We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hip sausage hangout” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Wvrst

Wvrst
Ranked #74 of 8,401 Restaurants in Toronto
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $9 - $19
Cuisines: German, Bar, Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Bar scene, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Drinks, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Neighborhood: Downtown West
Description: We're a casual open space designed for communal dining, a hangout for beer aficionados, for families, work friends, and sausage lovers of all ages. We make great sausages with over twenty five options; from Chorizo and Bratwvrst, to our Venison with red pepper, or Wild Boar and black tea. We also have our Barese sausage, which is made for sharing, but that doesn't mean you have to. Like fries? We have regular and duck fat (all Belgian style) with 16 house made dips to choose from. Also, we love vegetarians = 3 vegetarian, and 2 vegan sausages. We have 24 taps that we clean every two weeks. Our draft list is constantly rotating, but always focuses on home grown craft beer and cider. For our bottles and cellar we seek out the best brewers and cider makers from around the world. Some vintages won't be opened for 10+ years. On the first Sunday of each month we tap a keg that has been aging for at least 2 years. We were honored this year to be voted Best Fries and Beer Selection in the city. WVRST is something you can enjoy with your family. Afternoons and evenings are great time with the kids. We have room for strollers and we don't mind if you make a bit of noise and have fun, we'll probably be doing the same thing.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Hip sausage hangout”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2014 via mobile

Hit this place up three times in one week whilst travelling on business. Great selection of meat, superb rolls and a fine, if expensive, choice of beer.

Gets busy at the weekend for dinner but no need to book.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Barney C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

224 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    93
    105
    16
    7
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sudbury, Canada
Level Contributor
133 reviews
93 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Sausagefest!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2014 via mobile

What is not to love about a beer hall serving top notch sausages and premium fries! Great draft selection, interesting and varied sausages (kangaroo anyone?)!

Will be back!

  • Visited March 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Dann K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
45 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Fun atmosphere, great beers and gourmet hot dogs!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2014

I've eaten here a number of times and am always satisfied. The place is extremely loud and there are often line ups to get in on Fridays and Saturdays. The seating arrangements are shared, as there are long harvest tables and benches (think prolonged picnic bench). You take your order, get a number, find your seats and your meal is brought to you. This is a fun place for a date or just out with friends. Note the noise levels are not conducive to intimate conversations.

In terms of food, they have an impressive list of meat types to choose from and the ingredients are fresh and a typical of hotdogs. I highly recommend trying the duck fat fries and anything wrapped in bacon. The first time I ate here, I thought I was eating a fork load of green peppers that were in fact jalapeños due to the dim lighting! Beware!

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank travelanywhere81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san francisco
Level Contributor
163 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“The Wvrst Game”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2014

I was at the St Lawrence Market shopping at Whitehouse Meats looking for (uncooked) duck & foie gras sausages, they were out and suggested I got to Wvrst for a cooked version. What a nice tip that was! I'm from California where foie gras is banned, tried Hot Dougs in Chicago for this sausage, but the line was 2 hours!. It was so nice dining at Wvrst for their huge selection of sausages. Perfectly cooked and served on an excellent bun. The Duck w/foie gras was excellent as was the Kangaroo, uggh, you say, but, try it and you'll love it. Rich, a tad gamey, but full of flavor. Also, not to be missed is the fries cooked in DUCK FAT! Wow, an added dimension to the lowly potato. Nice dipping sauces for the fries and toppings for the sausages. Wished I drank beer since this is a beer hall as well.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank sfwon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
28 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Yes!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2014

I love WVRST- such a great beer selection and then the decor with the red walls and lights everywhere always make me smile. Also I love the communal tables and the vibe of the place. The food is alright.. nothing too special, though the fries usually do hit the spot!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank nehaaurora11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wvrst also viewed

 

Been to Wvrst? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing