We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wow - Scores were great so expectations high and met.”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Campagnolo

Campagnolo
Reserve with OpenTable
Campagnolo is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #604 of 8,443 Restaurants in Toronto
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Downtown
Barbados
Level Contributor
118 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Wow - Scores were great so expectations high and met.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2013

Excellent menu with some unusual items that are very well prepared - Roasted Bone Marrow with Oxtail Marmalade and Fresh Burrata Cheese with Roasted Grapes and Toasted Bread - both amazing appetizers. We followed these (good size portions) with simple pasta - I had the House-Made Spaghetti All’Amatriciana - simple, pure - perfect - with a very slight 'kick'. Paired with an excellent and well priced Bolgheri all was amazing. The staff are delightful and engaged - made a difference and Craig (one of the owners) was excellent. Cannot wait to return. They definitely earned their "27" on Zagat.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ByrenToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    64
    28
    18
    11
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, ON Canada
Level Contributor
78 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Creative Italian localized menu”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2013

You can wait a while before getting reservations here and it's not for everyone. The restaurant filled up over the first hour with some large parties and a variety of couples mostly very casually dressed. The room is airy and warm; tables not to close and you don't hear other people's conversations. There's no music which is a good thing here.

The menu is well worth a visit with some items changing frequently. We enjoyed the warm house-made baguette and gougeres and in fact ordered a second one. Bib lettuce salad with asparagus was nicely plated and plentiful. Others enjoyed their Spaghetti All'Amatriciana. Though an O.K. main at $19.00 I might have expected a larger portion.

The wine list of new and old world wines seemed reasonably priced with lots of choices under and around the 50 dollar mark.

All of the desserts at $10.00 each were tempting and the lemon cream beignets went down easily.

Service was efficient if not particularly friendly.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Retiredactive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boca Raton, Florida
Level Contributor
41 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Good but simply not above average!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2013

We dined there with 2 friends and quite enjoyed the look of the restaurant and the welcome was very nice. We settled in and the waiter came and suggested we hurry and make our orders because everyone's orders were going in at the same time and we would end up waiting. That isn't the greatest way to start off the evening. We did enjoy the food, but after all the good things I had heard about this place, it wasn't overly memorable. I am not a fan of over loading the plate, but the portions were pretty small. The Pasta Amatricana was a very small portion as was the beet filled ravioli.
I liked the restaurant enough, but would not zoom back.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Suzanne23456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Not bad at all -”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2013

I had been looking forward to trying out Campagnolo ever since they started construction in 2010. The decor is fantastic and the service was at a level to match. Having said that the food wasn't bad, but wasn't at a level that i could recommend it to someone else.

We started of with the bone marrow - it was exceptional; the fresh Barrata cheese - great; and the lamb sausages - also great. We two mains, I had Lamb with romesco and peas - which i did not like and the reason for the average rating; and a rabbit pasta - okay. The wine was overpriced, but not a bad list.

Honestly, these guys change their menu all the time so perhaps i picked an off day, who knows. Nevertheless, my experience didn't quite warrant a review of 'very good' - definitely a 'good' rating, but thats not an option so 'average will just have to do'.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Allan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
49 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Great main course, so-so on others”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2013

Restaurant is quite hip looking and the staff was quite good. Wine by the glass is quite expensive for stuff that isn't so exceptional- amount poured almost seemed stingy. Appetizers were far from cheap and we were not amazed by them either. However, we were both impressed with our main course but again portion size left us quite hungry. Too many other great restaurants in this city to think about ever returning here.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Batman_rocks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Campagnolo also viewed

 
Toronto, Ontario
 

Been to Campagnolo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing