We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Winterlicious Experience”
Review of La Societe

La Societe
Reserve with OpenTable
La Societe is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1,001 of 8,575 Restaurants in Toronto
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Midtown
Cross street: East of Avenue & University
Toronto, Ontario
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Amazing Winterlicious Experience”
Reviewed February 3, 2013

My boyfriend and I came here for the Winterlicious price fixe menu ($35 dinner), and we had an amazing time. The Winterlicious price is a steal - I'm not sure we'd come here otherwise (except for a very special occasion), as the regular menu is quite expensive.

The staff were friendly, attentive, and helpful. The food was absolutely amazing (best French Onion Soup I've ever had!) and the staff were highly accommodating of my gluten intolerance, even going so far as to put together a special dessert for me, as all the menu items contained gluten (including the mousse, which typically doesn't). We ended up ordering a bottle of wine, as most glasses were between $12 - $18, and a bottle of my favourite Gewürztraminer was $42.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lauren S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

336 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    85
    127
    52
    40
    32
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
toronto,canada
Level 6 Contributor
119 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Feels like Paris”
Reviewed January 31, 2013

Had dinner last weekend @ La Societe with my family & "AGAIN" enjoyed myself...Actually have eaten here 5 times but all other times were for Lunch/Brunch. Chic decor...buzzing crowds..great service, wonderful food ( Dover Sole was brilliant as well as the Duck & Escargot) great wine selection. The also do a wonderful Brunch... in the summer they have a 2 level patio... It's one of my favorite neighbour hood restaurant's.. worth a visit..make a reservation & ask for a booth(if there is more than 2ppl in ur party)

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank coco45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gman305
Level 6 Contributor
120 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Nice restaurant”
Reviewed January 27, 2013

Took a group of people out for a business dinner. Food and service was great. Enjoyed the decor. Loved the osters. Looking forward to going back!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Michael330055
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level 6 Contributor
505 reviews
319 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 176 helpful votes
“Very frrench”
Reviewed January 25, 2013

Lunch for two at $100? Sound good to you? Yes, the food was fine, the wines were good, the service was quite attentive. If that price range is fine for you, then by all means....

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mark16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
147 reviews
125 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
“Authentic Atmosphere, Average Food, Poor Service”
Reviewed January 24, 2013

Dined with friends in early January. The decor and ambiance is reminiscent of a cafe in Paris. This is where the positive experience ends. The menu is overpriced and quality of food lacking; the service neglectful if not absent. Our server downright moody and seemed irritated, despite our substantial l'addition.

In our experience, I'd pass. In the competitive Toronto resto market, you have many, many better choices at this price point.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Alicia Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Societe also viewed

 
Toronto, Ontario
 

Been to La Societe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing