We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place to eat at Centre Island”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Carousel Cafe

Carousel Cafe
Ranked #5,484 of 8,432 Restaurants in Toronto
Price range: $7 - $19
Cuisines: Bar, Canadian, American, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Downtown West
Description: The Carousel Café is a relaxing lakeside retreat located in the heart of Centre Island adjacent to Centreville Theme Park. Whether you are looking for a leisurely lunch with friends or a quick meal with your family, the Carousel Café is your perfect island escape. Our appetizer specialties include savoury Flatbreads, crispy Calamari, delicious Poutines, and mouth-watering Wings. Try one of the juicy Gourmet burgers featuring the flame grilled Bison burger, or a scrumptious fresh sandwich. We also have a selection of satisfying entrées including Thai Curry Chicken, Linguine Primavera, and traditional Fish & Chips. Hungry Kids? The little ones can enjoy a variety of offerings from their very own menu. And save room for our irresistible desserts like Maple Bourbon Pecan Pie or the Deep Dish Double Chocolate Brownie! Please ask about our Gluten Free options. The Carousel Café is a fully licensed restaurant with a spectacular outdoor patio. Come visit us and enjoy a large variety of our signature cocktails, tropical drinks, beer, wine and spirits.
Toronto
Level Contributor
67 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Great place to eat at Centre Island”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2013 via mobile

Enjoyed sitting down by the water having drinks & lunch here. The menu had typical bar choices: salads, burgers, fish & chips, chicken fingers etc, as well as mains: pasta, salmon. We enjoyed BBQ chicken sandwich with some Chardonnay. The nature burger is also good (black bean & corn). It's a nice spot, with full bar service. Great spot to relax with friends.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank misslolly21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    19
    23
    21
    26
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Would have been nice to get served”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2013 via mobile

This review won't cover the food - we didn't get any. It won't cover the service directly - we didn't get any. In fact, we wasted 20 minutes waiting to be served before we left.

The staff apologised and feigned in innocence when we saw them point to us several times through the window. Ultimately several of the waitresses stood doing nothing in the main area.

Really disappointed.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank CinnamonRage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississauga, Canada
Level Contributor
37 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Good food, quick service but could be updated.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2013

Ate at the Carousel Cafe on a recent Sunday at lunch with my 2 kids during a visit to Toronto Island. The food was very good (both the kids meal hamburger) and my BLT with fries. I actually thought the prices, for a touristy place (considering costs to bring food over too) were not too bad as long as you stick to the apps, burgers and sandwiches. The beer was over priced, but again, it is a tourist type location with not much competition so what do you expect. The plain french fries were excellent. We had great service and they accomodated requests for the kids and a place for our stroller out of the rain. Certainly I could see if it was very busy how service could slow but we didn't see that. My only notch down is that the entire place is just showing its age and could be renovated and modernized, especially with its great location and views on the island. The men's washroom is in dire need of updating with none of the stall doors really working properly. Don't get me wrong, the washroom was clean, but it just badly needs to be updated.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Nordiques11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
120 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
“Really good food and environment”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2013

Every time we visit the Toronto Islands, we have lunch at The Carousel Cafe. After walking usually from Hanlan's Point to Centre Island, you can not wait to get to the restaurant for some food and beers.
Each time we have eaten there, the food has been really good. We usually have the Carousel burger which come with fries and get you pretty full. The service is really good and all the staff is really friendly.
The restaurant has an outdoor patio with a beautiful view by the water. You can enjoy your food in the sunshine watching how people canoed along the water and animals swimming. A beautiful experience if you get a nice table in the patio.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Orestes P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
530 reviews
333 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 359 helpful votes
“Good Food for a Park”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

Four of us were over on the island and were looking for a quick bite to eat -- someplace we could sit outside and enjoy the sunshine.

We ordered the chicken burger, pogo sticks (just little ones) and chicken tenders. All were cooked well and tasty. This is not gourmet food -- but worked just fine for a quick meal in the park.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Altius10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Carousel Cafe also viewed

 
Toronto, Ontario
 

Been to Carousel Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing