay again during the annual sojourn to Canada.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fred & Denny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2012

Note that all the opinions shared in my reviews are based on those of a 25 year old business man who loves to travel and dine. Also note that i will not provide any pictures with my reviews.
It is very difficult to take photographs that actually do the subject justice. *trust me, i have tried and you simply cannot take a picture that truly justifies a hotel room.*

Pros
Staff is friendly, and room service is quick.
The rooms are gorgeous. Wonderful modern bathroom with heated floors, bath tub, as well as an awesome glass window dual jet shower. The bathroom is attached to your own personal modern walking closet. Modern Bar/Lounge is always a good time. Location is prime, you are always walking distance or a 5$ cab ride away from the billy bishop airport, king street, car rental place, pharmacy, bars and restaurants.

Cons
Outdated televisions, bar/lounge closes at 1.

Overall

10/10

I stayed in a premier luxury room with a king bed for 199$ a night. Might be a tad expensive for the average customer but it was definitely worth it. This hotel is hands down a top tier hotel and very convenient.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Trinhception
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2012 via mobile

The hotel was excellent. The room is not large but well equipped and even has a window that opens. Great bathroom with heated floors, Etc. We had a drink in the bar and enjoyed the pool and hot tub. The staff were very helpful. The location is near the entertainment district and the Air Canada Centre. We will definitely return

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank yvonne475
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2012 via mobile

Room was excellent; spacious, clean, and modern. The bathroom was amazing, all marble with heated floors. The staff was very kind and helpful. We had dinner at Sen5es, expensive but the food was great and the portions were decent; nice to do once if you want a nice evening out. We saw a Jays game and could walk easily to the Rogers Centre. I wouldn't recommend breakfast however, very expensive and the service was really slow. I think there's a Cora's around the corner.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarolee8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newfoundland, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2012

We just checked out of this hotel after a two nights stay. The room was very nice, bed comfy, and the bathroom is amazing, "heated bathroom floors were awesome".
We were offered an upgrade for $40 to view the CN Tower; personally wouldn't do it again, reason being you would just have a normal room facing the back of the hotel and the road noise would be less. The location is perfect for a Blue Jays game, there is a Starbucks and other various fast food places in the area. We ate at the Conceirge recommended Italian Restaurant Tutti Matti...this was a very good recommendation by the conceirge. Charning restaurant, great food, good atmosphere and service, meal was about $125 for two...again it was worth it! Have the conceirge book a table for you! Overall a great stay, friendly staff, and a clean hotel. When we return to Toronto we will easily stay here again.

Room Tip: choose the 4th floor, hotel only has 4 floors as there are residences on the higher floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ontherock3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Toronto hotels
Downtown West
Delta Hotels by Marriott Toronto
Downtown
The Omni King Edward Hotel
Downtown West
Fairmont Royal York
Fairmont Royal York
#20 of 137 in Toronto
3,237 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown West
Hotel Le Germain Maple Leaf Square
Downtown West
Le Germain Hotel Toronto Mercer
Downtown West
Residence Inn Toronto Downtown/Entertainment District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SoHo Metropolitan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SoHo Metropolitan

Property: SoHo Metropolitan
Address: 318 Wellington St W, Toronto, Ontario M5V 3T4, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Toronto > Downtown West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Toronto
#9 Romantic Hotel in Toronto
#16 Business Hotel in Toronto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — SoHo Metropolitan 4*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The SoHo Metropolitan Hotel is simply Toronto's finest, whether you call it a luxury, boutique or design hotel. At once supremely indulgent and artfully subdued, the hotel affectionately dubbed "SoHo Met" is a vibrant scene unto itself. From inspired culinary creations and rejuvenating spa treatments to advanced in-room technologies and innovative business services, a limitless range of sophisticated pleasures awaits you. Whether you are staying for just a weekend or weeks on end, you will quickly realize that one does more than stay at the SoHo Met ... one lives it. The moment you set foot upon the marble floors of the SoHo Metropolitan Hotel in Toronto, you enter a world of exquisite delights and unparalleled convenience, where the hotel's commitment to service and personal attention exceed all expectations. The three story, loft-style penthouse suite and 92 oversized, luxurious guestrooms and suites represent the very epitome of SoHo Metropolitan style. European natural down duvets and triple Italian bed linens grace the luxurious king-size beds. When it's time to say good night, use the smart technology to adjust lighting, motorized draperies and do-not-disturb light. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your SoHo Metropolitan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Soho Metropolitan Toronto
Soho Metropolitan Hotel Toronto

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing