We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Great Date Place”
Review of Smith

Smith
Ranked #511 of 8,509 Restaurants in Toronto
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $14 - $24
Cuisines: Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Neighborhood: Downtown
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
72 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“A Great Date Place”
Reviewed February 5, 2013

A very intimate restaurant. We went mid week so it was very nice to talk and be able to hear. I understand from the server that weekends are busier and every second Saturday they have a club night on the third level.
The food was very good and the server was very professional, polite and cheerful.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dwm59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Renda A, General Manager at Smith, responded to this review, February 8, 2013
Thank you very much! Hope to see you again soon!

Smith Restaurant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    42
    37
    19
    6
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
“Great brunch”
Reviewed February 1, 2013

i've only ever been for brunch but it is in my regular rotation of restaurants. their eggs benny and huervos rancheros are amazing. and the bottomless coffee is great as well.
i love the two seater balcony up top. great place for a quiet date in the summer.
their choice of dinnerware is too cute as well. i bring all my guests visiting toronto to this spot!

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lolabeans11879
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Renda A, General Manager at Smith, responded to this review, February 2, 2013
Thanks for the feedback! We strive each and every week to provide the best we can for each of our guests, and it's nice to hear positive words.

Hope to see you again soon,

Smith Restaurant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
370 reviews
162 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 288 helpful votes
“Wow, Toronto - you've got a gem”
Reviewed December 19, 2012

Born and raised in Toronto but been living in London for the last 12 years. To come back to a restaurant like this.... wow. Toronto has arrived.

This restaurant would be at home in New York, London or any other big cosmo city. Perhaps I don't give Toronto enough credit but when I come back to a restaurant like this in a town of Tim Horton's and Swiss Chalet, I am impressed!

The atmosphere and decor are excellent - charming, cool, slick, really well done. Menu is small but funnily has everything that you might want - pork, chicken, beef, seafood and interesting combinations as well. I had a delicious veal cheek with perogi and beets - reminded me of a recent trip to Warsaw. Really good.

Charming service. It was a bit slow but that was acknowledged and we had an apology - no hard feels.

Only open several days during the week - not every day. Cool upstairs and bar. Cool toilets. Whole place is cool without being pretentious. Dinners with neighbours and friends - casual enough.

Prices are a bit pricey at about $25 and up but nice portions and really good. I'd definitely return. Well done, Toronto!!

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BusyFlyingAround
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“WOW- great evening, great food, great cocktails, service just right”
Reviewed November 4, 2012

4 of us for dinner. Not a bad sip or bite.
Bartender makes his own tonic! Way better than usual tonics. His cocktails were original and really good.
We shared everything and all left happy.
Appetizers could be larger, but that's because we shared and all wanted more.
Salmon with Israeli spices and halibut special perfectly crisp on the outside and meltingly moist inside.
The cauliflower gratin with house preserved lemon was stunning.
Fries were perfect.
We talked with David the chef, and were delightfully educated about the dishes he prepared.
Can't wait to get back to Toronto again!!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Foodguy1252
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hollywood, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Delicious”
Reviewed October 25, 2012

A large group went about 9:30 pm (we had reservation of course) and we had a wonderful time. Food, service were excellent. The decor - charming. Would definitely go again next time I'm in Toronto.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Sg954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Smith also viewed

 

Been to Smith? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing