We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First Thai Experience”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Thai Basil

Thai Basil
Ranked #914 of 8,432 Restaurants in Toronto
Cuisines: Asian, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Midtown
San Jose, CA
Level Contributor
118 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“First Thai Experience”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2013

Restaurant was recommended by a tour guide on Citysearch Hop On Hop Off bus. Hadn't eaten Thai food before, but like spicy Chinese and thought we'd try it. Restaurant, including bathrooms (downstairs) were very clean. We had the combo lunch with lemongrass soup, spring roll, small salad, and cashew chicken stir fry. Everything was very good. I had my doubts about lemongrass soup, but liked it. You have a choice of mild, medium spicy or very spicy. Price for the combo lunch is $6.95 - $8.75.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank RobinC21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    23
    12
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ontario's Near North, Canada
Level Contributor
44 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Good Thai Food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2013

We had Tom Yum soup, it was a coconut based, nice flavors, you can also have it Thai hot if you prefer. We had beef and chicken satays, the chicken was moist but the beef was a little over cooked. If you order two or more satays you get a very tasty peanut sauce. We ordered a couple of curries, again nice flavours. The décor is a little tired but it didn't take away from the good food. The staff was friendly and attentive. Overall the portions were good, flavourful and reasonably priced.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank SkidRoad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
108 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 150 helpful votes
“This restaurant has gone downhill.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 25, 2013

Thai Basil used to be a go-to place for lunch combo take-out, and was a nice place to eat at as well. On my last visit, my first in at least six months, the food was not as good as I remembered it being, and the rips in the material of the booths were covered in duct tape. Very unprofessional, and overpriced.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank sherbear82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Langhorne, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Cozy Place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2013

I really liked this restaurant. I was reading the other reviews that were not so great, but I enjoyed everything (chicken satay, pad thai with veggies, and yellow curry chicken). I thought everything was very flavorful and had no complaints. My husband didn't really enjoy it too much though. And when we got there it was kind of awkward waiting in the hallway to get a table, watching people eat. The restaurant was very small and crowded, but luckily we got a small table right near the front windows!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank WorldTraveler9925
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“delicious and friendly”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

I 've often had lunch at Thai Basil which is economical and tasty. Last night I had dinner there with friends which was a much more elegant experience. The grilled calamari appetizer was amazing and the curries wonderful. But best of all, we were left to finish our drinks and talk without being rushed or hurried. The beautiful devor was very conducive to this.

A great experience which we will repeat!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank iceheart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Thai Basil also viewed

 

Been to Thai Basil? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing