We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“You get what you pay for...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Castlegate Bed & Breakfast Inn
Ranked #78 of 114 Toronto B&B and Inns
Herne Bay, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“You get what you pay for...”
Reviewed November 7, 2010

...and I suppose, for almost the centre of downtown Toronto, the price I paid ($350 per week - about £215 at the time) it was okay. BUT.... the room was very small, not very clean or pleasant, had no coffee-making facilities (not even a kettle - though there was a fridge and a microwave), had no crockery or cutlery at all, had no food-preparation facilities, and was stiflingly hot all the time due to the fact that the whole house was heated centrally and individual radiators could not be turned either down or off. Aside from those things, on the first day I had to wash the pillows because they were badly stained and smelly - and the bed linen generally was, whilst clean, rather yellow and stale-smelling. The carpet was stained. The wallpaper had damp marks. There were no net curtains, and you couldn't really open the curtains anyway because the windows were both overlooked. You get the picture. So... go well prepared., and don't expect anything special - just somewhere to put your stuff and to sleep. Take some earplugs, too, because the noise from the road may keep you awake - especially as you will need to keep the windows open at night because of the heat!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MartianTom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    16
    11
    4
    23
See reviews for
5
17
14
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
NS
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2008

Only stay if you are almost deaf and blind. We didn't sleep a wink all night because of the noise on Spadina and the noise in the room above. The patron above wasn't a noisy individual, but the creak of the floor was like chalk grating on the board, the sound of him going to the toilet was like a tap a foot away and the toilet flush like Niagara falls. My husband is deaf in one ear and usually can drown anything out by placing his good ear on the pillow, but he refused to stay another night although we had booked four. There was also way too much light coming in our room all night and there was no blind, not even a cheap one! We had to jury-rig the duvet cover over the window since the streetlights were glaring inside. The terrible thing is that they refused to give a refund or even a partial refund and I'm on the hook for $300+ for the worst night's sleep I've ever had in a hotel. They wouldn't even refund the parking even though we only parked one night. It was a hard lesson learned.

  • Liked — nothing
  • Disliked — everything
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank Trudi7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Toronto hotels

NYC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed February 7, 2008

I believe that hotels are one area where you get what you pay for and this B&B is no exception. The good thing is that it is located near a subway station, so going to/from downtown was a snap.

As for amenities, guest service, well, the centralized switchboard is no help so Wifi really is your friend.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Customer service
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank vancnychitor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaGrange, IL USA
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2008

My wife & I stayed in Room 103 at 219 Spadina for the nights of July 8 thru the 13th. It suited our needs very well. Most of our time was spent with our daughter and her family, so we were only in the room from about 8:00pm til about 8:00 am each night and then had a quick breakfast in the basement breakfast area.
We met people from Scandinavian countries, Australia, and elsewhere there.
Our room was clean & about 12' x 20' with an additional 6' x 7' tile-floored bathroom with a tub and shower, sink, stool and medicine cabinet and soap and shampoo. There was a small fridge and microwave in the room. Besides the queensize bed, there was a small desk with 4 small drawers & 4 cubbyholes above the writing surface. The desk chair had a padded, upholstered seat. There were 2 nightstands and a large upholstered chair, also.
There was a phone and a clock-alarm radio as well as a small 13' TV that didn't get many English stations. There was good lighting and comfortable sleeping under a down comforter and with 4 very good pillows provided.
There were plenty of hangers in closet, but limited drawerspace. The room was sprinklered and had a smoke/heat alarm. It had a very good window Air Conditioner and a wall panel for heating - which we didn't need. There were attractive valances over the window and the bed's headboard. The bathroom lighting was good and well positioned for shaving.
Some other positives:
1- There was a nice small porch in the front of the house, with a view up and down Spadina.
2- The breakfast menu was limited (no cereal), but replenished frequently by a friendly staff person.
3- Parking was convenient just down the street, but off-street in a pre-assigned spot - at only $5.00 per day.
A few other negatives:
1- No hooks in the bathroom.
2- Bathroom mirror set low, so I had to stoop to see the top of my head.
3- The bath vent fan kept up a constant clicking sound.
4- No kleenex were provided.
5- For the week, 4 bath towels were provided, but no hand towels.
6- Daily maidservice, with more towels, was available, but relatively expensive.

Overall, it was a pleasant experience, and we may return in the future.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Bath fan noise.
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank gfrlgil2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose
Level Contributor
33 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed November 15, 2007

I stayed at Castlegate Inn in order to attend a convetion that took place at Toronto Convention Centre. I booked the room via email, Fina, the girl who was in cherge of all this was pretty efficient and diligent doing this. I arrived at midnight, keys were waiting for me along with an envelope with all the instructions in order to get to my room which was pretty fine, clean and with enough space and private bathroom. Next day, I checked in, Fina was at de frontdesk. Everything went cool. So, I have to say: nice place, nice persons, nice rooms (fridge, MW Oven, bathroom, TV, closet), subway station just 20 mts from the Inn. Nice neighbourhood (4 blocks away from the University of Toronto, so is pretty much a college neighbourhood). I strongly recommend this place.

  • Liked — People
  • Stayed October 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank lehpares
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, Scotland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2007

I stayed here whilst attending a meeting at the University of Toronto, and could not really ask for a better combination of location and price. I was a little nervous about the late arrival arrangements, where your key is in an envelope pinned to the wall inside the reception area, that you collect yourself, but everything worked out fine (this tells you something about the area, and how relatively safe it is). The room was quite big (room 2 on the ground of the main building) and at the back, so it was actually very quiet. My colleague was staying upstairs at the front and he did complain of traffic noise. It was also very clean on arrival, so didn't mind the abscence of maid service over my 5 night stay. Breakfast is a bit on the short side for choice and space, but acceptable. The staff were also fine, though I had very little contact with them over my time there. I would stay there again, it's certainly absolutely fine, and nothing like some of the bad reviews I read. It's a bit like a guesthouse B&B in the UK- though I have stayed in worse in the UK, that were more expensive.

  • Stayed September 2007, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank JHughes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santiago, Chile
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2007

Place dirty and attended by bad-mannered persons. They themselves write the good commentaries. Thieves. They steal to the rooms. Rude and bad-mannered. BB's disgust.

  • Stayed June 2007, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
6 Thank Cajurri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Toronto hotels
Midtown
Holiday Inn Toronto Bloor Yorkville
Downtown
McGill Inn B&B
McGill Inn B&B
#18 of 114 in Toronto
4.0 of 5 bubbles 145 reviews
Midtown
Havinn Bed&Breakfast
Havinn Bed&Breakfast
#47 of 114 in Toronto
4.0 of 5 bubbles 71 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Rose Garden Bed and Breakfast
Midtown
Global Guest House
Global Guest House
#72 of 114 in Toronto
3.0 of 5 bubbles 51 reviews
North York
No photo provided
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castlegate Bed & Breakfast Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castlegate Bed & Breakfast Inn

Property: Castlegate Bed & Breakfast Inn
Address: 219 Spadina Rd, Toronto, Ontario M5R 2T9, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Toronto > Midtown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #78 of 114 B&Bs / Inns in Toronto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Castlegate Bed & Breakfast Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Castlegate Inn is located in downtown Toronto close to all major tourist attractions including Casa Loma, ROM, University of Toronto, Bata Shoe Museum and major hospitals. Our inn is steps from Dupont Station, with easy access to the entire city! We have been rated as "one of the best value Bed and Breakfast in Toronto" by Lonely Planet. Each of our rooms is equipped with cable television, mini-fridge, microwave and private washroom. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Castlegate Bed & Breakfast Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castlegate Bed And Breakfast Inn
Castlegate Hotel Toronto

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing