We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Asian fusion done right”
Review of Spoon & Fork

Spoon & Fork
Ranked #1,009 of 10,486 Restaurants in Toronto
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: The Queensway
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Like other locations of this chain, this restaurant combines Asian fusion with all-you-can-eat "tasting menu", and does it very well. The lunch menu is limited to a few top picks from each category. This ensures a high turnover rate in fresh ingredients. You still get items like sashimi and escargot, which I haven't found offered anywhere else on an all-you-can-eat lunch menu. The dinner menu, of course, is far more extensive.

Food quality is consistently high, and presentation is lovely. The place itself is nicely arranged into booths for a quiet, semi-private dining experience, but can also accommodate larger groups (but call ahead if it's more than six people!). Carpets ensure it's not too noisy even when busy. There's a small patio facing east to the parking lot, but it was closed when we were there in July.

Sapporo available on tap, and a handful other beers available bottled. The bar looked well stocked. Service is attentive and the kitchen is fast. They don't use the iPad ordering system they do in some other locations, but the staff seems well trained, and there were no mistakes in any of our orders.

Prices are reasonable, considering how much you get for what you pay. Parking is ample. Wheelchair access, while available, can be a bit cumbersome due to the uneven elevation lot.

Date of visit: July 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank DiligentDiner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (186)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 186 reviews

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Our family celebrated my grandmother's bday. There's almost 30 of us and there is only one person taking care of our order. I complained to the manager and he said he will take our order , after that I,ve never seen him again. And we were force to pay 15%gratuity. I don't mind paying 15 to 20% gratuity if the service is good. Don't waste your time or money in this restaurant,the place is too small for big group. I complained to the manager but never heard anything from them.

Date of visit: September 2019
Thank MAEGEMI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2019 via mobile

We went here for a double date all you can eat sushi. We have been to the other locations multiple times with no issues and great experience. Our server took our order, ten minutes passed with no water or any items coming to the table. Two items of about 12 items finally came. Another 10 minutes passed with the server not checking in, and we watched other tables with other servers getting food items and checking in on guests. We had to flag our server down and asked her where the rest of our food was, to which she said "what food? Did you order it from me?" And didn't believe us when we told her. So we re-ordered, even pointed at the menu items for her. Another ten minutes passed and we then received some weird chicken dish we never ordered. Two servings of it. We got a few items, still not all that we ordered, and when we had to flag her down again, she had no idea what we had ordered. She wrote it down, again for a third time, and still the mystery chicken dish came two more times. We got the wrong sushi, wrong rolls, and she even had no idea what the dish she brought was. When I told her I had expected tuna, she told me it was tuna when clearly it was salmon. This was after she stared at it for a moment, looked confused and looked at a crumpled piece of paper and said it was tuna. At this point, we noticed other tables complaining as well, and we spoke to a manager who took our order now for the fourth time and said it would come out as ordered. We still never got half of the order, after waiting and speaking to several wait staff. Oh, there's another mystery chicken dish but no sushi.

After 2.5 hours we gave up on trying, accepted that we were not ever going to receive the food we ordered. We asked for ice cream which came 10 minutes later, asked for the bill which took another 15 minutes. We expected some sort of apology at least but didn't receive that either. This was a huge disappointment and waste of time and money. The other locations of this chain have been great, I don't know how the ball could have been dropped so much by so many members of the staff, including management.

Date of visit: September 2019
Thank Sarah D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2019

Service , poor , food cold . since we orderd food rather than the Buffa , I felt they were just rushing us . Appitizer and main course all brought togather .

Date of visit: August 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Kiran K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2019

This was our first visit went with a friend,it was a disappointment,the food wasn't good,the sushi wrap was very tough ,the servings were very small,had a little of the fried rice it was tasteless,no mango ice cream,the bill was $74.55 plus tips for 3 people.
It wasn't a meal it was more like a sampling ,could have had a better meal at Timmy's for less. Wouldn't return!

Date of visit: August 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank patsysingh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Spoon & Fork also viewed

 

Been to Spoon & Fork? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing