We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Quaint place but the food is amazing.”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Fanny Chadwick's

Fanny Chadwick's
Ranked #466 of 8,439 Restaurants in Toronto
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Canadian, American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Brunch, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Midtown
Toronto, Ontario
Level Contributor
71 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Quaint place but the food is amazing.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2013 via mobile

Went with four friends for dinner. Lovely service with a smile. All of us ate the platter appetizer. Yummy. Chose different thing's from the menu to try out the choices. My pan fried rainbow trout was delicious. My husband ordered the handmade sausages and he was not disappointed. My friend's husband had the buttermilk battered chicken and he qas very pleased. Think the only down side was the veggie s on polenta. Not the greatest. However that was soon made up with the dark chocolate porter cake......wow. Try the beer infused with watermelon...it will surprise you. You have to try this place...you'll love it.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DonkeyWho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    32
    28
    5
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
55 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Great home cooked food!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

We decided to visit Fanny Chadwicks because it looked quite interesting from the outside. I think that our group have ordered everything from the menu. The food was outstanding! Two thumbs up...
What I wasn't impressed with was the service. After coming in from a cigarette break, our server cut a piece of pie and used their hands to pick it up and put it on the plate. Then came and served it to us. The smell of cigarettes still on them. Wasn't impressed...
Next time I will say something if it happens again.. Will definitely go back for the awesome food!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank wiwma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A delicious treat”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2013 via mobile

We decided to visit this restaurant after watching them on 'you gotta eat here'. We went there for a Saturday brunch, fearing a very rowded and a long wait. We were fortunate though because we were able to get a seat within 10 minutes. But it started to get busier afterwards.
I ordered the Finnish crepe style pancakea. These are so delicious - topped with fresh raspberry sauce and whipped cream on the side - nothing too overpowering. My wife ordered the beef hash, and we switched halfway through. The hash is a big dish and quite filling but absolutely delicious.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ronnroz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, ON
Level Contributor
121 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“good "comfort food" with a local twist”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2013

This local spot has good comfort food types of offerings - BLTs, mac and cheese, club sandwiches, but done really well and in a friendly, neighbourhood atmosphere. They also offer a local, homemade twist - their meats are sourced locally, they make their own condiments, and cure their own bacon......this is food done with pride. I had a club sandwich with a side salad, both of which were very good. Well, the salad was a salad (butter and leaf lettuces though), and the club included bacon jam, which I can't say that I liked very much, but it was a cut above the usual fare.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank roseandribbons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Amazing grilled cheese sandwich”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2013

Visited Fanny Chadwick's for lunch and sampled what was the best sandwich I've yet to try in Toronto, and possibly anywhere else - a grilled cheese and brussels sprouts triple decker. I've tried a lot of the supposed 'best sandwiches' in numerous cities, and this genuinely knocked spots off of any of them. Service was fantastic; we were given a complimentary amuse bouche to celebrate the two year anniversary of the restaurant. Here's to the next two years and beyond!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Chris R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fanny Chadwick's also viewed

Toronto, Ontario
Toronto, Ontario
 
Toronto, Ontario
Toronto, Ontario
 

Been to Fanny Chadwick's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing