We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“BBQ is dry”
Review of Barque Smokehouse

Barque Smokehouse
Ranked #169 of 8,473 Restaurants in Toronto
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $11 - $44
Cuisines: American, Southwestern, Barbecue, Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Families with children, Bar scene
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Delivery, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Neighborhood: West End
Description: Serving refined BBQ and thoughtful hospitality in the heart of Roncesvalles Village since 2011.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
508 reviews
461 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 253 helpful votes
“BBQ is dry”
Reviewed July 25, 2013

Went here saturday for lunch. first problem looking at the outside menus, couldn't tell if ribs were available on the lunch or on the brunch menu....which was in force?... they were conflicting. I went inside and asked the hostess if they had ribs for lunch...she didn't know..picked up the same menu waisting time, and didn't know it .She SHOULD know!
after telling me no...she went, after my insistence and asked a server....it was on the chalk board as the lunch special...as a hostess she should know the specials and the menu.

The best thing about this place was the waiter bringing me a milk bottle with ice cold water and refills., as it was hot and humid. he was attentive on that. I ordered the lunch specail 1/2 rack ribs, which came with fries and a spinach salad...did not enjoy the house dressing on the salad, the fries were good but when I asked for ketchup, salt + pepper the server brought a 24" pepper mill and a 12" salt mill (which never worked) why don't you have salt and pepper on the table...YOU ARE A RESTAURANT! The ketchup never came. The ribs reheated were cold and dry . the two sauces placed in ramikens were both too overpowering, and I did not enjoy the rub on the ribs.

This place does not know how to cook BBQ...they are overcooked...I've been to many southern USA places where BBQ it's a science and they are always juicy not dry. but I guess this place is ok for the trendy "Roncy" credit card generation Y who really havent been exposed to REAL BBQ..sorry but won't be back

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank thephoenixrisesagain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

311 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    138
    107
    44
    14
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Smokin' Ribshack!!!”
Reviewed July 13, 2013

This place has been opened for about a yr now I believe...I have never gotten around to visting the place until a friend came to visit and suggested we go. I'm always hesitant to follow "hyped" places, especially with so many new places opening every minute it seems in this hip neighbourhood. Well, it did not disappoint. If you are a first time visitor to this place I would suggest to get a mixed platter to share so that you can sample all the smoked goodness Barque has on offer. I really loved the dry rub ribs I believe they are called. Myself and my dinner guest shared the sample platter and it was more than enough food for both of us---we are both "healthy" eaters. I would suggest a cold pint to accompany your meal as it really compliments the smokiness of the ribs and other meats. Loved it! And the service was awesome!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Aimee M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Canada
Level Contributor
104 reviews
93 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Arrive Hungry And Be Prepared To Wait For Awesome Ribs!!!”
Reviewed July 8, 2013

Another successful visit for a Saturday brunch at Barque. If you like tender, fall off the bone baby back ribs with an awesome side of hand cut fires and tangy side salad for Saturday brunch, then Barque is where you need to be. Friendly staff (especially the Australian bartender), efficient service given how crowed they always are and awesome food will keep us coming back to this great restaurant. The downside to Barque? Be prepared to wait if you do not have a reservation and parking can sometimes be a challenge. But get over these two points and you'll come away a very happy camper.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MarthaFaye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Wow!”
Reviewed June 24, 2013

You can't walk along this stretch of Roncesvalles Village without smelling the mouth-watering aromas that come out of Bar-Q! The food is amazing, the atmosphere is party-like. Great outdoor seating. Great service. Get there early or you may have to wait a bit to get a table. Leave your name and a cell number and they call you to let you know your table is ready.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank lottamick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
142 reviews
123 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
“Just OK - I don't get the hype”
Reviewed June 12, 2013

I love pulled barbecued pork shoulder and this is what I had in a sandwich.

But the white fish wraps were disappointing - first off, they weren't hot, more importantly lacked in flavour.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank 155019Foodlover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Barque Smokehouse also viewed

 

Been to Barque Smokehouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing