We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Incredible Food, incredible service” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of pero restaurant and lounge

pero restaurant and lounge
Reserve with OpenTable
pero restaurant and lounge is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #451 of 8,405 Restaurants in Toronto
Price range: $11 - $22
Cuisines: Ethiopian, African
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Romantic, Families with children, Special occasions
Dining options: Drinks, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Buffet, Delivery, Free Off-Street Parking, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: West End
Cross street: Bloor and Chritie
Description: Pero Restaurant is as rich and diverse as Eastern African culture. The spectrum Pero Restaurant cuisine can be said to lie between two dietary extremes: vegetarianism and carnivorism. The essence of good Eastern African cooking revolves around the appropriate use of aromatic spices. The skill lies in subtle blending of a variety of spices to enhance, rather than overwhelm the basic flavour of a particular dish. Pero food relies on the spices in which it is cooked, just as Japanese Sushi relies on the freshness of the meat, and Chinese food relies on the various sauces to impart the right flavour and taste. It is interesting to see an Eastern African chef at work with a palette of spices, gratuitously sprinkling these powders in exact pinches into the dish in front of him. It is these complexities of regional food in Eastern Africa that make it such a fascinating experience.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Incredible Food, incredible service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2014

The people there were so nice and made us feel at home. We'd never had Ethiopian or Eritrean food before but they walked us through everything and gave us some excellent suggestions. The food was out of this world. A great night overall!

  • Visited July 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank BrandonM123456789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perolounge, Manager at pero restaurant and lounge, responded to this review, August 8, 2014
Dear Patron,
Thank you for writing a review about Pero Restaurant and Lounge. We are pleased you felt at home during your recent visit. Our goal is for every diner to feel relaxed while enjoying our great good and service.
We'll make sure to pass your kind words to our wait staff and kitchen staff.
Visit us again try other new items on the menu and enjoy our jazz band playing nightly downstairs.

Sincerely,

Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    44
    12
    3
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
bc
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“great experience, great food!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2014

My family and I were visiting Toronto recently and looking for some good Ethiopian food. We found it and more at Peros. We went on a Tuesday evening and ended up going downstairs where they had opened a jazz room. The atmosphere, the service and the food were great. We had the platter for four - great tasting!! Highly recommend.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank westcoastBc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perolounge, Manager at pero restaurant and lounge, responded to this review, August 8, 2014
Dear Patron,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about Pero Restaurant and Lounge. We greatly appreciate your kind words. We are also glad your experience was beyond your expectation. Visit us again on your next trip to Toronto and let us know if we can accommodate you in any way.

Sincerely,

Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lillooet, Canada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Amazing atmosphere”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2014

I tried this restaurant because it's close to my house and I bought a Groupon for a vegetarian platter for 2.

I was pleasantly surprised when I entered the restaurant as I thought the atmosphere was awesome. Dimmed lighting and pleasant background music made it cozy and a great spot for a romantic date if that's what you're looking for. The service was exceptional as was the food.

The owner also visited the tables asking how everyone enjoyed the food which was nice. I will definitely return to try more dishes.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Lillooetbeachbum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perolounge, Manager at pero restaurant and lounge, responded to this review, May 1, 2014
Dear Toronto Travel Bug,
Thank you for all your kind words and appreciation of our restaurant. We put much effort in the dining experience, we make it into an experience in culture. We are happy when you're happy.

We are also glad you had the opportunity to meet the owner himself. He's at the restaurant most nights to ensure the best food and service is provided.
We look forward to seeing you soon.

Sincerely,
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ontario, canada
Level Contributor
102 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“top notch Ethiopian in Toronto”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2014

We love Ethiopian food, and have tried most such restaurants on Toronto's west side, as well as a few downtown and on the east side. Somehow, Pero had previously slipped our attention.
We went on a quiet Tuesday night, and were seated right away. The restaurant has very nice decor, probably the nicest of any ethiopian place I have visited. The menu had many familiar items, usually a bit pricier than most places, but when the food arrived it was excellent, and thus worth it (we shared a platter with veggie and chicken items on it). The only things I thought were missing were A) some Ethiopian beers, and B) a bit of Ethiopian music mixed in with the other nice tunes they were playing. We will definitely be back, and will be recommending Pero to our friends.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Ben B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
87 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Fine Ethiopian Cuisine”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2014

This intimate but exceptionally welcoming storefront opens up your senses (visual, taste, aroma, texture) to the wonderful possibilities of vegetarian cooking --- note, meat dishes are also on the menu, but we chose other dishes.

Two dishes stand out --- the Chef Wondy appetizer and the Vegetarian platter to serve the number of people at your table. Chef Wondy, while a bit on the spicy side, will not seriously deter any person familiar with Szechuan cuisine. It is a wonderful wrap, with layers of tasty and delicious filling.

The traditional vegetarian platter offered portions of mushrooms, lentils, chickpeas, salad, collard greens, cabbage --- in more than sufficient quantity and all tasty, ranging from mildly spicy to almost sweet.

The wine selection was more than adequate along with some beers.

The service was wonderful, with the staff offering suggestions. The setting is intimate, quiet and pretty with various colorful baskets helping to define seating areas.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Steven S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perolounge, Manager at pero restaurant and lounge, responded to this review, March 19, 2014
Dear Patron,
Thank you for taking the time to review Pero's Restaurant. We appreciate your detailed description of the dishes you chose. This illustrates that our customers are enjoying the diverrse ingredients and flavorful spices that our Chef uses to make dining with us an enjoyable experience.
We are also glad you are pleased with our service and will make sure to pass your kind words to our wait staff.
We hope to see you again.

Sincerely,

Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed pero restaurant and lounge also viewed

 

Been to pero restaurant and lounge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing