We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Outstanding home cooking” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Aragvi Restaurant - CLOSED

Aragvi Restaurant
Price range: $7 - $15
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations, Seating, Takeout
Neighborhood: North York
Description: WE HAVE MOVED! Our new location is 2006 Highway 7 in Vaughan; 1 light West of Centre St. Our Toronto location is no longer in operation. Come check us out at our new home!
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Outstanding home cooking”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2013

This delicious meal featured dishes with which I was not really familiar. From the first bite it was obvious that the chef owner understood seasoning and cooked with great passion. The layers of flavor in each dish were outstanding and the food was complimented by the excellent and warm service provided by the chef's wife and son. Try every item on the menu!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
4 Thank MajorMark231
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

81 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    62
    12
    3
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Absolutely AMAZING!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2013

The moment I arrived, I was greeted with nothing but smiles and an aroma that left me convinced that I'm about to have the best meal of my life.

Wonderful staff, excellent menu, quick service.

I ended the day with a few shots with the owner and was on my merry way home.

10/10 WOULD EAT AGAIN.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
6 Thank Kevin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York, United States
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Best Georgian cuisine ever (but don't tell my mom).”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2013

I happen to be Georgian and am fortunate enough to have my mom make me this amazing, spicy, flavorful food at home, but my first (and definitely not last) visit to this restaurant was beyond anything I ever had at our table! Everything was made from scratch, and had an immense amount of flavour. I wouldn't dare tell my mom but they've outdone her! We ordered the appetizer platter which I would highly recommend. I especially liked the eggplant rolls, beet salad and eggplant dip. I also had the hachipuri. Be WARNED. This is one of the most cheesy, gooey, delicious breads you'll ever put in your mouth. Lastly I had the vegetable cabobs which were nicely grilled and perfectly seasoned. I can guarantee that it will appeal to those who appreciate ethnic food over boring North American food, and I am absolutely going to come back here when I am in Toronto again.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
10 Thank Elena S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guelph, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“It was closed without any warning on the entrance door!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2013

We came to Aragvi restaurant after seeing numerous ads in Russian TV channels all showing. I love Georgian cuisine, we were in Toronto for a day and decided to have lunch there (looked at ther webpage the day before the ttrip, no warnings ...).
The plaza where Aragvi is located did not look very inviting, though it was not a big problem for me. The problem was that the restaurant was closed, though the sign on the door was telling that it is supposed to be open. The only information I was able to get from multiple ads displayed on the doors was that the establishment passed 'safety' audit. Never saw anything like this on the doors of any restaurant in the plain view. It made me thinking that there were problems there, something wasn't right in the first place. Anyway, even if you want to have a good Georgian food, do not go the the Aragvi, they are not expecting you

  • Visited September 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Luba B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eric P, Manager at Aragvi Restaurant, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Dear Luba,

thank you very much for taking the time to write us a review. We are a small family restaurant. Unfortunately we had a family emergency and were unable to open the restaurant that day. We sincerely apologize for the inconvenience this has caused you. We would like to offer you a complimentary dinner for you +2. If you would like to take advantage of this please call the restaurant and show your ID when you arrive so we know that it is you. Again Luba, we are sorry for the inconvenience.

Kind Regards,
Aragvi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Home-made goodness”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2013

I've honestly never tasted food at a restaurant that feels like home-made food. It was delicious!!! The service was good and fast compared to other places where sometimes you have to wait 5-10 minutes for someone just to approach you. I don't normally go to restaurants like this but a friend took me and i was very surprised with my experience. Definitely recommended!!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
12 Thank Ellie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Aragvi Restaurant also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing