We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good food ... but not sure it's worth the wait”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Khao San Road

Khao San Road
Ranked #118 of 8,432 Restaurants in Toronto
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Asian, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Highchairs Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Neighborhood: Downtown West
Level Contributor
43 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Good food ... but not sure it's worth the wait”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2013

I've heard so many great things about this place and tried going there a couple of times in the past but the wait times have always been over 45 minutes, they don't take reservations. I ended up going here with a friend on a Monday evening (just after 5), the place was empty so I figured I no wait times. But I was early and they wouldn't seat me until all parties arrive. So I had to wait at the door until my friend arrived. Once we got seated, the place filled up fairly quickly and it got fairly loud, which can be a challenge if you are trying to have a conversation.
The food was fairly good by north american standards, but still cannot be compared to the real Thai. I just find the whole wait system to be a very bad customer experience and don't understand how people can line up for more than 10 minutes for a table. I definitely won't be going back.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Maja J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

413 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    220
    123
    45
    12
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Level Contributor
131 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Best Thai in Toronto”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2013

I wish all Thai restaurants could hit a high note like Khao San Road. Every bite is delectable. Probably the best pad thai I'd every had in my life and every curry was outstanding.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank JLCToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, ON
Level Contributor
19 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great spot to always grab good Thai food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2013

It's not a big place but it gets crowded with lineups every time we go there to eat so go early right at 5 pm when they open. This restaurant is really delicious offering both vegan and regular menu options.

We have lived in Bangkok years ago and my husband is Thai so we know authentic Thai cuisine. Their Shrimp Pad Thai and Basil Chicken rocks! Their Massaman curry is delicious and their Thai iced tea always brings me back to memories of having the same thing in a bag and straw in Thailand.

And as a dessert lover, though they only serve one dessert, it's just perfect - tapioca in sweet coconut milk. This will do for now until we go back to the real Khao San Road.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank SugarMommy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great Food, Great Service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2013

We were lucky to have stumbled upon this place. The ambiance is absolutely perfect. During the summer, the whole restaurant is open air. I loved the cozy seating that allowed us to chat with the patrons around us. The service was far and away the best we had in Toronto. Our waiter was friendly, the food came out quickly, and water was constantly refilled. The owner was walking around, and was so friendly and genuine. He answered questions, and gave us recommendations for other great restaurants in the city (his favorite places to eat!) The food was fantastic. An excellent, balanced pad thai with big portions and great prices.

My only recommendation is to come early! We happened to show up at 5:30pm, and got seated right away. The joint is very small, and by the time we left around 6:15, there was a line down the block!

An absolutely must if you are visiting Toronto.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lizzy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
36 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Best thai food in Toronto!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2013

If you are looking for the best Thai food place in Toronto go here! The Pad Thai and the yellow curry are marvelous! Only problem... it is always busy, be patient or go for lunch on a Saturday.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Edu B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Khao San Road also viewed

 

Been to Khao San Road? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing