We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great seafood, lackluster service.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Diana's Oyster Bar & Grill

Diana's Oyster Bar & Grill
Ranked #1,414 of 8,401 Restaurants in Toronto
Cuisines: Seafood, Soups, Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Scarborough
Toronto
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Great seafood, lackluster service.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2013

The food was great so we will return for that reason.

We had the appetizer platter, steamed mussels with seafood bisque to start and finished with the seafood platter for 2. The mixed drink was light on alcohol but beer is beer. For 4 adults, we were happy with the amount of food and had a bit to spare for the doggy. The appetizer platter had calamari, big shrimps, smoked salmon with capers and something that was like a sashimi salad. This was delicious and a good start. Everything was very fresh. The bisque was a perfect flavour. The seafood platter was excellent. A whole lobster, large scallops, grilled salmon and calamari on an arugula salad. Every piece was fresh and flavourful. Definitely everything we wanted in a seafood restaurant. Not being oyster fans, we passed on their specialty.

For our first time we booked reservations but needed to make a same day reservation change. It was a confusing conversation. We wanted to come later but the male at reception insisted we were the party of 10 when we were not. It went back and forth for 10 minutes before we got our change. Our waiter was nice enough but kept missing out on little things like water refills, sugar and utensils etc.

It is a small, modern venue with a patio, nothing special but the better quality seafood makes it worth returning. Definitely book ahead since it is busy for dinner (we went on a Saturday night).

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank FactsTO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    45
    53
    16
    11
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
48 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Very disappointing dining experience”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2013

We dined there last night and were very surprised with the service, the food and management.
What a disappointment!
They brought our soups while we had not even started our appetizers.
Here is my comment on the various dishes:
Pan fried oysters: Very good
Oysters Rockefeller: Terrible
Caesar salad: Dry, tasteless. They were better off using a commercial dressing
Fried calamari: Soggy
Lobster bisque: Dark maroon colour, tasted like burnt tomato soup
Crab cakes: Passable. Out of three orders, no one had the second piece.

To top it off, management didn't even have the courtesy to check on us.
We paid the full bill and left.
Had dinner at Mac Donald's. A TRUE LET DOWN!!!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Salim K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maple, Canada
Level Contributor
335 reviews
235 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
“Very good seafood but management could use some customer retention lessons.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2013

It was worth the wait caused by inconsiderate diners who decided to stretch their stay causing those with reservations to wait almost an hour for the table. The only issue with the service is that the manager did not consider doing something for us to make up for the wait (i.e. an appetizer or drinks). The oysters were excellent and the seafood platter was enormous and tasty.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Airsucker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Nice Surprise”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2013

Had dinner for four and was pleasantly surprised. Not what you would expect considering the location. Oyster selection good and prices also reasonable. Was a Saturday night and very busy- recommend reservations- . Recommend the chilean sea bass which was excellent. Red snapper was a bit boring- unseasoned and dry. Tuna tartare appetizer was also very good. Casual atmosphere and staff was friendly. Wine list limited but acceptable. If you like oysters and seafood I would recommend giving it a try.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank GraCin5758
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
“Food Poisoning”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2013

I've bought lots of raw oysters from the market side, but this was the first time eating at the bar & grill. I went with my family for dinner and we all shared a dozen oysters. Food was decent, but the next day, 3 out of the 6 of us had food poisoning. I emailed the oyster bar manager a few days ago, but no response or apology yet. Eat at your own risk.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank JonC2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Diana's Oyster Bar & Grill also viewed

 

Been to Diana's Oyster Bar & Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing