We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“This is rated the best in Toronto?”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Khao San Road

Khao San Road
Ranked #115 of 8,443 Restaurants in Toronto
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Asian, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Highchairs Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Neighborhood: Downtown West
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
42 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“This is rated the best in Toronto?”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2013

Food was very spicy - I liked spicy food but many people in my office couldn't eat it. I've eaten Thai at many places and find it hard to believe this is the best Toronto has to offer. Menu is also very limited at lunch time.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jennybee18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

414 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    221
    123
    45
    12
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
“Amazing Thai”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2013

this place has, hands down the best thai ever. i've been several times and each time i love it more and more. their pad thai, green curry, sweet potato fries type thing, are all so great. they do take out as well. can't beat it! It's a few dollars pricier than other places in the downtown area, but man, it is so worth it.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lolabeans11879
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aventura, Florida
Level Contributor
53 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Going down....”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2013

I use to love going to khao San road! The owner is always so kind and on the floor...but be carefull some of your staff especially during lunch aren't as nice and helpfull as for diner. The overall food quality is good, but I see a little change in terms of flavor. Still a good place for Thai....but not really worth the 45 minutes wait!

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jojo1982Barcelona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toronto
Level Contributor
123 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“Best Thai in Toronto”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2013

This place is hard to get into because they don't take reservations and it's hugely popular. We tried almost everything on the menu and its all great....without exception. Because of how popular it is the staff can get a little overwhelmed on occasion. That is the worst I can say about the place.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank travelguy002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
50 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Good thai food at a convenient location”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2013

I checked out Khao San Road while waiting to go see The Hobbit in the Scotia Theatre (we had assigned seats, so no rush). We got there just as they were opening for dinner shift, so people were lined up outside; but everyone in the line got in and seated and not long after a server dropped off menus and took our drink order.

The menu has a few dishes that are very similar, so overall the variety is limited here; but when our food came out the servings were a good size and you could tell things were made with care and good ingredients. The curry sauce was rich with coconut flavour in my dish.

There is a lot of competition for food in Toronto, not too far away, so the prices and value here are average. I'd say check it out if you can get seated right away; but I probably wouldn't wait in line.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank btt1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Khao San Road also viewed

 

Been to Khao San Road? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing