We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Some minor issues but overall a wonderful stay”
Review of Old Mill Toronto

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Old Mill Toronto
Ranked #25 of 138 Hotels in Toronto
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed September 23, 2012

My girlfriend and I stayed at the Old Mill Inn & Spa for the first time on Sunday, Sept. 16/2012 in Luxury King Room #215, we purchased the Sunday Night at the Movies – Getaway Package directly through the Inn.

The inside and outside grounds are both beautiful and immaculate, even after a wedding had just finished, everything was in perfect order. The entire place has a very relaxing, quiet and comfortable feeling. Some of the area homes are also presented in the rustic Tudor style like the Inn itself.

Our room had attractive and elegant decor but there was a couple of noticeable freshly cleaned spots/stains on the floor near the desk and on the cushioned bench at the end of the bed. The TV is HD but the cable input is not, the aspect ratio is also set to stretch fill mode, so all the channels appear squished and I was unable to change this [hopefully this can be unlocked and/or HD cable boxes added]. The bathroom was clean and roomy with plenty of towels and a dip in the Jacuzzi tub was very soothing. There is an in-room coffee machine, a package of regular and decaf Nabob is provided, plus a couple of Red Rose tea bags but there was only two small creamers [suggest adding a couple of more and a few extra sugar packs]. There is also a bar fridge with a restocking card, a treat basket and a safe inside the closet. There is no real room view on the second floor, all you see is brush. Although the windows do open, as it’s nice to be able to let the fresh air in. The hallway windows have a look down view of the Inn’s lovely courtyard and there are also chairs for sitting. The bedding is very comfortable and we both had an excellent night sleep.

The movie package included two containers of popcorn, couple of pops, a large package of Junior Mints and Milk Duds and we watched the film Dark Shadows.

We called the front desk to ask about getting the popcorn and other items sent up to our room, about 20 minutes later they called back and said the items would arrive shortly, in about 15-20 minutes we had our evening treats. They said we could order any movie, but when we got our bill they had mistakenly charged us for the movie. Staff at the front desk quickly voided the charge and apologized.

There was also some confusion about using Wi-Fi, the hotel handbook [needs updating] indicates that there is a fee for room use but on a separate card with the access code on it says it is free in the bar area, lobby and the Terrace.

The Home Smith Bar is cozy and gorgeous; the lady bartending and serving us was very cordial and welcoming. The food was also very good, we had the grilled calamari and chicken wings for two and it was enough to fill both of us up. The complimentary breakfast was also excellent, particularly the smoked salmon with capers and the fresh strawberries. We got to breakfast a little late and there was still plenty of food available. The Inn’s house coffee was also very good; we had a couple of cups in the bar and at the Terrace.

The staff were all professional and courteous. We had our ‘do not disturb’ sign on the door and we were respectfully not bothered at anytime. Our hotel bill was placed under the room door for our convenience.

The weather was excellent as we took a walk along the Humber River (Toronto Discovery Walks – The Shared Path) that was quite nice. Along the trek we noticed Toronto Adventures offers canoe and kayak rentals, there were also a couple of people fishing and lots of trails to explore. All of the area parks are very well maintained and feel safe, although my girlfriend noticed a warning sign about coyotes that made her a little nervous – I got a little chuckle out of that.

Old Mill Subway is right around the corner, the train only takes about 12-15 minutes to get to downtown Toronto.

It was a joyful and pleasant getaway for the night and we will be returning to the Inn...Next time we are going to try the Sunday Dinner Buffet package and maybe get in some canoeing or rent a couple of trail bikes from the Inn. I am hoping to write another review where I can give the Old Mill Inn & Spa a 5-Star rating, until then...

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TorontoCozyTripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OldMillToronto, Manager at Old Mill Toronto, responded to this reviewResponded October 5, 2012

Dear TorontoCozyTripper,

Thank you for your very detailed account of your stay with us and for sharing it with future travelers on Trip Advisor. I am happy to hear that you and your girlfriend enjoyed your overall stay with us. We make every effort to ensure that our guests enjoy a relaxing getaway and are able to take advantage of the many services we offer.

Sunday Dinner Buffet is a very popular treat. We very much look forward to welcoming you back again in the near future.

Sincerely,

Vas Kolovos
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (976)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

646 - 652 of 976 reviews

Reviewed September 17, 2012

LOCATION:

Close to Bloor West Village ( trendy area west of Toronto).
Surrounded by trees, but there is construction of condos in the area.
Great location for biking to cute restaurants and trails.

SPA:
Nothing special. we had a good massage, they treat you well, but nothing really fabulous.

INN:
Large, clean rooms with charming decor

DINNER:
Dinner was great, they had live music and dancing.
Average age of patrons I would say is 50.....

BREAKFAST:
Small buffet with cereal, pastries, bagels, salmon, fruit

SERVICE:
They were to busy to treat customers well at the reception and at the restaurant
PS - Saw 5 weddings in one day there .. would not want to get married there, but great for a weekend escape.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nicola____484
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OldMillToronto, Manager at Old Mill Toronto, responded to this reviewResponded October 5, 2012

Dear nicola____484,

Thank you for sharing your feedback regarding your stay with us. We take all of our guest feedback very seriously and your comments have been shared with our team to continue striving for service excellence.

We do hope that you will come and visit us again as we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Sincerely,

Vas Kolovos
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2012

We stayed for one night at Old Mill Inn and Spa, on the recommendation of our children. We had a spacious, well appointed room with a beautiful view. Our dinner at the Inn was prepared to our liking and served by a charming waiter. We danced and relaxed. It was perfect. There were several wedding parties that evening and where we expected a lot of rushing around, it was organized and happy. Our complementary breakfast was a wonderful surprise of varied selections and white table cloth service. All the hotel staff we encountered appeared happy, were considerate and helpful. We received excellent service at every turn. We will return.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anne V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OldMillToronto, Manager at Old Mill Toronto, responded to this reviewResponded October 5, 2012

Dear Anne V,

Thank you for taking the time to share you experience of your overnight visit with us. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed all aspects of your stay.

We certainly look forward to welcoming you again on your next visit.

Sincerely,

Vas Kolovos
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2012

Wonderful service. Staff was friendly, checked us in early and gave us late checkout. Clean, spacious rooms. Bathrooms were great, and appreciated eco-friendly touches. Great value (also off the beaten track). Unfortunately, we missed breakfast.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CCbud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OldMillToronto, Manager at Old Mill Toronto, responded to this reviewResponded September 16, 2012

Dear CCbud,

Thank you for sharing your review on Trip Advisor regarding your stay at the Old Mill Toronto. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and perhaps on your next visit you will have time to enjoy our breakfast.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Sincerely

Vas Kolovos
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2012

We chose to stay 2 nights at the Old Mill on our arrival in Canada from Scotland to help us get over any jet lag prior to setting off on a driving tour.Our decision was based on earlier reviews and we are glad we did.The staff were all very helpful and especially Brad at reception .Nothing was too much trouble.The excellent continental breakfast served on the Terrace was a treat.We sat on the patio the 1st night and shared a beef baguette.On first glance this appeared expensive but as there was ample for the 2 of us to share in reality it was not.Ease of access to the subway was another plus.2 very minor niggles:
1.we were offered and accepted a complimentary bed turn down but this did not happen on either night(1st night understood as we were resting post flight).
2.We reported the plug mechanism in the bathroom sink was not working.Clearly an attempt was made to fix it but not successfully (room 520).
If we are in Toronto again we would be very happy to stay at the Old Mill again

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank aliderm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OldMillToronto, Manager at Old Mill Toronto, responded to this reviewResponded September 16, 2012

Dear aliderm,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us as part of your visit to Canada. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay. I am sorry to hear that our turn down service was not executed, however, I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your service form our staff and the other elements that made your first days in Canada memorable.

Perhaps on your way back from your driving tour you will stop before your flight back to Scotland and visit us again.

Sincerely,

Vas Kolovos
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2012 via mobile

We stayed at Old Mill Inn and Spa last night as we were attending a wedding.

Firstly let me start off by saying this hotel is absolutely beautiful! It has a very rustic and country feel to it with cobble stones everywhere. The rooms are also very beautiful and spacious. Taking a walk through the hotel is fantastic.

The only issue, which was a very big issue was when we got into our bed. We noticed that the duvet was filled with yellow large stains in my opinion that looked like urine. I was so disgusted that I did not want to sleep in the bed. I have pictures to account for this. I honestly was planning in just sitting on the couch all night but my girlfriend convinced me to sleep in the bed. When we woke up in the morning my girlfriend had a rash on her eat and chest. I can only assume this was a result of the nasty bed!

The continental breakfast included with the hotel really wasnt a breakfast at all! A couple if pastries, very little fruit and some toast. That's all!

I am hoping that this review will be read by the management as those duvets need changing!

Would I stay here again.....not sure yet.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Paolo182002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OldMillToronto, Manager at Old Mill Toronto, responded to this reviewResponded September 16, 2012

Dear Paolo182002,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback on Trip Advisor. I am sorry to hear that we did not meet your expectations during your stay. I have shared your account of the duvet with our Housekeeping Manager. I can assure you that our duvets are cleaned very regularly and the yellow stains that you saw are not what you claim as urine is soluble and does not stain. A yellow stain is a result of the fabric discolouring over time from the down filled feathers.

We take very good care of our linens as part of luxury branding. We would have been more than happy to replace your duvet upon discovery and notifying us rather than having an uncomfortable night's sleep.

With regards to our continental breakfast, our variety is incomparable to a traditional continental breakfast. In addition to the baked goods, breads and fruit we also offer yoghurts, cheeses, smoked salmon and deli meats, cereals, juices and bottomless coffee and tea. We also have an al carte menu available to our guests who wish to place an additional order above what is offered complimentary.

We hope that you will choose to stay with us as I can assure you that we make every effort to keep our facilities to the highest of standards at all times.

Sincerely,

Vas Kolovos
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2012

Went back to the Old Mill for the first time since we were married there 13 years ago. We had a queen queen suite (room 402), which was lovely and about 1000 square feet in size. Thought the hotel might take away from the experience (since it wasn't there when we got married) but they did a wonderful job of intergrating the feel of old with the new. I loved the smell of cinnamon and apples as we walked into the hotel, but was told the scents are changed every so often. They should keep that one all the time, made it feel warm and inviting
Had a great Sunday buffet dinner and walk around the grounds. Will be back for sure to stay in the future. Too bad they are building another condo right in front of the Old Mill (10/11 stories) for it will overshadow the place and take away from the ambience. You can see it the background of one of my photos.

Room Tip: If you get the chance for an upgrade...get room 401. A king bed with a separate sitting room, dini...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ApBaby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OldMillToronto, Manager at Old Mill Toronto, responded to this reviewResponded September 16, 2012

Dear ApBaby,

Thank you for revisiting us 13 years after your wedding here at The Old Mill Toronto. The vision of the hotel was truly to integrate it into the existing architecture and beauty of The Old Mill that has been serving the community for over 100 years.

Our rooms and suites are specifically designed to keep the elegance and charm of an English Inn while keeping up with the modern amenities.

We hope that you will visit us again soon...the scent does change and I am sure you will find it as appealing and welcoming as the apple cranberry scent we are currently featuring:)

Sincerely,

Vas Kolovos
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Toronto hotels
Downtown
The Omni King Edward Hotel
Downtown West
Shangri-La Hotel Toronto
Shangri-La Hotel Toronto
#11 of 138 in Toronto
1,303 reviews
Downtown West
Fairmont Royal York
Fairmont Royal York
#23 of 138 in Toronto
3,878 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Grand Hotel & Suites
Grand Hotel & Suites
#28 of 138 in Toronto
2,081 reviews
Downtown West
The Adelaide Hotel, Toronto
Midtown
The Hazelton Hotel
The Hazelton Hotel
#1 of 138 in Toronto
748 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old Mill Toronto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Mill Toronto

Address: 9 Old Mill Rd, Toronto, Ontario M8X 1G5, Canada (Formerly Old Mill Inn & Spa)
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Toronto > Etobicoke
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Toronto
#8 Romantic Hotel in Toronto
#9 Business Hotel in Toronto
#14 Spa Hotel in Toronto
#17 Luxury Hotel in Toronto
Price Range: $175 - $336 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Old Mill Toronto 4*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape the ordinary! The Old Mill Toronto is the perfect location to relax, refresh and reconnect in a resort setting between downtown Toronto, Billy Bishop City Airport and Pearson International Airport. Enjoy a romantic getaway, plan a business event or indulge in our award winning Spa. We look forward to welcoming you at The Old Mill Toronto where versatility, ambiance and setting make us exceptionally memorable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Old Mill Toronto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Mill Inn And Spa
Old Mill Hotel Toronto

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing