We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Authentic Inexpensive Great Mexican Food” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mexican Salsas - CLOSED

Mexican Salsas
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch
Neighborhood: Chinatown
Mississauga, Canada
Level Contributor
61 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Authentic Inexpensive Great Mexican Food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 22, 2014

So thrilled to find such authentic Mexican food with such variety and options. They even have vegetarian, gluten free and vegan options for our daughter who has dietary restrictions who thought that her beloved tacos were a thing of the past! Not here though - she was able to have a potato and onion taco that she just adored as well as a tofu taco. My husband and I each had a 3 taco platter for $8.95 that was overfilled with fresh tasty meats and ingredients. Just loved the chicken mole and freshly prepared guacamole! Great options available with the highest quality ingredients and you can just tell that love is added in all their meals. We felt that we were transported to Mexican Taquería and just loved it! Can't wait to return and try the burritos, nachos and other tasty options...just delicious!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Marlazaichick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

5 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2
    3
    0
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
118 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Some of the best Mexican food outside Mexico!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2014

If you are looking for authentic type Mexican food (Im not talking nachos with cheddar cheese, tomatoes and lettcue here!), then Mexican salsas has got some of the best you can ask for. They serve traditional type tacos such as cochinita pibil, chorizo, suadero & pastor on corn tortillas with onion & cilantro. Their Monday-Thursday special is $3.99 for 3 tacos + a bottle of water. They also serve pozole, burritos, tostadas, black bean soup, taquitos and a variety of mexican beverages.

I come here all the time & the food is consistenly good & the staff is always very nice.

For the gringos who like a little cheddar cheese & sour cream, they can add that for you as well.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank SrtaADB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
190 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
“Melt in your mouth taquitos”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2013

When I discovered Jesus' melt in your mouth taquitos with vegie friendly fillings, I stopped pining for a good Mexican meal south of the border. Instead of just serving al pastor and other traditional taco fillings, he carries tofu/nopales/chile relleno fillings to meet local market demand for meatless options. However, this place is more of a lunch time spot-- by evening, the choices are pretty slim and the tortillas chewier. This basic place does not carry all the extras like coffee and desserts. To round off the meal, head across the street to Pancho's for yummy fresh dulce de leche filled churros.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank WorldWanderer88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
75 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Authentic Mexican for bargain prices”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 30, 2011

This little spot has authentic and great-tasting Mexican food at a bargain price. The weekday deal (Mon-Thu) are fantastic for lunch ...or if you've got an excuse to go there. The corn tortillas were heated before being loaded with choices of various chicken, beef or pork, then choices of other fresh toppings like cilantro (yum!), pickled onions, etc, etc, etc.... Suffice to say that the flavours are great and the choices excellent.

Over two visits I've attempted to try most every combination I could think of, but there's plenty more to still try.

A Dealfind coupon first got me to go there ($6 gets $12) instead of nearby Jumbo (for authentic Chilean empanadas and corn pie!) and I was impressed.

  • Visited November 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank my-itinerary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mexican Salsas also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing