We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very average, little disappointing.”
Review of Black Skirt Restaurant - CLOSED

Black Skirt Restaurant
Cuisines: Italian, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Downtown
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
176 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 166 helpful votes
“Very average, little disappointing.”
Reviewed July 1, 2013

The restaurant has a very strange layout, a few tables as soon as you walk in, then a long line of tables very close together facing the kitchen, these tables are not comfortable to sit at. The description of the items on the menu does not reflect the dish that will served. I was born and raised in Italy, so I can say that I know italian food pretty well. The food served here has italian names but not the italian taste I was expecting. The service is good and the wine list pretty good.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Adriano A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

33 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    9
    4
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
158 reviews
110 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“A real gem with great food and service”
Reviewed February 8, 2013

This is a real treat to go to. It has unique decor and a great feel to it. Then there is the food. Try the lamb chops or the pistachio pasta. The antipasto for two is delicious and a generous portion. Pace yourself. The service was welcoming and very attentive. We will go back.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RalphW_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough Ontario
Level Contributor
37 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Great service and well chef meal.”
Reviewed February 4, 2013 via mobile

Great service, amazing food. A bit pricy but overall wonderful food and service. I would definitely recommend this restaurant and return in the future.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CDS68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Level Contributor
41 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Fabulous- A gem, I can't wait to return”
Reviewed January 20, 2013

I ate here ages ago, but it was not on trip advisor. I am now excited I can leave a review. I walked in as a single diner (I was over at University of Toronto on a work trip) and was treated like royalty from the second I walked in. I essentially sat down and told them to surprise me from the menu, I wanted a starter, main and coffee. It never disappointed for a second. I was walked through every course, and a glass of wine was recommended suitable for each one. I am heading back this February, and this is the restaurant I want to return to. Don't hesitate. Book. The best Italian/Sicilian I've tasted.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank catninja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
117 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Great food here!”
Reviewed December 11, 2012

I've eaten here twice - great decor and the food is delicious!
I had the beet salad and the special was pasta with pistachios!

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TorontoHiker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Black Skirt Restaurant also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing