We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding food in a neighbourhood pub”
Review of Auld Spot Pub

Auld Spot Pub
Ranked #1,027 of 8,575 Restaurants in Toronto
Cuisines: Gastropub
Neighborhood: East End
Restaurant details
Neighborhood: East End
Toronto
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Outstanding food in a neighbourhood pub”
Reviewed November 20, 2012

This local pub, and I say local even though it's located on the busy Danforth, is a wonderful spot for good beer, attentive service and great food. This is not your average pub fare, so if your looking for nachos and wings walk a few blocks east. Though they do have Drummies, a drumstick version of wings, this is as close to greasy pub fare as they get and they're not greasy. They have a very English style curry and a ploughman's lunch like I've never seen. Sure it's all the pieces of the ploughman's, but with Auld Spot style. My picky wife loved it.
I also love they way the staff treats everyone like a neighbour.
Patio though a little small, is right on the Danforth if you like people watching.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Crewed1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    27
    3
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Improved pub food”
Reviewed May 16, 2012 via mobile

Great place to spend an evening in Danforth, the food is kind of old style pub food but modernized and improved to a great deal. Wide beer selection, excellent service and a very good atmosphere. Specially recommendable to order are the chicken wings and the dipping dish with mushrooms, cheese and bacon, really delicious. All that, and very reasonable prizes make this place a must for going out on a weekend evening if you're around Danforth.

Helpful?
Thank Davidga13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“You can't miss this this place if you are visiting or live in Toronto”
Reviewed April 4, 2012

This is a pub, sure, because it looks like one and serves poutine and fish and chips. But I've also had braised duck with goat cheese gnocci, beech mushrooms, asparagus and truffle oil. The service at this restaurant is incredible (I was invited back into the kitchen to talk to the chef since I wanted to know how they made something). It is intimate and a great date spot - there are branches with lights tastefully draped on the ceiling. The hits at this restaurant are: mac n cheese, cajun tilapia BLT, duck shephards pie and the pulled pork sandwich, but I haven't eaten anything that disappointed me in the slightest. Definitely ask what the specials are because the kitchen staff really out-do their standard menu.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jules0010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“One of my favourite hidden gems”
Reviewed March 13, 2012

The bar atmosphere can be deceiving as this place has an amazing menu of food. That is not to say the atmosphere is not nice, it just feels like a bar more than a fine dining restaurant. I highly suggest checking this place out.

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Luke_Trinocular
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level 6 Contributor
292 reviews
159 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
“Not your average pub food....”
Reviewed March 12, 2012

Some friends that live in Litlle Italy took me to this place. I was expected bangers and mash, fish and chips, etc but instead, they kicked it up a notch at the Auld Spot. Sure they still had the pub favorites but tended to jazz them up. I had Sheppard's Pie but it was made with duck confit and tasted wonderful. My spouse had beef tenderloin and again it was delicious and the portion size was excellent. We also had oysters that were ok but didn't really wow us. For the most part, the service was friendly and appreciative.

I would recommend the daily specials.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Stinkyrules
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Auld Spot Pub also viewed

 

Been to Auld Spot Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing