We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent food. Exhorbitant wine markup.”
Review of Frank's Kitchen - CLOSED

Frank's Kitchen
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Neighborhood: Little Italy
Waterloo, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
701 reviews
469 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 257 helpful votes
“Excellent food. Exhorbitant wine markup.”
Reviewed May 12, 2012

Four of us dined and everyone enjoyed every course very much. This restaurant jacks up the price way too much for their wines though.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Waterloonie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

184 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    130
    31
    12
    8
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lisbon, Portugal
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Wonderful food and charming service”
Reviewed May 8, 2012

From the outside the restaurant doesn't look very special. Inside however the decor is a clever combination of clean and cosy. The service is excellent. The waiters were knowledgeable and enthusiastic without being at all pushy. They all obviously take great pride in the food produced by Frank's kitchen. It really is delicious. Great produce cooked with creativity. We particularly enjoyed the kobe bone marrow, as well as the lamb main course. Dessert wasn't quite up to scratch (plum tarte tatin, which was pre-prepared and reheated) but all together I would highly recommend this restaurant. It was by far the best meal we had in Toronto.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bramley1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level 6 Contributor
117 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
“Best Meal I Ever Had”
Reviewed May 6, 2012

I went here recently with a group of 4 and everyone agreed that this was one of their best meals ever. I've been to maybe 15 of the better reviewed restaurants in Toronto and I liked this place the best.

We made our reservation 4 weeks ahead of time cause this place fills up fast.

Ive eaten variations of the Buffalo Mozzarella salad at many different places and Frank does it the best. The house baked bread appetizer and amuse bouche in between courses were a nice treat.

Our mains were the lamb 3 ways and the Beef Wellington and both were very delicious. Desserts were very memorable as well. Wine was reasonable priced and the service was excellent for the most part.

My only complaint is the waiter brought our bill without asking if we wanted anything else. We were still drinking at the time and wanted another round of drinks rather than the bill.

WIth tax and tip and alot of alcohol the bill came to $500 for 4 people which is reasonable priced given the quality of food.

We will definitely go back again, and as of now this is my favourite place in the city.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank barkman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
“Loved it”
Reviewed February 26, 2012

Called three weeks in advance and was told only bar seating was available. Upon arrival we inquired if they had any cancellations and were promptly seated at a table. Good thing as the bar seating appeared cramped and close to the door. Very quaint, warm and intimate atmosphere. Would guess twenty tables max. We enjoyed the following:
Antipasto for One: Charcuterie made on premises. Generous portion. Enough for two. Great. $16
Gnocchi: Amazing. Not large enough as a main course. Perfect for sharing which we did. $17
Lamb: Prepared three ways. Cooked perfectly. $32
Striploin: Huge. Cooked perfectly. Amazing reduction and accompaniment. $36
Delicious, great presentation and excellent service. Bread is baked on premises, sorbet between courses and items compliments of the chef. A few glasses of wine and mixed drinks. Passed on dessert. Too full.
$154 + tax + tip
A great evening. Would definitely recommend.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank bedhead57g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toronto
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Superb meal and great service”
Reviewed February 24, 2012

Get to Frank's Kitchen before Frank burns himself out turning out such great food with so many extras. The food is imaginative, well cooked, and well presented. For example, the lamb is prepared three ways (rib chops, braised shoulder, and lamb sausage), all of them very good, served with a reduction sauce. The service is friendly and knowledgeable without being either forced or condescending. And there are the extras that mark a good restaurant, like the variety of in-house baked breads, the amuse-bouche before the meal, the palate cleanser sorbet between courses, and the honey-drenched doughnut balls as a sweet.

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank g26sailor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Frank's Kitchen also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing