We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“They got the 2 things right” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Ocho

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Ocho
Ranked #13 of 115 Toronto B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Morrow, Ohio
Level Contributor
31 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“They got the 2 things right”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 29, 2012

To me, there are 2 things that a hotel room must do right...the bed and the bathroom. The bed had better be comfortable and the bathroom had better be clean and functional. Hotel Ocho gets them both right.

This is an interesting modern style boutique hotel. There are only 12 rooms in the hotel. The first two floors are the bar and restaurant. The bar was well stocked and the restaurant had a wonderful menu. Service was ever present.

Some may consider the rooms small but I think they're just the right size for anywhere from a 1-4 night stay. The bed is 'floating', in other words, it's positioned in the middle of the room. No issues there. And, it was extremely comfortable and very clean.

The bathroom was also perfect. I can't stand taking showers in a tub. Hotel Ocho has wonderful walk in showers with multiple shower heads.

The location of the hotel is in an interesting and eclectic area. Lots of stuff to do nearby. Despite the potential for activity, I heard none of it at night...very quiet rooms. The Dark Horse Espresso bar was right up the street and serves fantastic coffee. Fresh on Spadina restaurant was down the street and serves wonderful vegan food.

One more thing...if you complain about no one to help you with your luggage, then you have too much luggage. Did someone carry it for you through the airport? Unless your of the Royal Family, then carry your own luggage.

This is now my go-to hotel when I travel to Toronto. Nice job Ocho!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dabrador
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

158 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    75
    48
    26
    7
    2
See reviews for
14
73
13
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

My girlfriend and I stayed at the Hotel Ocho on a Saturday night on a stop-over in Toronto. The hotel and area around it are buzzing with activity, but the rooms are lovely and quiet. The bar and restaurant in the hotel are better than most options in Toronto's Chinatown, and you are a short walk to trams to Younge and Parliament Streets. All in all, a great location with helpful staff and lots going for it.

Room Tip: All the rooms seem very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NOC7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
42 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2012

I booked two rooms and also hosted a bachelorette party in the hotel lounge this past weekend.

The service for both rooms and party hosting was top notch (thanks to Jamal!). The team really went above and beyond expectations throughout the weekend.

The hotel itself is very charming, with an industrial decor warmed with beautiful and really original artwork throughout. As a contemporary art lover, I was surprised to find some new artists to look up and admire.

We had both a standard room, which was beautiful, and a deluxe suite, which would really worth the splurge for a romantic evening.

Parking can be found on the east side of Spadina north of the hotel, on Grange St. We paid $14 for one night.

We tried breakfast in the lounge and were surprised to find that they were not sure what time the chef would arrive to serve breakfast (it was after 11:30), and the food was not very good. However appetizers in the lounge the night before had been wonderful. If you need breakfast, there were lots of good options as we walked north.

Overall I would highly recommend this hotel, and look forward to returning again one day!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travel_bunny29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterloo, Canada
Level Contributor
139 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2012

The title of this review is a reflection of the 'feel' of the place. It's an odd place. As noted in a previous review, the receptions desk (it's really a table) is hidden underneath the stairs. When we arrived, the receptionist leaned over the second floor balcony to see if we wanted a table. You see, when you enter the establishment you are in a restaurant. He was friendly enough and when he found out we were there to check-in, he slid down the bannister to the first floor. It was all slightly odd and had a hippie-type feel to it. The room was nice but oddly arranged. The bed is in the centre of the room, while the night table is situated behind the bed. This leaves you with nothing to set your book or glasses on unless you reach behind the headboard to place it on the table. Not terribly convenient. The room was clean and the bed was extremely comfortable. It took me awhile to figure out the state of the art shower controls. There is no bathtub but the shower has two controls and I had a bit of difficulty getting it turned on. Once I figured it out, there were no complaints. The water coming out of shower head was strong and hot. The lights in the room were rather weak for reading and there was only one chair in the room. You can hear street noise in the room.
I love the feel of the neighbourhood since you are in Chinatown. Lots of interesting small stores.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank clf51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Level Contributor
39 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2012

We hired two huge rooms together and were delighted by the stylish spaces. Lovely staff, terrible check in arrangements with the receptionist hiding under a staircase of the ground floor restaurant, but really very little to complain about.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bristolcream
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coralville, Iowa
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2012

Tiny, loft-like hotel. The rooms are a little small, but hip. Nice bar downstairs. Great location between Chinatown and Queen Street West in midst of fashion district. Easy access to public transport, tons of great restaurants and bars. Two tiny complaints: 1. the rooms are not completely sound proof, so if you scream during sex we will probably be staring at you during breakfast. 2. the parking lot next door (to the south) is ridiculously strict, I got a $25 ticket in the 2 minutes it took me to figure out that the lot is not connected to the hotel. Park on the north side while you unload. There's public parking nearby.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hawkeye-Matt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylania
Level Contributor
44 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2012

This hotel is in walking distance to a lot of Toronto's nightlife on Queen Street West and Kensington Market. Depending on where you are going in this area, the walk could be long, but there is public transport nearby. We found it easy enough to walk everywhere. The hotel is hip and attractive. The bed was comfortable and the bathroom was great with a rainhead shower. The only downside was the noise; there was a band at the bar in the hotel which we could hear somewhat late into the night. We mostly could drown it out with the a/c, but if you want a quiet place to stay, this hotel wouldn't be for you.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank amyakabetty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Toronto hotels
Chinatown
Super 8 Downtown Toronto
Super 8 Downtown Toronto
#64 of 132 in Toronto
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,388 reviews
Downtown West
Hotel Victoria
Hotel Victoria
#38 of 132 in Toronto
4.0 of 5 bubbles 991 reviews
Downtown
The Omni King Edward Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Queen Street and West Queen West
The Beverley Hotel
The Beverley Hotel
#78 of 132 in Toronto
3.5 of 5 bubbles 133 reviews
Downtown West
Delta Hotels by Marriott Toronto
Downtown West
Hotel Le Germain Toronto
Hotel Le Germain Toronto
#10 of 132 in Toronto
4.5 of 5 bubbles 865 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ocho? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ocho

Property: Hotel Ocho
Address: 195 Spadina Ave, Toronto, Ontario M5T 2C5, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Toronto > Queen Street and West Queen West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 115 B&Bs / Inns in Toronto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Ocho 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Ocho is the newest hotel in downtown Toronto, which opened its doors on June 15th 2011. Hotel Ocho offers modern boutique-style accommodations featuring our perfectly eclectic mix of visual arts on a backdrop of historical architectural and modern European influenced renovations. Exposed wood beams, steel, white marble and black granite are carried from our bar & lounge to our dining room, and into our cozy hotel rooms. Standard Queen, Superior King & Deluxe King all host plush beds with Egyptian cotton sheets, flat screen TVs and waterfall showerheads. Hotel Ocho offers FREE WI-FI in the entire building. We are conveniently located at the meeting point of downtown Toronto’s key neighbourhoods. Within a 10-minute stroll, our guests will encounter the Bohemian spirit of Kensington Market, hustle and bustle of China Town, night life of King West and Richmond St. Entertainment Districts and one of a kind shopping experience of Queen Street West in Toronto’s Fashion District . eat • drink • sleep. Room type: Deluxe King Room This room offers a large tub and white marble.Room type: Superior King Room This room has black granite floors in the bathroom.Room type: Standard Queen Room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Ocho reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing