We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A unique German dining hall experience in the heart of Toronto”
Review of Wvrst

Wvrst
Ranked #57 of 8,509 Restaurants in Toronto
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $9 - $19
Cuisines: German
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Downtown West
Description: We're a casual open space designed for communal dining, a hangout for beer aficionados, for families, work friends, and sausage lovers of all ages. We make great sausages with over twenty five options; from Chorizo and Bratwvrst, to our Venison with red pepper, or Wild Boar and black tea. We also have our Barese sausage, which is made for sharing, but that doesn't mean you have to. Like fries? We have regular and duck fat (all Belgian style) with 16 house made dips to choose from. Also, we love vegetarians = 3 vegetarian, and 2 vegan sausages. We have 24 taps that we clean every two weeks. Our draft list is constantly rotating, but always focuses on home grown craft beer and cider. For our bottles and cellar we seek out the best brewers and cider makers from around the world. Some vintages won't be opened for 10+ years. On the first Thursday of each month we tap a keg that has been aging for at least 2 years. We were honored this year to be voted Best Fries and Beer Selection in the city. WVRST is something you can enjoy with your family. Afternoons and evenings are great time with the kids. We have room for strollers and we don't mind if you make a bit of noise and have fun, we'll probably be doing the same thing.
Toronto
Level Contributor
239 reviews
156 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
“A unique German dining hall experience in the heart of Toronto”
Reviewed March 2, 2013 via mobile

Grab your beer stein and prepare for a veritable sausage-fest (literally and often, figuratively).

Rows of picnic tables are ready to welcome a mass of sausage eating, beer drinking meat lovers. As long as you're up for it, there is something to love about this relatively new spot.

Wvrst offers up a complement of sausage varieties (ranging from chorizo to eccentric wild boar and everything in between), served with fried onions and/or peppers and fries or duck fat fries (yum!).

Food is on the gourmet side of fast food, even though there are no servers per-se -you just order and take the food over to your desired picnic table.

Feels like you're eating in a beer hall, which is fitting because they have quite a variety of local and imported ales, stouts, IPA's...you name it.

Overall, this is a unique dining experience in Toronto that's worth trying out. Vegetarians beware as there may not be much for you here...outside of the ( regular, not duck fat) fries.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DJKham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

243 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    103
    112
    18
    7
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
69 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Tastey Beer n Sausage combo”
Reviewed February 21, 2013

One of the best parts of this place is the selection of beer and that many of them are offered in steins. The large tables mimic that of the style of beer gardens seen in germany. There is an excellent assortment of various meats such as bison, rabbit, kangaroo, and boar. The place fills up pretty quickly on a friday night and they don't go over capacity, so I recommened you get there before 7:30 or some time later (if you don't have a reservation).

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ted F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Bang on!”
Reviewed February 18, 2013

Our daughter often eats at Wvrst and wanted to share the experience with us on a recent visit to Toronto. We thoroughly enjoyed ourselves! The staff is great; warm, friendly, positive, polite!!! We each ordered a different type of "game" sausage (rabbit, bison, venison, kangaroo) served with fried onions and peppers on a toasted roll and small orders of duck fat fries with multiple dipping sauces and grape and cream soda pops.it was delicious, fresh and hot. The fries were the highlight! A small order each was plenty. The setting is similar to a cafeteria or beer hall; very relaxed, picnic style yet youthful and "hip". I highly recommend Wvrst.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lilly D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Etobicoke
Level Contributor
79 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Bavaria in Toronto - A must try!”
Reviewed February 3, 2013

I have been here several times and this place is worth going to. The atmosphere emulates a bavarian hall in Germany (not quite as good as being in Germany though) and the beer selection is outstanding. I have eaten here as well and the food is good, but I go here for the beer. The duck fat fries and dirty fries are delicious and you can't go wrong with the sausages. It is more of a self serve place so if you are looking to be waited on hand and foot - this is not your place. In the summer there is a narrow patio which is a great place to watch the activities on King Street, but it is very limited. The beer is a little more expensive than elsewhere, but you are getting a quality product with knowledgeable staff behind the counter - well worth it.

TIP - the bartender has mini glasses that will allow you to sample a beer before you commit.

If you are in the area looking for some great beer, good food and an easy going casual atmosphere, this is your place. There's nothing quite like banging some large 1L steins together and cheering your friends.

eat@wvrst.com

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank EtobicokeKenny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
142 reviews
96 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Delicious Sausages. Delicious Beer.”
Reviewed January 24, 2013

I ate/drank here recently with a group of friends! Such a great time! The sausages are delicious! I had a traditional German Bratwurst, but friends of wine had duck, lamb, kangaroo and elk sausages - all which were wonderful! Highlight of the meal: Duck Fat Fries. A must-try! The beer selection is also great - and different. They offer a lot of local, Canadian brews, and also great European beers. Can't get much better than good sausages and beer!

You are not waited at tables, but instead, you order your food, are given a number, and serving staff bring it out to you when it's ready. There are long tables which you basically have to fend for yourself and find a seat, but once your settled and the night goes on, it doesn't matter if you're sitting next to a stranger. And people come and go all the time, you can easily move for more space.

I would highly recommend Wvrst for a casual, fun night out with friends!

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SHAYNASM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wvrst also viewed

 
 

Been to Wvrst? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing