We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A great favourite!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Stout Irish Pub

Stout Irish Pub
Ranked #406 of 8,401 Restaurants in Toronto
Cuisines: Irish, Bar, British, Pub, Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children, Bar scene
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Drinks, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Downtown
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
42 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
“A great favourite!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2014

Stout is my local favourite pub - thankfully I live down the street so I can enjoy it on a weekly basis. The staff are extremely friendly, remember the locals, and are always quick to serve. The food is great and the beer selection is even better! If you want the best deal, be sure to arrive between 4-7pm EVERYDAY as they have the best happy hour prices on drinks and apps ($5 each!).

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank RunnerJT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    31
    30
    7
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Steinbach, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Popular pub”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2014

Stout was 2 doors away from the b n b i stayed at so it was more than convenient. Large selection of specialty beers, and the menu had beefy large portion sizes :)

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Rojo M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“My Local”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2014 via mobile

Great pub, great atmosphere, great staff. Very local, charming with a real pub feeling. Not one of those fake money makers chain type of pub.
I go there on a weekly base for the atmosphere, I live right by; going there feels like an extension of my flat. I bring my grade 1 kids from time to time and we have great time, they are so happy to go the Stout. Kids are more than welcome as they have tons of board games.
Food doesn't worth it though, tasteless , regular pub fares made from cheap cuts. I tried it all and was never satisfied. Adding a cook that knows his business wouldn't hurt but this will not stop me going there. The place is still an amazing place and if you don't like the food then eat somewhere else but make sure to start or end there.

Helpful?
1 Thank Freedompoutine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
644 reviews
346 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 248 helpful votes
“Incredible beer selection and cozy seating options”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 10, 2013

4-7 happy hour ($5 select appies and beer) plus a lovely fireplace, lots of cozy seating options and the most massive beer selection I have seen outside of Europe.
Service was prompt and friendly, the food was good - huge portions but lacking in a little flavour. There are also loads of games and magazine offered so you can stay here, tucked in from the cold for hours on end.
We will be back here for sure!

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Megan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bracebridge, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent discovery - best beer selection in T.O.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2013

Had a business meeting in the area, saw the amazing beer list and dropped in for a late lunch. Shared the Irish Nachos which were superb but really blown away by the service and knowledgeable staff. That really made this a place I want to come back to.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jake G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Stout Irish Pub also viewed

 

Been to Stout Irish Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing