We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Worst ever”
Review of El Plebeyo Restaurant - CLOSED

El Plebeyo Restaurant
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Midtown
Mississauga, Ontario, Canada
2 reviews
“Worst ever”
Reviewed April 20, 2013

We tried to dine here last night. Appetizers were pumped out very quickly. The service went downhill fast after that. We ordered our entrees and the waiter was clear on what we wanted, even commenting on our choices. He went into the kitchen and we never saw him again. Nobody came out to check on us until the owners son turned up more than an hour later. We asked him if it would be much longer. He went into the kitchen and found out that our entree orders had never been entered. He said his Dad "had gone to the other place". He was in another place alright! We told them not to bother cooking the entrees. At that point we just wanted to get out of there. Under the circumstances our bill should have been waived but they gave us a bill for $100, for the appetizers and wine. This place is a dump and a rip off.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Neil M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

9 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5
    1
    0
    0
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Windsor, Canada
Level Contributor
160 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Very fine dining”
Reviewed March 8, 2013

We ate here on the recommendation of a Peruvian acquaintance. The food was excellent, the service friendly and informative. Our host would have liked to serve Peruvian wine with our meal but the Liquor Control Board of Ontario does not import Peruvian wines. We think that people dining here will enjoy the exotic flavors and the beautiful presentations. For the time being this is a small (34 seats) restaurant. Visitors coming to Toronto should note that in a few months the restaurant is relocating and renaming itself and will be somewhat larger. It will be Parascas and moving to the 900s on St.Clair Avenue West. Also, some menu items will be dropped but the excellent quality will remain.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank sbklaj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Never disappointed!”
Reviewed December 11, 2012

My wife and I consider this one of our all time favorite places to eat, the service is excellent and the food is amazing, always fresh and delicious. The drinks are generous, and the wines are well paired. The menu has something for everyone. I have never been disappointed at El Plebeyo

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank El_Guapo_xl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Love the place”
Reviewed May 10, 2012

We try to go to this restaurant at least every few months. The food, the owner and atmosphere are fantastic. Make sure to try his Sangria its addictive. We get few mains and a lot of appetizers and share them so we could taste many things. Seafood soup is my favourite. I am salivating everytime we book it for dinner. Going back this weekend. Can't wait.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Girlyflower
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
140 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Good Authentic Peruvian Food”
Reviewed December 8, 2011

We had a group of 7 their for dinner and drinks. Most of them from Peru, and they loved the food. We started will Pisco Sours to drink and 4 different appettizers. The drinks were amazing, Pisco Sours are my favorite drink. But consider yourself warned, careful how many you drink. The Ceviche was very good, true Peruvian style. Also had Anticochos, worth the trip just for this. As far as our main dishes everyone really enjoyed them. The restaurant is fairly small but well accomadate a small group. The owner is a very nice gentleman who is out mingling making sure everyone is happy. A real treasure worth searching out in Toronto.

  • Visited November 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
5 Thank Badb88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Plebeyo Restaurant also viewed

Toronto, Ontario
Toronto, Ontario
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing