We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Funky and friendly”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Ocho

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Ocho
Ranked #13 of 115 Toronto B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Funky and friendly”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 29, 2011

We stayed here for three night last weekend on a quick trip to Toronto - and had a great time! The reno is tasteful and maintains the traditional brick and wood of the warehouse while feeling clean and modern, if a little unfinished in areas. Location is fabulous between downtown entertainment, Queen shopping, and College or Kensington dining. The bathroom was large and the bed was comfortable. The Queen room was quite tight with the bed in the middle of the room and with only one chair, so it is not a place to hang out...unless you are horizontal. But, the main, and big plus, was the comfortable lounge/restaurant area downstairs which truly extended the usable space. We spent a whole afternoon and evening working on a project with laptops and felt completely comfortable, getting service as needed but never pressured to move-on. This atmosphere made it feel much more hospitable and friendly than most hotels - and for this I will return. Also, as others have commented, some of the services are a little more haphazard than you would expect in most hotels. In terms of both design and staff we felt like we had stepped into a buzzing start-up IT firm run by lots of young and hip 30-somethings. But they are enthusiastic and friendly, which more than made up for the odd unchanged towel etc. in my books - but is certainly not for everyone. All in all we were extremely satisfied for the $150ish a night deal, but I would certainly not pay the regular $300 rate that was listed until they work out the kinks.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MontyKTown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

159 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    76
    48
    26
    7
    2
See reviews for
14
74
13
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Belfast
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2011

Toronto is not a cheap place to stay, so we found that Hotel Ocho offered good value for money in comparison with other Boutique Hotels in the area. We stayed for 4 nights and were upgraded to a King Suite, which we were very grateful for after a long journey. It was spacious and spotlessly clean with an amazingly comfortable bed and soft bed linen. Staff were all lovely and laid back which suits us well.

The hotel is situated on the edge of China Town which is within 20 minutes walk of Toronto City Centre or the CN Tower - very easy to get around on foot.

The only reason i haven't given a rating of 5 is due to the patchy Wifi (which is great when it works ) and the breakfast which was a bit hit and miss - stodgy breads, coffee and maybe some fruit. Not very reliable or nutritious but could easily be remedied with the inclusion of some cereal for example.

All in all, we would definitely return and would recommend anyone thinking of booking to do the same.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GracieKins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
43 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2011

Stayed one night for business – Great location, on Spadina/Queen St West (Close to Toronto City Center Airport)
This petit boutique hotel (12 rooms only) has much going for it. The staff was friendly. Great modern loft/ warehouse design, the bed was very comfortable, the room was spacious and the ambient light.
Staying for longer period of time there are no dressers, very little space to hang clothes, no in-room coffee, and had difficulties getting internet service in the room. Personally loved the open concept bathroom but only had a shower no tub.
Had lunch and an after work snacks and bottle of wine in restaurant – staff friendly and helpful. Downside no breakfast (ended up at McDonald’s down the street).
Would definitely stay again – it would be even better with breakfast service.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank celticgirl_PR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2011

All staff that we meet were cordial; some sincerely friendly. That's it for the plus side.
Our 7 night stay generated few if any towel changes and room cleanings; not one bed linen change. In-room WiFi was intermittent; the show is a joke: handle in disrepair; two handle system that requires instruction for use or "unknown" water temperature and source of flow (from handheld or overhead) at start-up; no indicator markings on shower handles; no cloth storage drawers and limited rack space.
I left with a bad feeling, for the owners: the walls and ceilings are poorly finished, the ventilation system is noisy, lighting is poor and window fixtures are in disrepair. The contractor(s) and/or the designer(s) rip these people!
Lastly, and most importantly, we were required to hand in a government photo ID that was copied onto paper for the hotel's records. When asked why - "fire regulations" - was the answer!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank keepitsimple154976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2011

Spend our 5 day trip at this hotel in downtown Toronto. It recently opened its doors and has modern furnishing. The room spotless with a comfortable bed, flatscreen tv and a nice bathroom. We loved the location as everything was easily reachable and very coveniently there is a lounge restaurant at the ground floor. Ofcourse you can go outside for some food as there is lots of choice but when we felt lazy we just had to go downstairs and enjoyed some fabulous delicious food!
The staff was very friendly and helpful as we sometimes had some questions about getting to certain places. On the last day our flight back home was in the evening and it was no problem at all to have our luggage stored until it was time for us to go.
I often visit Toronto and will definitely book this hotel again.
The only downside is that it only has twelve rooms so when its full I would be very disappointed and have a hard time finding such a great hotel!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nariko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
23 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2011

I must have stayed at Ocho at the same time as MungoCanada. Cant agree with his comments more, just to add a few things:

Pros:
- Great location, on Spadina/Queen St West
- Great modern loft/ warehouse design
- Comfortable bed
- Friendly and helpful staff who "does everything" (the same guy checked us in, showed us to our room, changed our lightbulb, served our dinner in the restaurant)
- Small boutique hotel (12 rooms only) means personal service - staff knows your name, etc.

Cons:
- Lacking details and amenities in the room: only a small clothing rack with 5 hangars (no chest, no drawers, nowhere to put clothes), bottled water, boxed tissues and toilet roll were not refilled after we used it up, light bulb in bathroom was out and we had to let the staff know, no slippers, no frills
- Wifi in room never did work the 3 nights we were there. Had to go to the restaurant to use it.
- No breakfast. Just tea and coffee (3 bucks a cup) and mini cold muffins (free)
- Reception is a desk tucked under the stairs by the elevator. This is fine except that photocopies of guests' personal details like driving licenses and credit cards were left lying around unattended.

Great location, great design. If they could improve the above it would get a higher rating. I understand the owner is a well-travelled ex investment banker. If she could either hire a hotelier to help tune up the details or to use her own discerning eyes to notice and improve the above, it would be great. The hotel is only 2 months old though so it has potential.

Room Tip: Get a larger room. The standard ones are small and overwhelmed by the king bed in the middle of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alphalau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2011

This boutique hotel has much going for it. The staff were friendly, The bed was very comfortable, the room was spacious and the ambient light from our corner room windows enhanced the open feeling. . But Hotel Ocho missed out on the details. Our king suite had no dresser, very little space to hang clothes, no in-room coffee, and no tissue. Internet service was spotty at best and the open concept bathroom was a bit over the top for us. The designer chairs were cute, nice to look at, but uncomfortable to sit it. Morning coffee with a mini-muffin was good, but like the room, a little too minimalist. This hotel clearly had a designer's touch. Now they need to consult with a hotelier to finish the job.That would change our rating from very good to excellent.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MungoCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Toronto hotels
Chinatown
Super 8 Downtown Toronto
Super 8 Downtown Toronto
#64 of 132 in Toronto
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,405 reviews
Downtown
The Omni King Edward Hotel
Queen Street and West Queen West
The Beverley Hotel
The Beverley Hotel
#76 of 132 in Toronto
3.5 of 5 bubbles 137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown West
Shangri-La Hotel Toronto
Downtown West
Hotel Victoria
Hotel Victoria
#39 of 132 in Toronto
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,002 reviews
Downtown West
Hotel Le Germain Maple Leaf Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ocho? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ocho

Property: Hotel Ocho
Address: 195 Spadina Ave, Toronto, Ontario M5T 2C5, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Toronto > Queen Street and West Queen West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 115 B&Bs / Inns in Toronto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Ocho 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Ocho is the newest hotel in downtown Toronto, which opened its doors on June 15th 2011. Hotel Ocho offers modern boutique-style accommodations featuring our perfectly eclectic mix of visual arts on a backdrop of historical architectural and modern European influenced renovations. Exposed wood beams, steel, white marble and black granite are carried from our bar & lounge to our dining room, and into our cozy hotel rooms. Standard Queen, Superior King & Deluxe King all host plush beds with Egyptian cotton sheets, flat screen TVs and waterfall showerheads. Hotel Ocho offers FREE WI-FI in the entire building. We are conveniently located at the meeting point of downtown Toronto’s key neighbourhoods. Within a 10-minute stroll, our guests will encounter the Bohemian spirit of Kensington Market, hustle and bustle of China Town, night life of King West and Richmond St. Entertainment Districts and one of a kind shopping experience of Queen Street West in Toronto’s Fashion District . eat • drink • sleep. Room type: Deluxe King Room This room offers a large tub and white marble.Room type: Superior King Room This room has black granite floors in the bathroom.Room type: Standard Queen Room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Ocho reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing