We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Staff rude/food good”
Review of The Ceili Cottage

The Ceili Cottage
Ranked #614 of 8,473 Restaurants in Toronto
Cuisines: Irish, Bar, Pub, Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Drinks, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: East End
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
287 reviews
187 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 230 helpful votes
“Staff rude/food good”
Reviewed October 20, 2012

I'm only giving this a poor rating due to the staff. Atmosphere was great The food was good, especially the mushrooms on toast. We had 6 people and the waiter/manager from Tipperary told us that it would be an hour wait....no problem. An older woman in our group asked the waiter/manager (he seemed like the manager) what wine was available by the glass. He told her to look at the menu...then he said, "It's actually written on all the menus." Rude and uncalled for to paying customers. There were about 5 types...10 seconds to run off instead of having someone root for their glasses. They messed up the bill and over charged us which took 10 minutes for them to fix. When paying by card, we did not put in a tip so as to pay it in cash. He actually said to us, Oh, no tip? Typical. I was aghast. Needless to say the tip dropped there and then. At 9.45pm The manager type came over and said it is last call. I told him the waiter from Galway was rude and he said nothing...zero...nada. Again, the food was very nice, but from what I heard from people that go frequently and witnessed myself, they may be getting to cocky for their own good.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank alish2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    34
    20
    11
    4
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
77 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“A weekly habit”
Reviewed September 27, 2012 via mobile

It's hard to believe queen east without this gem. I see a lot of mentioning of attitude from the staff, but it's the only way to keep snotty riff raff out of the place. They are so busy and popular that if you feel you as being treated like a second cousin from the wrong side of the family, well that's because you just don't belong and should try a pig and firkin fake Irish pub. This place is for real people that want a place to hang out and have some great fare with a few pints. For a treat try the mushrooms over toast!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Glandu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“We live 2 doors down and can't get a table.”
Reviewed July 12, 2012

Stop coming here, people. We want to get a table for 3 without having to sit at a teensy table for two.

Imho, Staff need to lighten up.... Slightly. And they do, but only when we cry like it's our party. Bear in mind, cottage, the people you get all "rulesie" with may be the same people that will be (or want to be) coming here for years to come. Be gentle with us leslievillians. Look at that. I think I just coined a new phrase. Leslievillians unite! Take back our patios!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Leslievillian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williamsburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
127 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Fun, Irish pub with attitude”
Reviewed July 9, 2012

We ate here on a hot weeknight and had a great time. We ordered lots of oysters, several different ways, all fresh. The shucker was fun to watch, waitress was great - giving as good as she was getting. We ordered plenty of drinks (great Bloody Marys, hand-pumped beer, local ones, too). We were disappointed that they were out of the ribs on the specials list by the time we ordered the main but we loved the smoked salmon (smoked onsite!) and homemade bread - awesome! Look forward to coming back!

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank dafootes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
240 reviews
156 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“food is yummy”
Reviewed May 30, 2012

service is a little meh at times... but food is always good...

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank 416GYPSY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Ceili Cottage also viewed

 

Been to The Ceili Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing