We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wonderful experience”
Review of SoHo Metropolitan

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
SoHo Metropolitan
Ranked #10 of 136 Hotels in Toronto
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“wonderful experience”
Reviewed January 2, 2008

Wonderful hotel to stay in, excellent service, beautiful rooms, amazing bathrooms. Best to sign up to preferred hotel group then you get the best rate and are more likely to be upgraded to superior room like we did.

The front desk staff could not be more helpful. They found us a table on New Year's Eve for 6 of us at a very top Italian restaurant. The sen5es coffee shop did a lovely breakfast buffet, amazing granola yoghurt muesli. Delicious cakes and pastries. Would highly recommend and would have no hesitation about staying at this hotel again.

Stayed December 2007
Helpful?
2 Thank Alison297
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

713 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    476
    172
    32
    13
    20
See reviews for
47
322
35
204
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
california
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2007

I have stayed at the Metropolitan several times and this last one was probably the least satisfying. First off, i made the mistake of staying in a suite which is less desirable than their king rooms. It actually seems like less space and is considerably more money. Our room was overlooking the alley way which during the weekend is quiter but early Monday morning all the garbage trucks come to collect the weekend trash and is noisy to say the least.

The mini bar was not restocked. The bar added their own tip on top of mine, toilettries were not restocked either. All in all a nice place but certainly not worth the money and no much more than 3 star service.

Will try another hotel next trip to Toronto...

  • Liked — The heated floor in the bathroom
  • Disliked — Lack of attention to detail in service arena
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank calidragon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stourbridge, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2007

Stayed here for 8 nights here recently. A few issues with the room, but they were quickly ironed out by the manager after a quiet word - blown bulbs, housekeeping issues - nothing major, but in this price range defiantly worth mentioning.

The location is fine - not the best, it's on a busy intersection of roads right by the Rogers Centre, it gets very busy before and after events there, as well as Fri/Sat evenings.

Reception staff were attentive and efficient. The bar has a very Malmaison look about it - all dark browns and reds and candles etc.

We did not eat here in the evening (and neither should you - get out and sample the foodie heaven that is Toronto!) but we did have breakfast here on our first day, before we knew better. It was overpriced and not good value - maybe the chef had an off day, but the meals were just chucked on the plate, burnt eggs etc (breakfast tip - we also joined the queue outside Cora’s - but do not - it's another wasted effort, the breakfasts consist of things like Eggs Benedict with water melon and star fruit - just wrong!)

Nice gym - compact but lots of kit, also the pool is small but perfectly formed, and there's a big whirlpool bath right next to it.

I would consider staying here again - but would almost certainly check in at the suites down the road (as reviewed at #1 in the Toronto hotels review) - there is so much great food around that it's wicked not to buy some of the raw materials and cook it yourself).

Oh - there was a £500 difference for the same room when booked on Expedia instead of the hotel's website!

  • Liked — Funky bar
  • Disliked — A bit out of the way of downtown
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Lapchien
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manhattan, NY
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2007

In short, my favorite place to stay in Toronto given the combination of luxe rooms, good service and location

Pros:
- super, large bathrooms -- very luxurious, spacious and comfortable with great products (Molton Brown)
- luxe, minimalist rooms (the color palette is very neutral and there is no extra clutter, but the bed is very comfortable, the draper open by remote control, and the room is very well maintained)
- good service (not really up to Four Seasons standard, but tend to be very friendly and well-meaning)
- great gym (but closes much too early at 10:30)
- excellent food at the Senses bakery (too die for coffee and pastries)

Cons:
- most rooms lack a good view or great light as the hotel is on the low floors of a condo building
- not directly attached to Toronto's underground PATH system (it's a short walk to the PATH, but in winter you really appreciate the direct connection -- however, the hotels that are directly attached (Fairmont, Sheraton, Hilton aren't worth the benefit)

  • Liked — Heated bathroom floor
  • Disliked — View
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank clydethetraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, NY
Level 6 Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2007

Hotel was very nice. Very clean room and common area.
Modern decor, attractive, good amenities in the rooms.

Fitness center has good equipment, but was a little on the small side. We did not check out the pool.

Service was great. Every person we encountered that worked their was helpful and polite. Turndown service every night, provided fresh towels and bottled water on the night stand.

Problem: Our room #220 was located above the lobby. The first night we were in town, we were awakened at 2:30 am by people in the street outside the restaurant entrance. They were waiting for a taxi, were inebriated and very loud.

The second night we were awakened by drunks at 4:30 am.
For over $300 a night, it is unexcusable that a hotel would rent us a room basically on top of the taxi stand. It is really too bad, because this could have been a great trip.

If you stay there make sure you are on an upper floor, away from the lobby entrance.

Stayed August 2006
Helpful?
6 Thank SC_Bflo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dmpls79
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2007

Went to Toronto for 4 nights but only stayed here at the SOHO Metropolitan for 2 and stayed at the Pantages for the other 2 nights. SOHO costed twice as much and to me was much more well worth it than Pantages. Stayed in the luxury Rooms, exactly like the pictures, rooms super cleans, beautiful bathroom, and ALL the staff were wonderful, fast checkin/checkout. When doorman was there and not helping anyone else, they opened the door for us and greeted us each time. The first day we arrived after bringing the luggage to our room, we decided to walk to CN towers (2-3 blocks away) , and it was raining a little bit and had forgotten the umbrella in the car. As we were walking out of the elevator the doorman noticed us heading outside and he rushed to grab an umbrella for us and opened the door for us. We never even had to ASK for an umbrella. Bottled water and ice everynight for turndown service. Best experience ever, will definitely stay again.

Stayed August 2007
Helpful?
3 Thank dmpls79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California Bay Area
Level 5 Contributor
43 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2007

We stayed here for 2 nights in July, 2007. The best rate I could find was on the hotel's website. We arrived on the VIA railway from Montreal, and walked the 5 or 6 blocks to the hotel. It's on the edge of downtown, but only a few short blocks to the CN tower which is next door to the Rogers Center. Toronto is a very easy city to enjoy on foot, and the transit system is terrific.

We checked in at 3 p.m. and to our delight found we had been upgraded from a deluxe king room to a "luxury" king room--the difference being we now had a dressing area and a soaking tub. Our room, 302, was spacious and tastefully furnished, sleek and modern, and looked out over the courtyard. The king bed was deliciously comfortable, but the pillows were quite firm. However you can request whatever pillows you prefer through the concierge ( we didn't bother). There was lots of storage in the dressing area and in the marble clad bathroom. Plush bathrobes, towels and linens were provided as well as Molton Brown toiletries. There are switches at bedside that control room lights, bathroom lights, the curtains, and you can control the do not disturb/housekeeping requests from there, too. The heated floor in the bathroom has its own switch if you don't want it in the summer. There are 2 phones in the room and one in the bathroom, where there is also a speaker with volume control so you can hear what's on the TV in the bedroom. They've really thought of everything, and I felt the price we paid was an excellent value for what we got, especially with the upgrade. The staff was very polished, and the concierge got instant results when I requested a coveted table at nearby Canoe restaurant.

There is a highly rated restaurant at the hotel (closed the Monday night we arrived) and Sen5es (sic) cafe off the lobby provides a *gourmet* breakfast buffet (about $23 per person) that we enjoyed once. It included hot dishes, smoked salmon, fresh fruit, some remarkably good dim sum (!), granola parfaits, and pastries from their bakery where you can also purchase decadent desserts and confections.

We were treated to turn down service each night, and we never heard our neighbors. When the curtains are drawn, they effectively block out daylight. The wet bar is fully (and expensively) stocked, but they provide bottled water gratis with the evening visit. We walked everywhere from here. It was mostly a sports pilgrimage for my husband to visit the hockey hall of fame and the Rogers Center which were presented in such a way as to hold my interest as well. Though the Soho is on the edge of downtown, it's very pleasant to be a short walk away from the very busy tourist scene. We had an excellent breakfast at Cora's which resides on the corner diagonal from the Soho; there is a convenience market directly across the street for Maple Cream cookie cravings, and a large pharmacy at the end of the block for other sundries. It was a supremely serene and modern setting to return to at the end of each day where we were treated royally and easily tempted to return. Highly recommended.

  • Liked — Luxurious, sleek and modern; excellent service
  • Disliked — Disappointing view from our room
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
8 Thank CA78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Toronto hotels
Downtown
The Omni King Edward Hotel
Downtown West
Delta Hotels by Marriott Toronto
Downtown West
Trump International Hotel & Tower Toronto
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown West
Le Germain Hotel Toronto Mercer
Downtown West
Fairmont Royal York
Fairmont Royal York
#20 of 136 in Toronto
3,114 reviews
Downtown West
Residence Inn Toronto Downtown/Entertainment District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SoHo Metropolitan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SoHo Metropolitan

Property: SoHo Metropolitan
Address: 318 Wellington St W, Toronto, Ontario M5V 3T4, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Toronto > Downtown West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in Toronto
#9 Luxury Hotel in Toronto
#16 Business Hotel in Toronto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — SoHo Metropolitan 4*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The SoHo Metropolitan Hotel is simply Toronto's finest, whether you call it a luxury, boutique or design hotel. At once supremely indulgent and artfully subdued, the hotel affectionately dubbed "SoHo Met" is a vibrant scene unto itself. From inspired culinary creations and rejuvenating spa treatments to advanced in-room technologies and innovative business services, a limitless range of sophisticated pleasures awaits you. Whether you are staying for just a weekend or weeks on end, you will quickly realize that one does more than stay at the SoHo Met ... one lives it. The moment you set foot upon the marble floors of the SoHo Metropolitan Hotel in Toronto, you enter a world of exquisite delights and unparalleled convenience, where the hotel's commitment to service and personal attention exceed all expectations. The three story, loft-style penthouse suite and 92 oversized, luxurious guestrooms and suites represent the very epitome of SoHo Metropolitan style. European natural down duvets and triple Italian bed linens grace the luxurious king-size beds. When it's time to say good night, use the smart technology to adjust lighting, motorized draperies and do-not-disturb light. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Preferred Hotels, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your SoHo Metropolitan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Soho Metropolitan Toronto
Soho Metropolitan Hotel Toronto

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing